Hello anyone tried this?..Did you notice any difference afterwards and is it advisable to do it and save some bucks instead of buying new discs?
Do it if it is extreme or making noise. Otherwise don’t bother. Never skim drums.
as long as it’s within the recommended thickness, why not do it ?
Your mechanic should be able to advise about the thickness and suitable measure to take. Ie skim or replace.
most kenyan mechanics are std 8 drop outs who pretend to know it all yet they lack capacity to understand basic mechanical designs. Never rely on them do your home work, let google and youtube be your friend.
Any empirical evidence of them being std 8 dropouts?
Sorry I forgot to cite my reference, let me look for it.
Why did he say it needs to be skimmed in the first place? I was in this same situation a couple of weeks back when I went to badilisha my rear disc brakes. The rotor disk had very slight imperfections i.e. it wasnt perfectly smooth. Mech immediately suggested skimming. Nilimwabia awache mchezo.
Very slight imperfections are expected after years of driving and skimming it just weakens it and makes it prone to cracking.
Skimming must be done by an expert with the right equipment.
Watch and learn…
Do we have anywhere in Nairobi offering such ama zedtu ni zile za Grogon tu.
Had a case where the brake lining had made a groove in the drum after long use. So anytime I adjusted the rear brakes it was jamming the rear wheels. Remedy was skimming and worked very well.
Tut tut!!!
Please, don’t let it be your habit kushindana na mafundi! Mkataa la fundi huvunjika guu!
When you are naturally a petrolhead like me, its normal kuresearch vitu kwa net na kuvurutana mashati na mafundi. I actually enjoy arguing with them which is one reason I never take my vehicle to places where they dont allow you to watch whats being done to your car
I remember some time back like 15 years ago I had taken a camshaft seal for my trusty Levin to be changed. Ikabidi jamaa atoe pulley from that camshaft. Now, hio 4AGE 20v engine was the first mass production Toyota engine to have VVT so mechs at that time hawakua wamezoa hio mambo.
Sasa, jama kurudisha hio pulley gari ilikataa kuanza. Ikabidii gari ilale hapo. Nilienda home kufanya research kwa net. Kumbe that camshaft pulley there is a specific way kuirudisha. Nilipoenda the nxt day i explained to him what he did wrong. At first alicheka like i dont know what am saying. I forced him to follow my instructions. When he did, car started.
If you are keeping the vehicle for long, just replace the brake rotors. Do not bother skimming.
Also note:
- Aftermarket brake pads with hard compound are not good for the longeity of brake rotors, try to stick to genuine brake pads. They are cheaper in the long run.
- Do a proper brake job while installing brake pads. Make sure the guide pins are well lubricated with the correct grease, that the brake hardware is clean and the brake pads slide well along them. This will lengthen the life of your brakes, calipers and rotors.
- Skimming brake rotors reduces their size (thickness volume) reducing their heat capacity making them more susceptible to heat-cooling cycles and having them warp again. To me, skimming brake rotors is first aid. It wil take a year or less and you experience the same issue…