I’m torn between getting a desktop or laptop. I basically want a machine that can comfortably run applications like Hyper-V, WSL, Docker, VS Code, Claude Desktop and other resource-intensive applications for modern-day software development.
As such, a newer generation (13+) Core i7 2.5GHz+, 32GB PC with a reasonably powerful integrated GPU is ideal. I’m aware there are powerful laptops with slow clock speeds but multiple CPUs, but I’m not sure how that plays out. Also learnt that some laptops like the HP 1040 G8 and G9 don’t have extra memory slots and RAM is capped at 16 GB so such are out of the equation.
Budget is 60K, considering that I’d have to get a UPS if I get a desktop so the figure is inclusive of that although I’m be willing to fork an extra 10K. Oh, and SSD muhimu sana.
Lol. Nyinyi watu wa Emacs kaeni tu vile mko. Sisi kwanza lazima tukimbize the low-hanging fruits and make enough money kabla tufikirie getting cracked in Rust na Elixir.
Ryzen 5 iko fiti. I have an Envy 360 laptop hio narun hadi animation apps, android studio na adobe software bila shida. If you get a 16GB Ram utakuwa sorted zaidi.
No, I’m not a noob but yeah man, I’m trying to ride this AI wave. A few years ago, I could write C++ on an i3 or Core 2 Duo and compile it no fuss. But right now I have to get on this vibe train. If I can aptly solve a client’s problem in 10% of the time or spin up a complete SaaS app in a day, bruh, I will ride that hype train till the wheels fall off.
Right now I’m working on an Electron app that I’m sure will make me money on Day 1 no cap because I already have a waitlist. In short, be quick to adapt or be dead. Andrej Karpathy, John Carmack, Andrew Ng and others can’t be wrong.
Once you have all many of development environments and apps running, 16GB won’t cut it. Tebu try running an app using a simple stack like React/Next for the frontend, Strapi for the backend, and at the same time have VS Code, Chrome and Hyper V open. Ata usijaribu kufungua Docker, WSL ama Android Studio. You machine will be slow AF. With 16 GB, forget about running small models for when you’re offline or your AI provider is down. Nothing bad in being prepared for any eventuality. It’s the rational thing to do and what led to the differentiation of Homo Sapiens from other apes.
Sasa that’s exactly what I’m trying to avoid cause I like trying things like self-hosting a small OS model so 16GB will be a handicap. Hakunanga watu wanauza comps huku yaani? I thought I’d be spoilt for choice. Wacha niulize pale Reddit.