C/P
Police have arrested Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) presidential candidate, Dr Kizza Besigye as he tried Monday to access the Kampala Central Business District using the Kampala - Jinja Road.
“Museveni has declared all public places in Kampala Central a no go area for Opposition. We wanted to have a rally at Nakivubo Stadium but police blocked us. This has left us with no choice but to address voters on the streets and roads,”
Before his arrest, Police led by Kampala Central Police Station DPC Aaron Baguma, had blocked Dr Besigye from using Kampala Road suggesting that he uses Mukwano Road to access the city.
However, Dr Besigye rejected the suggestion. He tried to access the city through Nasser Road but was blocked again before police teargased and dispersed his rowdy supporters.
He is currently being held at Kira Road police station.
According to the Electoral Commission campaign schedule, Dr Besigye has planned rallies in parts of Central Kampala, including Nakivubo Stadium.
[ATTACH=full]31191[/ATTACH]
Now he got the sympathy pictures he wanted on the headlines…(what he should know is that too much teargas and pepper spray is bad for the sexual health of his supporters [[SIZE=1]but does he care?[/SIZE]])
Well,Boda boda guys have seriously clashed with the police.Tear gas from Jinja road to downtown where nakivumbo stadium is.
Nasser road ni mambo mbaya.
Karibu na central police station wacha tu.
Reporting live from Kampala.
enyewe that shit was just a way to remain relevant,when police give instructions everyone on social media anakua security analyst but ukisanywa phone tao you suddenly remember the cops and start singing insecurity… watu wa heshimu kazi zao
police give directions to maintain order(liness). if you are coming from thika heading to uhuru park for your rally and police advise you to use the southern bypass and approach the park from Msa road why do you then lazimisha to follow the Superhighway to Pangani where your convoy will literally ground the entire city?
He was going to a rally and this is not the first time this has been done to him. Preventing people from campaigns is just too petty and nothing justifies that.
my friend, did i at any time say he teargassed himself. no! he was gassed by police. why? he insisted on following the wrong route to provoke a situation.
My good friend, if you want to understand this issue don’t “write him off”…Hear his side, how do u do that? Look at the history, this guy has been arrested for…walking in the past.
let’s please deal with this incident, mambo ya history tuache for now. this is about creating matyrs. sadly, a lot of innocent people are hurt, physically and materially when we create dramatics so as to influence perceptions. in our line of business we call it kusisimua campaign…