For those taken in by the runaway Ethiopian success story, things aren’t as rosy on the ground. Over 80+ Ethiopians have been killed by security forces in two days of protests mostly led by Oromos.
[ATTACH=full]51863[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]51864[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]51865[/ATTACH]
Oromo ndio wengi huko. Wapewe haki yao
I was talking with a knowledgeable gentleman the other day. I was all loud about how Ethiopia is developing, but he calmly advised me not to be taken away by the reports reaching us of gigantic road and sgr projects going on in the country! The development projects being witnessed in Ethiopia are all cosmetic, and they are all concentrated in Adis Ababa, or on corridors heading to Adis Ababa. 90% of all the development projects! No hospitals in the countryside for the citizens, shoddy education regime, a lot of electricity generation yet there’s none for the citizens, the list is endless!
Wazito, tuienzi Kenya yetu ya nguvu! Long live Kenya!
lets face it democracy and freedom only works in the west.the asian tigers and arab countries dont have freedom and democracy but they are developing.libya during gaddafis time education was free up to uni good healthcare but a repressive regime
True, the Tigrays are just 6% of the population and they have horded power since 1994, the Amharic are about 30% (tribe of the Ethiopian Emperors) and Oromos about 35%.
How many more riots have happened without being reported in the mainstream media? That country has a long way to go.
Access to social media has been completely restricted in the past week. Getting independent verifiable information from Addis is hard.
But expect the number of people who have been killed to be higher. There were reports of people disappearing without trace a while back. I understand why some young people there are so desperate to leave.
That country is still living in the dark ages that’s why we have many migrants from there heading to south Africa or trying to cross over to Europe, in Eritrea the oppression is worse
The conditions in Eritrea make Ethiopia look like paradise.
Eritrea is like a big open prison
Fixed
i have dropped some reality on ethiopia on other threads here where people are romanticizing ethiopia. watu wanasema ati we are just hating on ethiopia. ethiopia has serious ethnic tensions and old grudges between ethnic groups. it’s just suppressed by the police state. even the amharas and oromos demonstrating together now dont really like each other.
i sincerely hope it doesn’t get out of hand though. ethiopia is 100 million people yaani 10 times the size of somalia. if that country collapses in a serious civil war, the somali refugees in kenya will look like a drop in the ocean. utakuwa unaongea refugee camp ya 5 million people. kenyans could even become a minority in their own country lol.
stop it there! Has anyone of you ever visit eritrea or you are just spewing lies disseminated by western media!
Eritrea is one of the most peaceful nation on earth now, runs an system independent of USA model (also called threat to international security!).
The reason why Eritrean are escaping is contribute by a duplicity of reasons:
+first the usa allied ethiopia regime is a major threat at the borders necessitating conscription of youth to defend the country.
+secondly, the west do not like any regime that run a system different from it’s legitimized form of democracy. The more Eritrean live, the weaker the nation. It’s reason why many Eritrean are easily admitted in asylum in west to attract keep them flowing out…hence weaker eritrea. And In fact, eritrea passport is hotcake!
Wewe hunichekesha… You’ve just described Nairobi Hehehe
Na hii habari yako umeitoa wapi. How long has the president of Eritrea been in power?
And why should it not work here or anywhere in the world for that matter? So according to you you would be happier with a Saddam Hussein as president? Stop joking.
The things happening in Ethiopia are more a pointer to what lack of democracy can do. If these Oromos demostrated during the Lion of Judah’s reign, half of them would be in the ground. Democracy can work anywhere, it is working here. The stupidity of any nation should not be given as an excuse as to why democracy can not work. I’d rather democracy than autocracy any day. In a non democratic society I would not even be enjoying my atheism…
By the way, simply because a good idea came from the west should not make those who dont have ideas of their own to develop unecessary imperviousness to the new idea.
Kwa hivyo tuko sawa Mzee wangu eeh.
Wait a second…
Weren’t students burning their schools down all over your country last week? So what’s this acting like high almighty, holier than though?
Protests happen everywhere all the time. Clashes with security forces happen everywhere all the time. Bleeding heart white liberals who are owners of “human rights” industries holler all the time. (That is their bread and butter, they have to do that)… and it seems you happily take any news, model of lifestyle, jargon or act they spoon feed you, and spew it back. Pathetic!!!
P.S The protests were not in Addis. It was in other cities. (People were just detained in Addis, before they demonstrated there)
I am not so good at this but by your post I think you are implying that the rest of us are conforming to the wishes of the US?hence the US is looking the other side…