Believe it or not, Kenya Association of 'E' graders exists

They scored grade E in the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) exams after spending at least four years in secondary school.

In Kenya, grade E is considered a death sentence in one’s academic and career life — and often attracts scorn from friends and even family. Those who score grade E are seen as failures in life.

While others opt to continue their studies by bridging subjects they failed, many resort to keeping off anything to do with books, and will avoid mentioning their educational backgrounds in public. But it is this ‘pariah’ status that inspired a few individuals to form the Kenya ‘E’ Graders Association group to bring together those who scored the ‘feared’ grade in KCSE.

“We formed the group in 2015. Many students have been scoring Es in KCSE, and the number is increasing every year. Sadly, many of us have been ignored, which is why we came together so that we can have a platform on which to share our good and bad times, while planning for our future,” the group’s chair Ayub Simba Njagi told The Nairobian.

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/ureport-uploads/story-1498798447.jpg

He added that, “Many of us who scored grade E have not been given a chance to explore our talents by society. This is where our association comes in. We want them to become useful people in society.”

Njagi, 33, sat for his KCSE exams in 2011.

“Life became hard when my mother died in 1998. I performed best in English, in which I scored D- (minus). I however failed in the rest of the subjects thus the grade. I also scored an E in my KCPE,” he explains.

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/ureport-uploads/story-1498798478.jpg
“I sat down and researched on how people like me move forward in life. I shared my findings with colleagues, who assisted me to come up with the association’s constitution before registering it. To join the group one pays Sh200 for lifetime membership,”Njagi explained. The group wrote to the National Youth Service (NYS) director asking that some of their members be absorbed into NYS programmes to help them make a living. However, NYS never responded to their letter.

[ATTACH=full]109071[/ATTACH]

Sijuangi:D:D:D… kwani wewe ni member?

Wako Jubiliee ama naswo?

Yenyewe they look like E, u don’t need to ask

Hehehehe. acha ubaguzi bro! Mimi ni ule msee hesabu na sciences zilikuwa zinaitwa na zinaitika. Kenye ilinishinda ni history na CRE pekee juu zilikuwa voluminous.

Shut up. Just shut up.

"E"t "E"s not thE End of lifE

We had a teacher who used to say C is default grade, to get an A or B you will need to work on your books, to also get a D or E you will also need to work

Haha wacheni dharau

Good stuff. They have moved past the “accept your situation” stage and they are doing something about it and not sitting down to blame the jubilee govt!

They have my respect!

As well as mine

we should not have grades “stigma”

i agree. unfortunately with our exam-based system, that’s all that exists.
then again there are “fewer” options when you get an E. you become a welder. and you don’t make range rover money
that’s the mentality out there
but the likes of Njenga Karume proved them wrong

well, sometimes, the E-graders want the same job opportunities as the other graders.
i’d pick someone with the skills, attitude and communication ability that i require.

Agreed

Extreme right ni dame ?? hehehe, besides kupata E ? Mungu kama yuko, ako na jokes.

Yea, about that… a few talkers like @4makind and @Soprano will tell you how TZians who are daft as can be who want to earn same as some guy who went through engineering school pale UoN.

Huyo dame akapata food na comfort anaweza kuwa kitu inashikika

Mkumbwa nimeona umekula mtu sweep mahali styro moja ya madharau. Jaribu kutulia my fren. Ama namna gani?

ala!! hii ilikuwa sweep?? :D:D i know who the target is

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/images/tuesday/zitqlqxcxqzsdmjw856cc1c10495be.jpg

Not all of us can be academics, become doctors and have an assured starting salary of 200k plus, there are many other things inlife that are not academic based where you just require life skills. They just need to find what they are good at give it their all

Basi leo @jaymoh was on a sweeping spree. Kuna mahali nimeona ameambia @Art aendee kazi. Sikuskia poa lakini ni sawa. Huku ni KTalk, haifai kuonea mtu huruma. :D:D:D

Huyo dame amevaa red anakaa kama mbuzi