Business Ethics

Yesterday I paid a bribe…a huge one, to get some business from a certain company. It’s still bugging me because its a route I don’t want to take but seems its the most prevalent way of doing business or I just turn a blind eye to that aspect and accept it as cost of doing business. Also can you take proceeds gotten from bribes as tithe ama its tainted money? Share experiences of bribes paid especially in the private sector that seems to be a hotbed of such.

Welcome to the world son

Hakuna cha bure siku hizeee

Pesa chafu ni chafu, can’t take it to God yet he already told you not to engage in the said activities .
Best thing donate such cash in causes that don’t benefit you.
It’s difficult but it’s something you have to think out for yourself .

What is wrong with spending money to make money??

Think it is how its made, bribes ethically and morally are wrong. I have already spent money on developing a product. And what is this thing with people calling me son??? Some guys here call me that, my business partners, mentors and even board members also call me that. What’s up with that??? Is it because I am young??

Tumia pesa ikuheshimu…

Elaborate? I agree with @Bigfish1

“Success is more permanent when you achieve it without destroying your principles”- Walter Cronkite.

What you just did is like pulling down your shorts, bending over and letting someone pound your ass in exchange for a few shillings -Aviator, 2016

By analysing your statement, you’re not yet a mbirrionaire. When you’re a mbirrionaire, people call you Mzee as a sign of respect, even when you’re just thirty something. Even PORK will address you as such mkikutana!

Oh really? Says the woman who pays left, right and centre to get her dirty deeds done for her, guess your butt hole is wide open for business then

This is sadly the kenyan way of doing biz. Just go with the flow. Pesa humulika pesa. Take those proceedings of bribes and buy 10yr old govt trust bonds,na usahau

Money to me isn’t a really huge factor as long as bills are paid, but I have earned my stripes to sit at certain tables, think my age usually gets them unawares.

well i dont condone bribing but if its a win- win why not

Been reading this posts by Strive Masiyiwa and the guy claims to have never paid a bribe, how possibleis it to build a 700M USD Telco giant and never paid a bribe?

Boss, relax. this is the internet. Do not trust what everyone writes. especially, do not trust what i write.
FYI, I have NEVER paid a bribe [SIZE=1](except a cop i gave 200 aniachilie)[/SIZE]
I have lost businesses worth millions, but nasemanga isorait. It is possible to do business without bribing. I hold that as a tenet.
[SIZE=1][/SIZE]

That’s Kenya you, you won’t be surprised realising that getting a supply job in big company will require some greasing somewhere, nothing comes free, pass the coin and two will hit back, but it’s not advisable to give money before the deal wasikiruke, always good to give a cut after being paid too

Just point your shilling in the right direction and with proper and careful planning not forgetting some Lady luck, the POWER of COMPOUNDING will ensure you get far…and I mean FAR!

The unspoken rule is 10% of the biashara you get goes to the boss. You would want to factor that in your books when you want to do any huge business in Kenya. As a rule when I get such biz even if it’s from my closest friend najua 10% inaenda kwa mkubwa

After that interview with that reporter he probably drunk some whisky with him and told him in Zim "unajua singetaka kujiharibia jina nikisema nimebribe. Nimetumia pesa mingi sana kupata hii pesa. Sasa hio hatuwezi iita hongo. Lakini usiandike hio kijana yangu. Shika hii elfu kumi nunulia mama shopping kidogo. " Btw why is it that very wealthy persons hupeana pesa kidogo, I have observed them wakipeana pesa mpaka you feel like adding from your pocket.