Bolt Vs Uber

I normally have the two apps on my phone. What I have realized, is that if you open Uber say in Kilimani Area, you find one or two cars available.
If you open the BOLT App, you find tens of cars. Good rates too.

Seems BOLT inamalisa hiyo ghaseer inaitwa UBER.

For about two years, Uber had limited the signing of new drivers on their platform (November 2018 - December 2020)

This strategy was meant to create more business for the many drivers in the already flooded industry. On the other hand, Bolt went on a massive campaign to register new drivers and on board new vehicles. Then the discounts to riders of between 20% - 100% started, pushing the masses towards Bolt. So technically, Bolt has more drivers and vehicles on their system than Uber. Uber only started recruiting again this January.

As at jana, Bolt is pushing all their vehicles to the Lite category, pushing yet another nail in the Uber coffin. Unfortunately, with such prices wars, ni drivers na partners wanaumia.

Bolt inanyanyasa drivers kama ghaseer. This race to the bottom will ultimately hurt the company. Unaeza toka Roysambu to CBD ulipe 180 banae, mpaka unahurumia huyo dere unam-tip. Some Bolt drivers are rude to customers and are increasingly resorting to theft and other shady tactics to make more money. It’s pointless to keep your customers happy while your employees are miserable.

I have a friend who is a Bolt driver. Bolt inaumiza drivers mbaya sana. Low rates, too much discounts a driver ends up making very little na bado he needs to fuel his vehicle. Sometimes he asks some riders to tip him kidogo. Other times he resorts to driving offline to make more money. Its a cut throat business.

I think Bolt is a mess waiting to happen, i have on a number of occasions hailed a taxi and the car on the app is different from one that comes, i have met a drunk driver, I have experienced very rude ones. Bolt have no physical office in Kenya btw

I requested Bolt, gari kufika kuna client mwingine ndani. Driver akaniambia ooh huyu namdrop ridgeways alafu nikuweke thindigua. NiliDelete app

Kumbe makao ni roysa? Naskia your next MP will be an Oga

Mimi sijawahi kuwa na any bad experience na Bolt driver. In fact, drivers wa Uber ndio hukua na ufala saa zingine.

Probably this is the reason that has made it so popular. Everytime I hail one namlipa na MPESA. Bei ikiwa kaa 190, inabidi umrushie 200 plus ya kutoa. Thats 230. Others can even pay even 300 out of ile “woooishe” ya Wakenya.
Guy ends up making hundrends or zausands on top of the usual earning.
Thats why most taxi guys have even branded their taxis with BOLT logo.

Team nganya tukae wapi??

kwa kiti ya nganya

I am loyal to Uber since I found out that Bolt have a crap customer service experience. Your emails will go unanswered and issues unresolved. Recently an Uber driver told me that Nigerians acquired Bolt, not sure how true it is.

Uber ni meffi. Hii ujinga ya kulipisha Mtu while the driver has cancelled the trip. They charged me 150 ilibidii nikatae kuwalipa and I uninstalled that shitty app.

Charged me 2sok for a ride back in 2017, deleted their app and have never looked back.

Good for you but horrible for the driver and vehicle owner . Already, Uber undercompensates both. Drivers will resort to making money on the side, ie operating like taxi cabs off clients they find on Bolt. Bolt may not make it in the long run. When you take bottom feader money to simply survive a bigger client, new smaller clients usually run you out of business.

Mimi naitaga pikipiki hapo pengine natembea

What about the one on Raphta road near Azure Hotel?

Hiyo ilifungwa

Mimi they fined me 300 for cancelling a trip when the driver was taking forever to pick me and was talking rude. Been a regular bolt customer ever since but still have uber app just in case I run out of options or in a fix

Yeah, Bolt does seem to have more cars around in some places, which is super handy when you’re in a rush. But honestly, when it comes to airport runs, I stopped relying on apps like Bolt or Uber after a couple of close calls with timing. Now I just book in advance with https://otstaxi.com/. It’s a lot less stressful, especially when you’ve got a flight to catch. They cover a bunch of airports, so it’s been a solid option for me when traveling in Europe.