BlackBerry DTEK50

http://www.pricekenya.com/media/small/279833bed7-blackberry-dtek50-black-kenya-.jpg
Features summary

Colors: Black, White
Internal memory: 16 GB
Operating system: Android 6.0 (Marshmallow)
Display size: 5.2 inches, 1080 x 1920 pixels
Camera resolution: 13 MP, PDAF
Secondary camera: 8 MP
RAM: 3 GB
Battery type: 2610 mAh, Li-Ion
Price: http://www.pricekenya.com/585/blackberry-dtek50.html

Hit or miss?

miss. its a glorified alcatel.

That’s a fake blackberry right there I see play store on the menu and the only blackberry that supports android is the blackberry priv…
personally I have a z10 and the only way I get android apps is through Amazon…

kimbia pale gsm arena utapata kila detail

It’s been newly unveiled as a mid-range sequel to BB Priv

Looks like a kawaida Android phone

I think this one is for testing the water in the mid-range market. There are more devices to follow, one is expected to have a physical keypad.

So what would differentiate it from mid priced phones? How do they plan on competing with Techno, Samsung in that range

Haha a fail kabisa …damn na vile ilikuwa na prestige hii brand

For this device, their target audience is young professionals seeking entertainment mixed with productivity and enterprise security. I think as long as Blackberry captures the needs for this niche market, it won’t have to worry about the general market targeted by Tecno and Samsung.

Doesnt it run on Android, or they have something akin to iCloud?

Kindly refer to this blog where BlackBerry claims to have customized their Android OS in the following ways:
[li]Hardened Linux Kernel: We reduce the Android attack surface with numerous patches and configuration changes to improve security.[/li][li]Address Space Layout Randomization: This feature scrambles application/system memory, making it more difficult for attackers to target your device.[/li][li]Hardware Root of Trust: During manufacturing, we establish a Hardware Root of Trust that adds security keys to the processor on every DTEK50 and PRIV as it is built. Those keys track, verify, and provision each device – meaning that the authenticity and integrity of your device is guaranteed, as is the safety of the data it holds.[/li][li]A Better Bootloader: Because of our secure boot process, you can trust that only an untampered, BlackBerry-signed OS can be loaded. Each stage of the secure boot chain must first verify that the next component is fully intact before proceeding.[/li][li]FIPS 140-2 Compliant Full Disk Encryption: U.S. government-grade encryption protects your private information, like personal pictures or banking info, if your phone is lost or stolen.[/li][/ul]
BlackBerry’s New DTEK50 and PRIV Are the Most Secure Android Devices on the Market: Here’s Why [VIDEO, PICS]

How good is I compared to Z10?

On the surface, here are the main differences:
http://www.pricekenya.com/compare/blackberry-dtek50_585/blackberry-z10_402.html
DTEK50 supports nearly 100% mainstream Android apps giving it an edge over the Z10.