The Cabinet has approved proposed far-reaching reforms to the graft-ridden National Youth Service (NYS) that may see it turned into a company with its own assets, and the obligation to make its own money.
In its third meeting this year held on Tuesday, the Cabinet said that the NYS — now in the storm of graft allegations, and its director-general Richard Ndubai, former Youth principal secretary Lilian Omollo, and other officials of the agency suspended — be reformed to ensure effectiveness and efficiency.
“Key among the raft of proposed restructuring measures of the NYS are the establishment of an oversight board which will effectively make the organisation a body corporate with a director-general as the chief executive officer,” State House said in a statement after the meeting.
President Uhuru Kenyatta had earlier in the day set the tone for the new NYS going forward, asking new Youth Principal Secretary Francis Otieno Owino to lead the clean-up of the agency.
“The time is gone when you said: ‘I did because someone made a phone call to me. Mr Owino, with you there, we hope we are going to change the organisation that has changed the lives of young people. It has had challenges, and it is your job to clean it out,” President Kenyatta said at State House when Mr Otieno was sworn in alongside Transport Principal Secretary Esther Koimett.
Besides changing the NYS to a body corporate, the Cabinet also approved the proposed a clean-up of the supply chain management function as well as budgetary and internal audit reforms among other measures.
The Cabinet also approved the revival of the Kenya National Shipping Line “which will involve giving the company the sole mandate to handle
Status Quo wa Kenya yaani wenye Kenya if you look closely they don’t believe in empowering poor Kenyans directly AT ALL!! They don’t love Kenyans.
Like someone pointed out in a recent thread and what is common knowledge anyway, wanaamini mkisaidiwa sana mtamea pembe and lack the prerogative to vote them in again.
Kama sasa Uhuru akaulizwa since you talk about the BIG 4 and INDUSTRIAL PARKS… why not take those NYS billions and build massive modern, mall type, business complexes in several major towns… kit them with wi-fi, excellent stalls, 24 hr. parking, water, good toilets and empower 300,000 youths directly!
24 hour business complexes. Whatever they make you take 10 or 5%. Wauze ile taka taka wanataka. But not drugs, illegal movie downloads etc.
Vitu kama viondo, artworks, vegetables, nguo wameshona etcetera. The place has wifi, refrigeration facilities, good parking, well lit kama mall but govt. subsidized to lower rent completely.
OR ile shamba alipatia Jews juzi, apatie Kenyan youth instead! Walime like in the kibbutz. No one owns the land, but there are well laid out living quarters with even a hospital, entertainment spots, communal gathering areas. Walime, wasomeshwe hadi university, na watibiwe miaka yao yote na hio shamba like a kibutz. Intensive, modern yet simple agriculture. With modern refrigerated markets in every county so no food grown in Kenya goes to waste. We could even become a food exporter like Israel.
Hizi ideas umetembea dunia mzima umeziona Gathecha why not implement just one?!
I took time to understand NYS and its mandate, I think its a mistake to turn it into a parastatal, have a look at KWS, with its board etc…KWS is on its death bed, killed by the board.
NYS should just be left as it is, it has clear command structures , all they needed to do was give support to the new DG , the lady is capable. Instaed if adding another layer of mgt , a board, which of course will be full if ex politicians ,they will kill it.
NYS ,as it is ,has the capacity to transform youths lives, if people at the top stop looking at it as a cash cow.
Juzi uliona2 malls were demolished and akasema eti he is losing friends. @Abba was so jubilated that he was even ready to amend the constitution to let Uhuru rule forever
@gashwin ,
An old friend who is a senior in the national govt administration , RC (PC ya kitambo) , told me last month many politicians were eyeing NYS land spread across the country before the NYS 2 scandal with the help of very senior people in govt. NYS land in Yatta where a senior religious leader and locals have continued to encroach on the huge parcel of land.NYS Nakuru sub unit near Nakuru CBD has local leaders salivating for it.
He gave me a case of an NYS camp near Garissa at Madogo where local politicians had fraudelently sold hundreds of acres to Somali tycoons ,some had started constructing on the land, it took the intervention of a brave NYS officer ,a Commanding officer ,CO ,posted late last year to Garissa , who personally fought off the cartel by putting a fence around the Madogo camp amid public resistance. The local leaders then lied to the public the NYS land was meant for a market , so the public would demonstrate and cause chaos when NYS wanted to fence the huge parcel of land.
The CO refused millions of KSH in bribes to look the other way round, they ended up threatening him and his family but the old NYS CO , a Somali himself, called for a community meeting where he showed the public the NYS title to the land and explained why the local leaders were salivating for the land, and how NYS would help their youths, generations to come. NYS are not armed , suprising how the officer was brave enough to fight for the land knowing he might have ended being killed. Section of the community elders and youths supported him and he successfully put up the fence. This was before the NYS 2 Scandal ,he could have just easily pocketed the bribes , he is a rare breed of a civil servant.
NYS needs officers like him, Officers who are not corruptible, who love the service and know its impact to the youths. NYS has clear command structures , let the President support the new lady DG , she is capable instead of introducing another layer of mgt…
I personally don’t think that either option is bad that is; NYS remaining as it is or becoming a company…the issue is the culture that exists amongst civil servants especially the executive. When your leaders are lords of graft it becomes very difficult for the civil service to work in a manner that puts the interests of this country at the fore front.
All appointments to the civil service have a political angle to them so if the president or vice makes the infamous phonecalls what do you expect someone who is a parent to do?
Si ni mchezo tu ya 2022. Kwani Ruto atasafishwa jina aje ili mbuzi zimkubali?
Tukiona Taj mall imeenda sisi mbuzi za status quo tutaamini Ruto is born again. Amesafishwa. He is now Reborn. The savior of Kenya.
kwanza akiitikia weston iguzwe sasa hata atasimama kwa podium : " Si mliona?! Nilibomia hadi yangu? Si mliona I’m the man?! I’m not what is said of me, si ndio?!"
“Si hata Mau mmejionea?”
And the mbuzis shout: “Ndio uncle Ruto hakuna kama wewe na uncle Uhunye!”
Mbuzi hazijiulizi, why can’t this man fire his niece from the lose making KICC? Why can’t this man go after his love Waiguru the same way he’s pretending to go after Chumo? And why now ukiwa lap ya mwisho umalize ndio unajifanya kupreserve legacy??
Ndio kesi zikiporomoka under president Ruto, isemekane, “but at least Uhunye tried his best!”
Wapi. Like Ndii said hizi ni politics za 2022.
And about NYS there are hundreds of ways he could change the lives of youths DIRECTLY. Hata ingine nimeweka nikatoa. Nitatumia kwingine. Even their own manifesto, the ODM manifesto, the PNU manifesto, the Kanu, kadu, Ford, knc… manifesto zimejaa ideas. Report na recommendations zimejaa ofisi zao. Dating all the way back to the colonial era!
Hata hii mafuta ya Turkana akataka ni njia pia ya kusaidia youth. Na anajua, si ati hajui. Ideas from Israel, Japan, hata Cuba kule alikuwa… but no. Lazima atupe billioni zingine NYS. A man who has travelled the whole globe and amassed a wealth of ideas of how he can develop the youth of his country…