This month cbk will offer a bond at 13.75% its a 20yr bond reopened from 2008 .It will mature in 2028.You wiil receive a total interest of 10250 per year then receive your full amount in 2028.If you invest 100k but minimum investment is 50k
@Okiya kwa heshima zenu wawili hebu explain further.
I would have shared my opinion on this only that you opt for personal attacks when cornered so wacha tungoje @Okiya aje
Dont worry was drunk at the time share your opinion now im sober
So mtu akiwekelea mita moja utapata roughly 100k per year?
Yes seems slow but its safe and no stress.Some real estate projects give lower returns.Although there are other riskier investments that can give far greater returns
Please state some of those riskier investments…
Matatu, car hire ,boda boda shops other villagers help me out
How do I invest. Niko na kamia moja bila matumizi for now.
https://www.centralbank.go.ke/securities/treasury-bonds/
1. Open a CDS Account
The first step to investing in Treasury bills is to open a CDS account with the Central Bank. It is free to open these accounts, which are how the Central Bank keeps track of who holds which government securities. Once you have your CDS account, which can be opened for an individual or a corporate body, you can invest in multiple Treasury bills and bonds, so you only need to complete this step the first time you’re investing.
To open a CDS account, you need to hold a bank account with a Kenyan commercial bank. You can collect a mandate card from the Central Bank or any of its branches, and must fill it out in neat block letters. You’ll need to provide contact information and information about your commercial bank account. You’ll also need to have to have two signatories from your commercial bank sign the card to verify the information you’ve provided.
You can find sample mandate cards HERE.
When submitting your mandate card, you also need to submit a passport-sized photograph of yourself, which has to be certified and stamped by a representative from your commercial bank.
Finally, you’ll also need to submit a clear copy of your National Identity Card, passport or alien certificate.
bado naweza wekelea ama imefungwa?
bado waweza
nilisoma pahali ati kufungua hiyo cds inatake 3weeks, will i be late?
Yes you will miss this one but bonds are sold monthly so you will get another bond next time
okay, sikujua. i thought ni once per year. anyway the rate is what will be different with the next auction, right?
yes but not far off
Am not very conversant with bonds. Am more into bills
in short you loan the govt 100k for 20yrs.they keep your principal 100k but pay you interest every six months 5125 for 20yrs then they give u back the principal
One gives the government the principal less the coupon rate. So in your case, the investor will give GOK about 90k and not 100k.
Bonds mahali huchanganisha watu (me included) is when they enter secondary market. And for that reason, that’s why I don’t bother with them.
that of secondary market is not so difficult there is a table behind the bond prospectus if market interest falls the bond principal appreciates in value if market interest falls the value of bond falls .the process of selling is through stock brokers comission is only 0.15% it is automated must pass through cbk