this is some serious breeding here, the future of top Canadian steak houses looks bright.
Usually that is for breeding.
Bado watu wa @Gaza are rearing ancient emaciated cattle
of course is for breeding, and for it to go for that much, it must have proven, thru it’s off spring to have high quality carcass. meanwhile in .ke, we are better or discussing who owns the Bentleys on the Kenyan roads.
from ranch to plate, how genetics plays a major role in determining the quality of steak we eat.
[SIZE=7]The $80,000 bull for breeding the best beef[/SIZE]
Tuheshimiane nanii. Personally tho’ I have been transitioning from feedlots into breeding of superior genetics cattle. I’m currently and over the next few years focusing on genetic improvement of my existing stock. I intend to produce top quality breeds … for East n central Africa market. There is a huge market and demand is continuously on the increase. It’s unbelievable how many farmers resort to importing quality bulls for breeding purposes from overseas at huge costs including me due to lack of it locally. The ranches have a crazy waiting list … it takes a year or two.
What breed(s) do you currently have, and what are you crossbreeding with, and what product are you targeting to have at the end of it all ?
Secondly, i thought embryo and semen transfer is way much cheaper than importation of bulls ?
I saw an interesting clip on YouTube about breeding.
Simmental
I’m currently dealing with Fleckvieh for my genetic improvement programme and my intention is to attain and produce top quality pedigree Fleckvieh in a couple of years from now. Crossbreeding them with my existing stock of crossbred Ayrshire, Friesians and the Boran.
My choice of this breed (Fleckvieh) was mostly informed by its triple-purpose abilities: milk, meat, and draught capabilities. Being a dual-purpose breed; it can be used for the production of beef or milk, be crossed with both dairy and beef breeds. A perfect fit for my existing stock improvement needs and my farms vision. It’s feed consumption is relatively lower than that of the Friesians and Ayrshire and has a thick skin making it highly tolerant to pests (ticks) and related diseases.
In the long run embryo transfer (which is relatively expensive as it is) would not be sustainable to a serious breeder and the quality sometimes cannot be guaranteed (hii ni Kenya). A bull from an established and proven bloodline, to me is the better option. And good for business when clients can physically see the quality of the sire bull when buying their offspring … their wallets open without much convincing.
-Those Canadians are producing some serious bulls right there. Hopefully one day I’ll get to almost that level … that’s the plan anyway. I’m glad to have spend sometime over there… and lucky to have visited a few ranches out in Alberta, where i got an “eye opener” and a different perspective on cattle management.
- Never had better stakes in my life.
Jambazi ya ng’ombee feedlots ziko wapi? Nikuje kurecover zile mifugo mulisanya rumuruti.
Ahem! Hii masin inapatikana wapi? For research purposes.
Electronic masturbator or … :D:D:D usijaribu kuitumia kwako…
In the name of science.
Kenyans wamesema ati wanaogopa gmo sijui ati ni poison ama uchawi.