Heh! Nimepatikana just now (15-20 mins ago) Nuks kweli. Im wearing one of those. Boarded a nissan matatu on Mbsa Rd from Total next to Airtel offices going to GM. I sit at the front carrying my bag, newspaper & jacket while holding my phone. I put the phone on my breast pocket & close the door. Driver tells me “hujafunga mlango vizuri, fungua ufunge tena”. I do so & I’m told “bado hujafunga” I open & close again, driver says “Bado hujafunga”. The guy between me & the driver offers to do it. He has a school like bag on his lap & stretches to open & close the door. Then he says “kuna kitu umeangusha hapo nyuma” In a split second my phone has vanished & I tell the driver SIMAMISHA GARI!! I WANT MY PHONE BACK. The idiot between me & driver keeps repeating that I’ve dropped something a few metres behind. Since I cannot get the driver out, I decide to hold tight the conductor’s hand & pulling him towards where the fool is saying I dropped the phone. My plan is he is now my ‘collateral’ since if I walk backwards alone to check if the phone dropped, this idiots will drive off leaving me hanging dry minus my phone. It pays off,…the well fed fool with a school bag realises this is trouble brewing & I think the driver also signalled him to give back phone. They drove off immediately. Trouble is I was too mad to note the registration number & didn’t have time to take photo of the vehicle. The matatu crew & those thugs are definitely ‘partners’ in the scheme. If not, they should have ejected the fellow before driving off. Other trick they use is dropping coins then asking you to pick it up for them. When you do… Guys, be aware & other tricks these bastards use.
Huh, jambazi ni jambazi tu… the insatiable appetite for an extra coin even people are gainfully employed is killing this country!! And this is replicated in all levels in the public and private sector. Kila mtu anataka kula!
Happened to me kwa paradiso though @junkie alikuwa radar mbaya.saw them board pale allsops then headed straight for macho nne fala (me)having been brought up and schooling with such characters I can smell their ilk a mile away.they dropped a coin behind me and started moving me around while looking for a way to peremba me.just played along coz I knew hakuna vile watafikia my deep pockets and if they try something naruka now mbaya mbaya.they alighted at the next stage
they also drop bullets and they ask you to help them pick them up when you bend down to see what you have asked to pick up you panic and thats when they ask you to give them whatever you have and they immediately alight.
Unaingia kwa mat kama umeweka sura ya waks na akikucheki unamkondolea jicho face to face mpaka a blink fau.:mad:
Hapo atajua hakuna mteremko.
Kaa ngumu.