I had planned to sell mine for a 2016 model. This will be arriving tomorrow. Three weeks ago, the 2007 model stalled at a safe place. I had been doing 120-160 along the Nairobi makutano highway. Along those meanders, hills and valleys, it shut, right where I was doing 30kph, on a smooth, slow, safe stretch. And that was it. It had reached its inevitable death. I appreciated the safety gesture non the less.
I was at acceptance when the mech told me the engine had ceased. I bought a new engine and the beast roars as good as a new.
I have zero idea on how to sell it now.
I once inherited a Suzuki 1981 Jimmy from my father. Later, in early 2000 I sold it off to some guy hapo kakamega. Was so heartbroken when I sold it off. I bought a starlet but my love got stuck with my old Suzuki. 5 years later I saw someone driving it in Nairobi hapo ongata rongai and it looked so abused and in tatters.
The car had changed hands many times.My love rekindled when our eyes met followed by sympathy. I stopped the guy and told him i want to buy it. He looked confused. I told him to wait rushed to the car and came out with a cooperative bank checkbook. I asked him how much? He said ksh120,000. We met the following day and repossessed my car.
I spent more than buying price in fixing it back to where it was but it didnt mean a thing to me. I bought madam a Nissan teanna but I got stuck with this old car. My oldest daughter raised money with madam to buy me a pick up car but instead inakaa hapo kwa driveway and rarely drive it . But mostly utanipata kwa Suzuki.My point is first love cuts the deepest. You will get over it somehow. I did it in 5 years and you will too.
I have this Toyoda I have been sleeping with for the last six years. We are closer than lovers. I recently fixed it and had expressed interest to sell it just before that. A certain guy came and expressed interest to buy it. I feel like telling him I have reconsidered not selling for now.
Nyinyi mko vizuri mlipewa gari na wazazi. I bought a Discovery from a mzungu who was leaving in 2 days. The last disco before air suspension kicked in. I have made love,carried goats and enjoyed the comfort in new roadsand off. I cannot bring myself to selling it. I have had money problems but it never crossed me.
This is one of the reasons I dont want to sell off my 1993 Levin. Plus also 2 door coupes have an upuss resell value. Also, the engine is in tip top condition so its still great fun to drive.
My dad used to own this pickup long before I was born.By the time I was born it was parked and rusty in our dala.When he retired,he decided to sell it.
The other day I was in Kisumu and saw it parked on the street.The guy who bought it has done a good job at restoring it and was not entertaining any idea about selling it[ATTACH=full]339578[/ATTACH].Really felt bad and envious now that I know and understand what vintage cars are all about.
I was going through some financial issues. Lots of it. I had just lost job at a flower farm. I needed fees for my 1st born daughter. Was contemplating between selling land and that car… it was a hard choice. Mzee found someone( his friend for me) to buy it and promised to take care of it. Then it changed hands and landed in ongata rongai. Hard to let go… will take a picture of her how she looks right now
The guy who sold me my current ride has been to my office twice asking me to sell it back to him, of course at a higher price than I paid him - nikalenga. He has already bought, used and sold three vehicles na bado he still watches in awe as I drive past his place. I never thought guys could be so attached to vehicles.
I bought a car from a guy. He sold it to me at the price he did not because it was a good offer but because I convinced him that I really loved the vehicle and would take care of it. I saw it in his eyes when we shook hands after the deal, he was having a heartbreak. He reminded me of the oil to use, where to take it for service and maintenance, and how to instruct the wheel balancing guy when we’re balancing the wheels and told me the pet name he had for it.
The thing is, when you’ve had a vehicle for many years, you’ve repaired it, created memories in it and basically spent that much time with it, you feel an attachment. I belive that’s how fathers feel when giving away their daughters to other men.