This is the only thing that makes me regret not being a real mbirrionea outside ktalk…my daughter is in this first CBC class doing their KPSEA exam this year at the end of grade 6…the confusion and backpedaling on this system is out of this world…I don’t think even the guys at the education ministry understand what they are implementing…ningekuwa billionea wa ukweli IGCSE pap without second thought…
On Monday, June 20, Education Cabinet Secretary (CS) George Magoha said that the first class of the Competency-Based Curriculum (CBC) will remain in primary schools after passing the national test that will qualify them for junior secondary school in 2022.
Parents’ fears regarding private schools’ willingness to welcome the first batch of Grade Seven graduates as boarders in junior secondary schools were allayed by Magoha, who spoke to the media at the Moi Educational Centre.
He said that parents did not need to transfer their children to various schools, and that the competition should be reserved for when they apply to Grace 10 senior high schools.
“It’s vital for parents who already have their children enrolled in private schools to keep them enrolled in junior secondary facilities built inside those institutions,” he added, “so that the ruthless rivalry that comes after year eight is postponed till Year 10.”
Cbc ni noma sana tena huku mashinani kwanza na mass enrolment.
Teachers hawajapata any training at all at all…yani zilch sio ati ata wamepata half training.
Facilities na logistics inadequate kabisa.
Teachers are skipping topics at the slightest hint kids aint gitching.
Demotivated and very unserious kids.
Kuna shule tumechanga tuka buy some learning aids for the kids and then we channeled the stuff thru the church…the church delivered…sasa sisi tuka anza kupiga usoro hapo shule chini ya maji…the stuff that we donated was given out kwa assembly ya shule…thats the last time the kids saw them…vile zili ingia office ya headi na ndio hivyo.
This system is not working just as this gafment hurried approach to everything…najua place ma ocha cyber ni kitu 100shs away uku mi simalizi wiki kabla kuenda cyber ju ya project ya mtoi ameiitisha as part of the syllabus…we are just pushing children and parents thru a system that is seriously disadvantaging to the less fortunate in society
How is it Ojingaism while when it was being proposed and implemented it was Okuyu Jakuo and Sugoi thug were at the helm?
Uyo mama waria Amina Mohamed akamkanya badaye usiku huo akafkuzwa io department?
Tuck that raila card in your bum and spare us some BS.
hata mimi niko part of the guinea pig class, but my take is that parent with kids in private schools should be very careful with the idea of keeping their kids in the same primary private schools, grade 7 is secondary school, the kids who will remain in the ‘primary schools’ will find it hard when transitioning to senior secondary school.
Please dont allow your kid to remain in the primary school, if its private peleka yeye to a private secondary school, if you can not afford peleka yeye local public secondary school - otherwise you will mess your kids future. just note that secondary schools are different from primary schools.
That said CBC is crap, its an elitist system meant to keep people in their social classes, just as is the case in most european countries, the likes of germany and such, the difference is that at least being a welder in germany unaweza pata kibarua poa, hapa kenya plumbers and welders ni shida tupu.
with this competency curriculum hakuna such a thing as home schooling, its easier to home school an 8-4-4 kid since the focus is just on the exam - with cbc the government has to determine what ‘talent’ your kid has so that they can lock them hapo, the worst thing is that the people supposed to nature that talent dont even understand the same, imagine a teacher determining if your kid is talented in sports of music or academics na hata hana any experience in those fields.
Its hard for sports scouts to detect talent and these are usually guys who have been in that industry for a long time, or some music experts trying to determine the music ability which they struggle with despite those guys being at the top of their careers. Imagine a teacher trying to do that, or some guy from Jogoo house.
I am designing my own curriculum. Homeschooling doesn’t have to be cbc or 8-4-4. People homeschool with different curricula. British, USA, ace and so on. There’s a girl who went to daystar with an ACE curriculum. Many schools in Kenya are running it.
The primary section and the secondary section in the said private schools will be separated including the administration. This is a requirement from the ministry. It will actually make transitioning smoother as the group will be given a “special” status in primary school as they wait to move to a “technical school” where they will actually start specialising in the careers they aspire to join.
If you have a daughter in grade 6 currently i would highly discourage you from taking her to a proper high school especially not a mixed one. Huko atapata mafisi and at that age she will be vulnerable, you better let her continue in her current private primary school. Thats my opinion based on what i have seen happening on the CBC front. Though i have to admit the government would have approached this cbc in a better way,
To qualify as a secondary school there are requirements that have to be fulfilled and there is no way the primary schools will have done that in the next 5 months or so, also remember you need secondary school teachers for that, labs, lab assistants, separating the schools means that you need to put up new infrastructure and a fence to separate the two, a new management / board for the secondary section… maybe some will manage to do that, lakini I doubt and thats why I mentioned hakuna haja ya ku experiment na mtoto wako.
Lakini you can try if you want, mimi naona moto in future, just imagine a scenario where when transitioning to senior high you are told the primary school your junior secondary school kid was in did not meet the requirements, shida tupu - dont experiment with your kids future, when tht time comes peleka yeye a private secondary school, which are usually more expensive for a reason, as described and if you can not afford, find a way ya public secondary school.
thats the point, and knowing kenyans na biashara the private primary schools will tell parents wako na junior secondary school just to get the money, secondary education setup and primary education setup are very different, from infrastructure to the teachers and other human resources needed. for me its either waseme all kids remain in primary schools for grade 7, ama wote waende secondary school for the same, the idea that some kids watabaki primary school is worrisome for those kids futures.
I have heard of the ace, christian curriculum they provide some sort of hybrid if I am not wrong, its a bit expensive so if you can afford it I think its good - but if you have a very academically gifted kid who say would want a career in the more specialized fields like medicine and such it might be better to piggy back on the kenyan system since it opens doors for a more affordable route into university. hats the only worry I have for the external curriculum - but with good cash I think they might be better since they are well established.
University is a long way from here and the good thing is that There is always a way to transition to the local system. What happens to diplomats who travel with their children?
My approach though is to get a local primary school where my children will be technically enrolled in. They will then be going there for exams and games. Nothing else.
I never knew how bad cbc is until I took a look at a grade six textbook. There is absolutely no mastery of anything.