Personally,i think safaricom was behind the banning of bitcoin.Basically juu ya competition to mpesa.If bitcoins caught up to mpesa’s level,mpesa would eventually die off.Mpesa and bitcoin are pretty much VERY similar. The only difference is that Bitcoin is not and accepted as a currency.If was much easier to transact using bitcoin than it is using mpesa, then that is the death of Mpesa
Kumbaff
I highly doubt this. Internet penetration is very low in Kenya to enable bitcoin uptake at such a level.
E commerce is also at it’s infancy
:D:D:D:D … easy, mandevu
Was it banned?
[ATTACH=full]26224[/ATTACH]
if bitcoin ingeeanza kueleweka na common mwananchi…just like how mpesa started.I bet watu wangedivert to it…It would have taken sometime but it would eventually reach everyone
Kama akili yako imejaa uji na huwezi kucontribute…keti kando…magoti ya ngamia…:rolleyes::rolleyes:
The powers that be always want to regulate money. So bit coin or gold standard are out.
[ATTACH=full]26230[/ATTACH]
Mpesa needs to take a hard long look at their charges, some disruptive tech.is always around the corner and the quality and cost of your service is what will determine how fast your clientele will run to the competitor.
Sending Kes 101 to an mpesa registered guy cost Kes 38 round trip, 37.62%!
Bitcoin won’t get backing because most of the world’s currencies are pegged on the value of the dollar. Bitcoin isn’t. & doesnt rely on dollar reserves. So governments can’t give support. Maybe governments that have cash reserves in gold might give bit coins a chance.
Android pay/Apple pay/Samsung pay are coming… Lets see how Mpesa would cope zikifika Kenya
Bitcoin is accepted as a currency. It’s just not recognized as such by the Central Bank. If I gave you 500 Bitcoins, you can spend them and convert them to a different currency including Kenya Shillings.
It is much easier than using mpesa. Bitcoin and other virtual currencies are in fact just starting out. All they need is groundswell and it’s inevitable that they will take off.
People said the same thing about mpesa and mobile phone access, but mpesa and other mobile money services have ridden the mobile revolution to great heights. There is an internet revolution happening right now in Africa, data cost are coming down and connectivity is increasing, and other parts of the third world and virtual currencies could do the same.
The world point of Bitcoin is to be a currency that is peer to peer, that means it does not depend on a government or a bank to run it or give it support. Not having the support of a government or a bank is not a bad thing because it’s not them that give it value it’s the people that use it to make transactions. One of Bitcoins biggest attraction is that you can send an almost unlimited amount of money to someone else without having to pay huge transactions fees.
Unaficha pesa ya nini. We couldn’t steal from you even if we tried. It’s no different than when someone here posts wads of 1000 shilling notes. In fact, it’s the digital equivalent of that.
The demise of MPESA has been predicted many times but never comes to be.
1BTC=$430, didn’t want curious cats like you asking questions. :D:D
:D:D[ATTACH=full]26238[/ATTACH]
hata mimi sitaki maswali…
I’m in stitches :D:D:D:D. two likes from me.
we are already thea, mine iko zero