Can a Christian be demon possessed?

Christ believers, what do you think? Please support your arguments with scripture.

Light and darkness have no association and when you get Christ which is light darkness cease to exist now a demon posessed person is devoid of light and an unbeliever if the person is a “Christian” he is just in religion without christ
Light and darkness have no association. You cannot be a Christian and demon posessed at the same time…

Most demon possession testimonies/encounters come from heavily religious Christian societies like Latin America… very few times you hear these stories from secular places like Norway, Denmark etc. Me thinks it’s just mental sickness. Anyway, check out this documentary on demon possession on Netfrex. Kuna msichana catholic mashetani zilimsumbua mpaka akaenda kwa a “theistic Satanist”. In fact just about all of them give up on Christianity and try other methods… hizi mashetani za Mexico hazitambui Jesus. :smiley: Just 1 woman was saved by Jesus na mashetani zikakubali kutoka. Also it quite interesting mashetani zinapenda tu wasichana… Sijaona mademoni zinaingia wanaume.
[ATTACH=full]498525[/ATTACH]

Brother, what you have written is profound and multifaceted. Do you believe in the existence of an Evil being or is it just “mental illness” as you say? I think the label “mental illness” is overused because people would rather deny the spiritual basis of diseases. FYI there were demon possessed men in the Bible. Remember this guy in Mark chapter 5? If that man was alive today, would he be considered a psychotic schizophrenic? Or maybe such people don’t exist today?

[SIZE=5]Jesus Heals a Demon-Possessed Man[/SIZE]
Mark 5:1 So they arrived at the other side of the lake, in the region of the Gerasenes.[a] 2 When Jesus climbed out of the boat, a man possessed by an evil[b] spirit came out from the tombs to meet him. 3 This man lived in the burial caves and could no longer be restrained, even with a chain. 4 Whenever he was put into chains and shackles—as he often was—he snapped the chains from his wrists and smashed the shackles. No one was strong enough to subdue him. 5 Day and night he wandered among the burial caves and in the hills, howling and cutting himself with sharp stones.

6 When Jesus was still some distance away, the man saw him, ran to meet him, and bowed low before him.7 With a shriek, he screamed, “Why are you interfering with me, Jesus, Son of the Most High God? In the name of God, I beg you, don’t torture me!” 8 For Jesus had already said to the spirit, “Come out of the man, you evil spirit.”

9 Then Jesus demanded, “What is your name?”

And he replied, “My name is Legion, because there are many of us inside this man.” 10 Then the evil spirits begged him again and again not to send them to some distant place.

11 There happened to be a large herd of pigs feeding on the hillside nearby. 12 “Send us into those pigs,” the spirits begged. “Let us enter them.”

13 So Jesus gave them permission. The evil spirits came out of the man and entered the pigs, and the entire herd of about 2,000 pigs plunged down the steep hillside into the lake and drowned in the water.

Aposto Nganga wrestles with demons in his christian congregants.

Hmn… I’ve heard atheists debate this particular miracle before. This Gerasenes demoniac exorcism came with a lot of issues. Mark says it happened in Gerasa… but Gerasa is 50km from the Sea of Galilee so it would have been impossible for the 2000 pigs to trek that far. Matthew said it happened in Gadara… but Gadara was about 10km away from the Sea of Galilee so still implausible. Early Christian scholar Origen claimed that there was a town (though unlocated today) called Gergasa that was nearby the lake and from there is where the pigs ran and drowned (though this is not backed by scripture just claims of early tradition). Another issue is the likelihood of 2000 pigs grazing in Palestine… is this possible? We know the Jews did not eat pigs at all. Nonetheless, if such a number of pigs did exist in the area, there is no extra-biblical historian corroborating reports/complains of any number of pigs (leave alone 2000) drowning in the Sea of Galilee or anywhere in 1st century Palestine for that matter.

