Bottoms Up: In a Nutshell

It’s emotive, inspiring, and easily the winning narrative in the political arena.

First off, it’s really not a bad idea. When you empower the commonry to produce and consume, that’s economics 101. So how do we do it?

Please don’t ask the UDA guyz to explain it, they aren’t serious about it. It’s just a narrative for votes. Had the commonry been more interested in anti-KIUKism, as had been the norm a few years back, I assure you that would have been RUTOs card. It’s about power and the economic tools that power avails.

So in reality, how do we create wealth for the poor majority super fast? This here is a very easy thing, just keep the rich few from eating what’s already there.

And here is where you know we have a long way to go. Corruption has always been our undoing. AND I ARGUE IT’S NOT A POLITICAL PROBLEM, IT’S A CULTURAL PROBLEM.

As loud as Kenyans complain about corruption, very few are clean.

Mama mboga sneaks in rotten tomatoes when you’re not looking, the class prefect gets to read your novel first asikuandike noise-maker, the teacher asks for 150 bob where 100 suffices etc. These little habits seem harmless at first, but that’s until you extrapolate (butterfly effect)

By the time a kid is old enough to run for an electoral position, he has perfected the art of corruption. He has been repeatedly taught that power is a tool for self-gain, not service.

The hypocrisy of our society is that we cry over the corruption of our leaders while training our kids (tomorrow’s leaders) to be as corrupt.

Even you are talking about the narrative not the substance.

What everyone needs to understand is that everything comes in its own time at the queue. Right now UDA has successfully put its mantra out for discussion. That communication bit is a resounding success.

The time for substance in details is coming at the right forum then decimated to the grassroots. Either way we are leading the narrative and talking points.

Let me give one example of bottom - up economics.

1500 wards, 300 constituencies and 47 counties.

Infrastructure projects - Roads, power lines, local water treatment works, piped water and sewerage.

Economic projects - Markets, commercial buildings and public works buildings I.e garages, carpentry, metal works and various skilled works

Social needs - Public schools, public hospitals, public sports grounds (local stadias), public recreation parks and rescue centres.

Cottage industries - value addition facilities I.e milk coolers, food processing machines, tools, equipments, value addition plants, warehouses for storage and refrigeration.

We can start moderately with 10 billion for each category at the first year. Get between 10 million per ward for each category. Try and double the sane every two years. In 10 years we can transform every village in the country. Its not free money dished out to people. You enable village infrastructure improvement, facilities for business, social needs to be met and finally promote increased trade and income to locals where they are. Let’s not wait for development from Nairobi up to the village. Let’s try meeting half way. From village upwards and from Nairobi downwards. Tuone kama we will meet at constituency level or county level. If we start with 40-50 billion which is doable in a current 3.6 trillion budget then in year 2 we try 100 billion onwards.

So you believe the political class is going with the bottoms-up narrative to help the citizenry, and not themselves?

Leopards don’t change their spots.

All political narrative virtually everywhere in the world is driven by self-interest. It’s in WSR self-interest to preach bottom-up, were it against his self-interest, he would change tune at the drop of a hat.

I do agree, though. The narrative around the economy and not too much tribe is long overdue.

One thing I know is that the choice to believe or not to believe is singular to all individuals. Let everyone decide. Also what you also call as self interest is not exclusive only to DP Uncle Ruto. Its for all candidates running in all the seats. Let’s put the same question to all candidates.

One thing everyone needs to understand is that helping the poor or the people doesn’t mean you are taking from others. Actually history has shown the richer become richer if you uplift the poor.

A very good example is the 20-30 billion Kemsa heist. That went to a few billionaires, court jesters and clowns. What impact did it have in the economy? Zero. Had government put that money in every ward 15 million then millions would have seen a temporary rise in their income. If we do it consistently then we steadily build up the micro economy from the bottom upwards.

Never said it was, I said ALL POLITICAL NARRATIVE VIRTUALLY EVERYWHERE IN THE WORLD IS DRIVEN BY SELF-INTEREST.

Don’t be too hopeful about the political class, WSR will be no different from UHURU, RAILA, and INSERT ANY POLITICIAN’S NAME

Kuna bottom up that’s worked/working so far in Africa,Ghana’s 1D1f (One District One Factory)
Hii ya Kenya is a sham . I mean just one example. Kenya Meat Commission was recently transferred to KDF by uhunye ( a non-innocent) because he runs milk in EA ,and his brother number one Nguruwe farmer KE .
Someone also blocked Maasais from supplying to Kenya Meat Commission.The poor Maasai were stuck with their large swaths of cattle with no place to sell to not knowing that whom they worship actually took a major supply tender on their behalf careful who you call “My fellow hustler”
Sasa mtu anakwambia bottom up, yet him and his son were flooding the market with cows from Uganda cock-blocking the same hustlers he purports to support . Tena mahindi, school play-ground ,ati dam. Bottom up they said!!

