Burned And Lessons Learnt

I think everyone has been burned at some point by a business or personal deal gone south, here is mine. Some time back we were approached to come up with a design for commercial solar installation. In the excitement and naiivety, we threw ourselves into coming up with a proposal, coming up with quotations detailing every component that would go into the PV array and even went an extra step to come up with architectural drawing of the site, irradiance data, electrical schema of the wiring, the whole 9 yards and how they would all integrate into the main project. Spent some sleepless nights coming up with that proposal and when it was finished, I knew the job would have to be ours. We submitted it to the developer and soon got a call to a meeting with the electrical contractor. Sat down and explained everything in excruciating detail to him and he had a billion questions. Sometime after the meeting, we later learnt that the electrical contractor took our proposal and presented it as his to the client, was able to undercut us because he already had the electrical fixing contract. Sometimes I pass through the site to remind myself never to be that stupid, its everything we had put in the proposal even the damn angles of incline, material use and components. Decided I will never put in that level of detail until I am sure we have the contract or whatever it is that we want beforehand. What is your story?

Boss kuna kitu hujai pitia hii world?

Life is the summation of exeriences we have been through, some good, some bad and they shape the way we think and view things. Since no one has the luxury of making always making mistakes and learning from them, why don’t we learn from each other: avoid the mistakes I made, and I will avoid the mistakes you have made

hehehe…
the higher you are in the food chain the better chances you have of screwing those underneath.
this is the most common economical crime,some of our most valuable ideas arent patentable.
THE BEST THING ULITOKA NA EXPIRIENCE.
usihesabu hasara

too bad:(:(:frowning: i rarely make mistakes

Then you must only be trying things you are familiar and comfortable with, there is no growth and challenge in that. That was our first project away from the core business we do, and learning how that segment of the world works

My story is kind of the same, but the developer was the one who fucked me up.
To make the deal legit, i signed some paperwork even had agreed on retainer fee. The work was massive i had to add more experienced guys to submit on time.

Aftet submission, the guy didn’t even bother with shit. I filed a lawsuit against him, jamaa kumbe he has ties with nearly every politician.

To cut a long story short, I still have the contract papers which i go through whenever i remember about it. Sometimes i get them out just to burn then, najipata nimeziacha.

Keep them, they serve as a reminder of how not to do things

Mngoje mpatie time utalipwa in another way

A friend came up with a business proposal. the catch was that he had half the cash. I was to provide the rest. I did and he Malaysiaed. I learnt the hardway. I no longer provide funding to business I am not in control of. And if we are friends we can never be business partners.

Where do you draw the line if you hangout together, men’s friendships are temporary and not defined.

Too long summarise priss

You need friends in low places.

hehe …hapana bembeleza customer. Aweke deposit mzuri ndio uanze kazi.

@gashwin burnt or burned

both

both

Mine was being undercut by a taxi driver

Participant in the Uber wars? What happened?

Had chips fungad some drunk chic. While taking her to my place, the taxi broke down and was asked to get out nisukume kiasi…when I did, the driver sped off with the chic leaving me standing in the middle of the road n it was very late in the night