Argentina and Barcelona footballer Lionel Messi has been sentenced to 21 months in prison for tax fraud, Spanish media say.
His father, Jorge Messi, was also given a jail term for defrauding Spain of €4.1m (£3.2m; $4.6m) between 2007 and 2009.
During the trial, prosecutors said tax havens in Belize and Uruguay were used to conceal earnings from image rights.
But Lionel Messi said he “knew nothing” about his financial affairs.
this tax do gooders can’t let a billionaire/millionaire be.
Pistorious amepewa 6 years in today’s judgement
Only? For murder?
kwani anajuana na judge, am surprised
He will only serve probation anyway…
Kuna daktari amemtetea akasema he is suffering from PTSD and depression, minimum sentence for murder in SA ni 15 yrs
What did u expect for a jungu in S.A. let’s not even go all the way down South, remember Cholmondeley Delamere .
Britons want tony Blair jailed for attacking Iraq after getting wrong intel only for 179 uk soldiers to be butchered…
We all know it ain’t gonna happen…
Hii kesi huniudhi Sana.
(CNN)The good news for soccer star Lionel Messi is that he won’t be going to jail for defrauding the Spanish tax authorities. The bad news is that he’s been fined $2.3 million.
The Good news is that he will be able to pay that from Six month`s wages when he signs for Man-City next season.
His agent will probably have Man-City pay that fine as a condition for his move…kikikikii…
I thought the Guy hanged his boots ? Is Spain punishing him for leaving and heading to England, or what’s happening?
He retired from international duty, sio club. He’s still a catalan
But Man-City are really interested and lets face it,its not like he is going to turn down a few Zillion £s Retirement package.
But how many times has he been linked with a move to the Etihad, only for him to stay put. Kama ni hela Barca will still offer him better than Man citteh.
The guy has a release clause of around £200k, which of course Citteh can break easily, but that means risking a UEFA ban, coz i doubt they can do that well within the club’s expenditure budget.
mtu amesema cholmondeley delamere and i remembered some villager from those sides telling me ati walikuwa wanamuitaga koromondore.ati wakinya hau ha koromondore.
Tulimuambia akuje man utd akakataa…