Cheki Maneno 8 years ago

Back in the day, a few friends would organize some camping excursions, no age restrictions so not too gruelling or fast.
Set up camp and sleep where you get tired.
These are a few pictures of a ride to Shompole. The camera was out of batteries by the time we got to Ewaso Nyiro.
Oldest lady in the group was 60 then, and at no time did she ask to ride in the van.

First night campsite was at Ole Polos.
Picturesque morning after.
[ATTACH=full]52554[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]52555[/ATTACH]
Entering Magadi
[ATTACH=full]52556[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]52561[/ATTACH]
Crossing Lake Magadi
[ATTACH=full]52562[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]52564[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]52565[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]52566[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]52567[/ATTACH]
A herd of zebras in the background
[ATTACH=full]52568[/ATTACH]
Crossing back with the van was quite something as it was 2 wheel drive and it had so the lake had a bit of water. Kushuka dip a stick in the water to check how deep and then drive.
Campsite near Shompole, you could hear lions roaring, uzuri we had set up near a watering point for some Maasais so we weren’t too terrified.

12 Likes

cool… bucket list nikiwa na bae

Haha waah a thousand likes hapo sasa, I thought Ewaso Nyiro is the river that feeds Thomson Falls?

Kuna ewaso Niro mbili

Map hii by hapa.
[ATTACH=full]52570[/ATTACH]

niaje quadruple joint naona wewe ni fan wa cheki maneno getting a bike has been on my wishlist for quite some time

profile pic yake

You should man.

Dude, just get one already…funga macho, enda kwa duka, sema nataka ile, point at it…alafu umpatie card to swipe…ukibeba cash hutawai nunua bike

noma very interesting

hhehehe, leta hekaya boss

welcome to the club @introvert

Asante ES. I have always been part of the club.

A was born and raised in Magadi nimepiga hizi round zote bt not on a bike…thats an angle i think i should consider!

always wanted to visit that town but guys usually discourage me

That’s how niliget hio bike ya kwanza…nilikuwa shughuli zangu nikoana bike…and I was like, one day nitaget bike, then I thought to my self…when will that day ever come. Got into a shop. pointed at the blue bike nikauliza tofauti ya hii na ile ni gani? Explanation made sense and I walked out with a bike.

@introvert i will not like the post, you have a monopoly on likes. I noticed the white dude stopped riding kuomba slices. Anyway noma sana that must have been a great trip.

@Lifeist ebu leta Maoni about magadi

Nice this was in 2008, I remember we had a Canon camera, Right? Not exactly 10 years but hey it was great fun.

Hehehe…
That chic is probably married with 5 tois now. Life happens.