I was home recently, visiting my village folks, its been quite a while. Then I meet this dude who used to work as a lab tech in a hospital, looking very emaciated and light skinned with red lip as if it burned or something. We were in the same class back in the days so I chat him up to know what he’s up to, then ananiomba twenty bob. Surprised, I asked him why twenty and what for. Eti ooh, I lost my job blah blah blah…I told him sina change.
I later learnt that the guy lost his job to the bottle and was deeply addicted to liquor to an extent he was selling things to meet his alcohol demand, changaa to be precise. Alianza kupelekea muuzaji viatu za wife, utensils, clothes mpaka viti na meza. The wife fled with their only child when things were getting worse by day.
This guy sai hana hata place ya kulala, alianza kutoa mabati one by one kwa roof mpaka zikaisha. He’s wandering in the village, akiskia mahali kuna matanga, anaenda kupiga kambi huko mpaka mazishi ikamilike, at least hapo, a meal is guaranteed and free changaa is available. Its a pity, he’s my age mate and he’s learned, naskia kuna kuanga na dawa ya pombe, could anybody please help a brother. I feel for him.
I once witnessed someone die bc of this cheap liquor… It was a painful death and we couldn’t do anything.
In another case my uncle was addicted and his liver was completely destroyed. He used to cry and scream due to pain asking for cold water. Aliona atakufa akaachana na pombe without even rehab.
Hopefully his suffering will not be in vain and will frighten the local young cats about the dangers of alcoholism.
What I totally oppose is the government using taxpayers money trying to save these weak souls from their self-inflicted wounds. In my family we have alcoholics. I avoid them and when we unfortunately meet I refuse to buy them lunch because if I do the little money they get they will not be used to buy lunch but will be used for kumikumi instead making it appear like I bought them the kumikumi.
Haha I remember of this story there was a dozen or so guys in a Changaa den. After drinking the toxic changaa they all lost their eye sight na wakaona ni giza tu… Hizi jamaa zilidhani ni lights zimezimwa. Wakasema “ata mkizima lights bado tutaendelea kunywa”
Its sad. Back in the village I also have alchoholic relatives. When they ask for food we make sure they eat it in our presence. We discovered that wengine wanaitisha dish ati watakula wakifika home alafu anenda kuuza hiyo food in exchange for changaa. We never give them money or anything they can barter for alchohol. Kama ni transport, we pay the boda boda guy to and fro.
Peleka yeye Kwa mganga huko kisii land.
I remember my uncle used to love the bottle of changaa hadi he’d come home akisota Kwa matako like Red Hiney…
Ikafika apoint akauza a part of the family Shamba. We had to reclaim it by force…
Afterwards alipekwa kisii for a month to some Voodoo man akawa hypnotized…when we went to pick him after, alikataa kutoka, he was even the one welcoming new addicts to the ‘doctor’
Later he came home and up-to-date now akiona chupa ya pombe or the smell it’s like ameona Saitan!! He literally shakes like he’s about to have a ceasure …
He’s been sober for 5 yrs now…
There’s a chap I know whose former employer gave a standing order for him 1/4 myama na ugali every evening at his butchery. The clown negotiates with the jikoni people to give him money instead.