Charger Plugged in, but not Charging

Recently, a friend sent me an ex-UK laptop. A very nice dell - i7, 1TB, 8GB, touchscreen, etc. Unfortunately, the machine is not charging. It indicates “Plugged in, not Charging”. It is stuck at 8%. I notice that when I connect the charger immediately, it charges for kitu 5 cycles, then stops. A Google search gives millions of results for people with a similar problem, but not a single conclusive solution.

Anyone ever encountered this, and what was the solution?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lx62t6qZ34U

Another thing could be the charger is outputing low voltage so you might need to find out the recommended / minimum output of a charger for your type of laptop.

Your laptop has erectile dysfunction.

Thanks.
Though i doubt it is a windows thing. Even in BIOS, it indicates “Idle”, but when you plug out and in again, it shows “Charging”, only to get to Idle after some time.

I also doubt this. It shares a charger with a Dell Inspiron, and this charger is working perfectly. And this is the manufacturer’s recommended charger.

You must be a genius. How did you figure that out?

have you tested the battery, might be as simple as a dead battery pack

if it comes with the power manager software check the software settings to see if it is set not to charge fully

It’s either the charger you are using (is it original?) or the battery…my bet is on the charger that’s quite common with Dells.

Alafu tayarisha pesa ya fundi

Havent tested it yet. Is there a DIY procedure I can follow? Remember iko 8% charge.

Where is that? BIOS?

Unlikely. The charger for my other laptop is as original as they can get, but behaves the same way.

Sadness of technology
:confused::confused::confused:

Replace the battery and your problem will be solved. I had a laptop that had the same problem. Its battery had worn out.

If you are trying the other dell’s charger on your imported laptop then it’s bound not to work. If the laptops are different the chargers may also be different. I had a dell laptop and experienced the same thing… I was using my friends charger since he too had a dell. I ended up buying a new charger and the problem was solved

I buy dead laptops

mine was working perfectly till juzi i got a warning that my power was getting low kama kawaida took the charger plugged in na nkaendelea with what i was doing kumaliza kuchomoa charger kumbe the effing thing was not charging hadi sai sasa my pc imekua kama tv niki chomoa kwa moto inazima…

Dead battery

It’s probably the charger. Charger za dell ni za upussy sana. I had one and it had the same problem. Borrow a friends charger and see if it charges.

nunua battery

What are the charger specifications voltage / current

@aviator jibu hii kisha uangalie specifications za voltage on battery pia…

[QUOTE="aviator, post: 529869,
Where is that? BIOS?

:[/QUOTE]

control panel–>power options