One prejudice is ones prejudice. Not everyone.

See I don’t even need caps or bigger fonts to force through an opinion.

Remember how hopeful you were with Jubilee?

It’s not prejudiced, it’s realistic thinking. Until people realize that the political class, as is, is hopelessly corrupt. We can’t heal the nation.

So you believe that WSR, RUTO, and the others just changed from wolves to sheep overnight? You have no idea how the world works. To trust a politician with all evidence to the contrary is quite telling.

Politicians rely on gullible people like you… that’s how they know they have the country.

Stealing billions from the government and giving a customer rotten tomatoes are not the same thing.
And corruption comes from telling people money is everything while it is not

Do you know what the butterfly effect is?

Behavior tolerated on a micro-level magnifies on a macro-level

Who tells people money is VERY important?

Who tells people water is wet?

Then why dont we tolerate local thieves

The fight against corruption begins with you and

We don’t tolerate ‘forcefull’ thefts, but we glorify ‘wizi wa akili’

Just about 4 years back, a survey revealed that Kenyan youth would steal given positions of authority.

I work with different nationalities, and I promise you there is a clear different e between a Jap and a Kenyan.

Japs don’t have this get quick mentality, and it all boils down to cultures.

We tolerate thieving by corruption.

Mtu kwa site atasema anataka simiti 400 akitaka 350 size 50.

No one bats an eyelid KWa sababu ‘anajisaidia’

Had he stolen a phone on the site, he’d be beaten, lakini juu anaiba ya mdosi, no problem.

That is exactly what corruption is…

Kenyans are hopelessly corrupt. I have employed a few, and Kenyans are hopeless creatures.

MPs are just a reflection of what the greater society is…

Anyhoo, keep succeeding without money

This i agree with 100%, majority of kenyans are indeed corrupt. I used to think the best of everyone and that the corrupt are just but a few. Experience has shown me how naive that was.

I was charged with running a small a small public outfit and that’s when I learned this lesson. I realized everyone, and I mean everyone, from the lowest levels wants to skim of the fees the public pays for a service and they have no qualms about it. It was a cartel of sorts which we dismantled to the great disgruntlement of those involved.

A moment of reckoning for me as I realized the non corrupt are actually the minority. If corruption in Kenya is to be rooted out, am sure it won’t be in my lifetime.

This is what BBI was all about ie taking more resources to the grassroots. For instance Mt kenya was to gain 100B each year pumped kule mashinani but with hii “matako juu” yako they will get peanuts…

The problem with BBI was the centralization of power… The single ingredient that fans corruption.

Money to the grassroots is okay, but not at the expense of an imperial presidency

People attempt to ignore this fact, like one @Mwanakijiji who thinks it’s possible to solve a cultural problem absent of cultural measures.

If we were to look at Japan’s ICAC (anti-corruption agency)…

This is the body that successfully fought corruption in Japan… The most successful anti-corruption agency ever.

What we learn is that they fought corruption by arresting the top dogs, but guess where most of their efforts were focussed?

They educated the masses and taught personal change in the fight against corruption, successfully bring on board a new culture.

That’s why Japan is more successful than Indonesia in it’s war on corruption. They understood societal culture needs to change, it’s not enough to make arrests, because you would have to arrest the whole country

The difference is structure not culture. There are no legal ways of working here in Kenya. Too many unrealistic restrictions. cost of land housing fertiliser and other basics too expensive. The simple act of surviving means breaking laws.

Corruption is a political problem.
Here we have had campaigns for fighting corruption at the grass roots but we have never locked up any elite.
Corruption starts from the top with the idea that some people are above the law if those are arrested then who will protect the small criminals

Read up on ICAC and the kPK of Indonesia.

Locking up people at the top, absent of changing the national culture, improves things, but stagnates midway…

Why?

Because the culture is such that the JUDICIARY is corrupt, the Anti-corruption agencies are corrupt, or will grow corrupt…

Something witnessed in KPK leadership.

In JAPAN, fighting the culture changed things up so much, JAPAN is easily the best we have ever seen as far as fighting corruption goes.

Read up on these two, and you’ll get a clear view of the picture.

When you say corruption is political, does that mean that only the political class is corrupt?

Have you ever been to a Kenyan court?

The JUDICIARY isn’t a political outfit, yet it’s corrupt… Why?

The Traffic officers are not a political outfit,

The police aren’t a political outfit,

Kanjo aren’t political outfits,

Yet all are corrupt.