The theory I have heard and subsequently believe is the non-literal interpretation that this exorcism/miracle was an allegory/symbolism. There was a Roman legion that had been occupying Jerusalem after the war ended in 70CE called “Legio X Fretensis” (10th Legion of the Strait). This Roman legion was later stationed in Gerasa. As it happens, one of their official symbols was a boar! So when Mark has Jesus drive legion out and into the 2000 pigs that later drown, Mark is simply taking a swipe at the Roman occupation in Gerasa and saying how the soldiers will eventually be kicked out of the region.

Very interesting. What then will you say about Mary Magdalene whom Jesus exorcised seven demons out of her?

Luke 8:1-2. The Twelve were with him, 2 and also some women who had been cured of evil spirits and diseases: Mary (called Magdalene) from whom seven demons had come out…

By the way, the fact that Mary Magdalene had seven (not 5,6 or 9) demons inside of her is significant because of the following…

Matthew 12:43-45. 43 “When an impure spirit comes out of a person, it goes through arid places seeking rest and does not find it. 44 Then it says, ‘I will return to the house I left.’ When it arrives, it finds the house unoccupied, swept clean and put in order. 45 Then it goes and takes with it seven other spirits more wicked than itself, and they go in and live there. And the final condition of that person is worse than the first.

It makes you wonder what was the initial demon which got hold of Mary Magdalene. Some scholars say that she was raped as a child and/or was a prostitute. I firmly believe that sexual impropriety of any kind, even childhood sex abuse or masturbation, is the root of demonic possession. Sigmund Freud believed this so much that he felt the key to unlocking mental afflictions was bringing to the forefront any subconscious childhood sexual trauma that the ego could have suppressed. Remember the famous sofa where people would lie down in his office and using hypnosis, they would begin to recall their trauma and that experience would bring sudden healing? One thing about demons is they don’t like exposure so I think there’s something to be said about that.

Okay Mary Magdalene is an interesting character. It is claimed she had 7 demons inside her and that she was at the crucifixion, the empty tomb and that she experienced a vision of the risen Jesus at the tomb. So someone accused of possession is also possibly hallucinating? Clearest indication of mental sickness. Nonetheless, even if she actually saw Jesus, Paul (1st Corinthians 15) gives us a list of all people who saw the risen Christ and Mary Magdalene was not on the list. When Paul visited Cephas and James the brother of the Lord in Jerusalem in 36AD he never bothered to visit Mary Magdalene. Why is Paul ignoring Mary Magdalene? The only 1 person we know who was at both the crucifixion and the empty tomb and even saw the risen Jesus? I know scholars believe Mary Magdalene existed but the fact that Paul ignored such a critical witness to me means the character of Mary Magdalene likely did not exist when Paul was spreading his gospel. Then again it’s possible Mary Magdalene was at the tomb but Paul didn’t know this, after all Paul never explains exactly how he obtained that list on who Jesus appeared to.

A Christian akikula bangi kwa wingi juu ya pressure za life atachizi tu Kama onyi wa kawaida . Demons procession= madness juu ya mihandarati

Moral of the story. Acheni bhangi!

Boss, si wewe ulituambia ulinunua shamba pahali kuna madimoni zilikuwa zinakutandika mabare usiku?

Wah! You’re such an atheist. That spirit of total unbelief and always questioning the Word of God could be a demon, actually it is! I don’t buy a word of what you say even though it sounds “historical” and “factual” which is what you atheists like. There are demon powers in existence today and anyone who is not a born again Christian IS demon possessed. In this world where evil is the default mode, even born again Christians are often times demon influenced (not possessed) and constantly have to be on guard.
Paul says to put on the full armor of God in Ephesians 6:11-13. It says, “Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of darkness in this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.

I will stick to the Roman legion story. Iyo ingine ni nyoko

It sounds factual because it is. If you insist Mary Magdalene was a real person, you must explain why Paul does not know her. Even the Lazarus in John whom Jesus raised from the dead, Paul has no clue about him. Also did you know the Ephesians you have quoted is not an authentic letter of Paul? It is a forgery that found its way into the Bible.

Shizophrenia