Before Israel, Jews considered settling in western Kenya ~ Long Post Alert

In a little-known episode in East Africa’s history, advocates of a Jewish homeland decided 112 years ago to authorise an expedition to today’s Kenya in response to a British proposal to establish a “Jewish territory” on the Uasin Gishu Plateau.

Meeting in Switzerland, the Sixth Zionist Congress voted 295-178 on August 26, 1903, to send this “investigatory commission” to an area bounded by Lake Nakuru, Kisumu, Mount Elgon and the equator.

Earlier that same year, Colonial Secretary Joseph Chamberlain had suggested to Zionist leader Theodor Herzl that this roughly 16,300-square-km portion of the British East Africa Protectorate could be designated for Jewish settlement. Chamberlain, who had recently visited the area, said the plateau had “an excellent climate suitable for white people.”

The territory would be locally administered by a “Jewish official” and be given a “free hand” in religious and domestic matters, Sir Clement Hill, Superintendent of African Protectorates, wrote in the run-up to the August 26, 1903, vote. The Jews’ local autonomy would be conditioned on the British government “exercising general control,” Sir Clement added.

The subsequent history of East Africa, as well as that of the Jewish people, would have proved quite different from what actually transpired had a large number of Jews settled in today’s western Kenya.

Prof Adam Rovner, author of In the Shadow of Zion: Promised Lands Before Israel, speculates that a Jewish settlement may have been acceptable to the African inhabitants of the region. And it is likely, the US-based scholar adds, that many Jewish lives would have been saved if East Africa had offered a refuge from the Nazi Holocaust.

As it was, the idea of a Jewish settlement in East Africa was ultimately voted down by the Zionist Congress that met in 1905. The majority viewed Palestine as the only suitable site for Jews to settle en masse.

Jews felt “no emotional connection” to East Africa, comments Rabbi Berel Wein, head of a Jerusalem-based foundation focused on Jewish history. For that reason, he adds, East Africa was seen as no more acceptable as a home for Jews than were several sites suggested in the 19th and early 20th century, including Madagascar, parts of Argentina and Chile, and the island of Tasmania off the southern coast of Australia.

Arguing in favour of the East African option in 1903, Herzl made it clear that he viewed it as offering only a temporary safe haven for Jews. The ultimate aim, Herzl pledged, would still be to establish a Jewish state in Palestine, which was then under Turkish control.

And that did occur in 1948, with the declaration of the state of Israel in what Jews viewed as their ancient homeland.

The Zionist majority that did narrowly agree in 1903 to at least consider the British proposal for an East African haven believed that Jews urgently needed a place where they would be safe from the massacres, or “pogroms,” they regularly suffered in parts of Europe.

Dozens of Jews were killed by mobs in Russia three months prior to the vote to dispatch the exploratory expedition to today’s western Kenya.

The three-member commission that travelled to the Uasin Gishu Plateau split 2-1 against what was referred to at the time as the Uganda Plan.

Alfred Kaiser, a Swiss scholar who had converted to Islam, opposed the idea on the grounds that a more suitable site could be found elsewhere in the British Empire. Nahum Wilbush, a Jewish engineer, was wholly unsympathetic to the plan for an East African enclave. And British explorer Hill Gibbons suggested setting up an experimental settlement to gauge whether the region could actually accommodate a significant number of Jews.

The Zionist Congress that formally rejected the Uganda Plan in 1905 reaffirmed Palestine as the place where Jews should seek to establish a homeland.

MBISHA

[ATTACH=full]14479[/ATTACH]

*This therefore means their claim of biblical Judea Samaria is all hog wash? It was nothing but a geopolitical arrangement

Link: http://www.theeastafrican.co.ke/magazine/Before-Israel-Jews-considered-settling-in-western-Kenya/-/434746/2858742/-/woqde1z/-/index.html

i think the holocaust was jesus getting even,how do you nail the saviour to the cross(the most extreme form of torture known to man back then).
i try to imagine what the bible would have looked like if it was written today? with mbichas and vindeos of all those miracles
the funny thing is that the roman empire is still in power,there is no where on this planet hata kwa moon you wont find it.

hehehe why should he get even and his crucifixion was according to his “father’s” will?

And himself since there are three godheads whose summation is one according to the old hekaya book.

jesus had promised the already.
But as they came closer to Jerusalem and he saw the city ahead, he began to cry. ‘Eternal peace was within your reach and you turned it down,’ he wept, ‘and now it is too late. Your enemies will pile up earth against your walls and encircle you and close in on you, and crush you to the ground, and your children within you; your enemies will not leave one stone upon another- for you have rejected the opportunity God offered you.’ Then he entered the Temple and began to drive out the merchants from their stalls, saying to them, ‘The Scriptures declare, My Temple is a place of prayer; but you have turned it into a den of thieves’" (Lk.19:36-46 TLB).

When such issues are raised I detest the Jews… Their social economic and religious inclinations have never been abother but when it comes to politics this guy’s are plain dirty. I think they have an order like illuminati that’s pushing their agenda in the world coz it seems the world is blind with the atrocities they do against the Palestinians in Gaza…

they are gods chosen people,they have been murdering children since time immemorial.

Hosea 3:4-5 - “For the Israelites will live many days without king or prince, without sacrifice or sacred stones, without ephod or idol. Afterward the Israelites will return and seek the LORD their God and David their king. They will come trembling to the LORD and to his blessings in the last days.”

[I]Hosea 6:1 - "Come, let us return to the LORD. He has torn us to pieces but he will heal us; he has injured us but he will bind up our wounds.

Ezekiel 20:34 - “I will bring you from the nations and gather you from the countries where you have been scattered – with a mighty hand and an outstretched arm and with outpoured wrath.”

[I]Isaiah 11:11-12 NIV - “In that day the Lord will reach out his hand a second time to reclaim the remnant that is left of his people from Assyria, from Lower Egypt, from Upper Egypt, from Cush, from Elam, from Babylonia, from Hamath and from the islands of the sea. He will raise a banner for the nations and gather the exiles of Israel; he will assemble the scattered people of Judah from the four quarters of the earth.”

[I]Isaiah 66:8 NIV - “Who has ever heard of such a thing? Who has ever seen such things? Can a country be born in a day or a nation be brought forth in a moment? Yet no sooner is Zion in labour than she gives birth to her children.”

Isaiah 43:5-6,21 - “Do not be afraid, for I am with you; I will bring your children from the east and gather you from the west. I will say to the north, Give them up!' and to the south, Do not hold them back.’ Bring my sons from afar and my daughters from the ends of the earth…”

“… the people I formed for myself that they may proclaim my praise.”

[I]Psalm 107:2-3 NIV - "Let the redeemed of the LORD say this – those he redeemed from the hand of the foe, those he gathered from the lands, from east and west, from north and south.

Isaiah 43:5-6,21 - “Do not be afraid, for I am with you; I will bring your children from the east and gather you from the west. I will say to the north, Give them up!' and to the south, Do not hold them back.’ Bring my sons from afar and my daughters from the ends of the earth…”

“… the people I formed for myself that they may proclaim my praise.”

Psalm 107:2-3 NIV - "Let the redeemed of the LORD say this – those he redeemed from the hand of the foe, those he gathered from the lands, from east and west, from north and south.

Isaiah 26:6 NIV - “In days to come Jacob will take root, Israel will bud and blossom and fill all the world with fruit.”

Isaiah 35:1-2 NIV - “The desert and the parched land will be glad; the wilderness will rejoice and blossom. Like the crocus, it will burst into bloom; it will rejoice greatly and shout for joy…”

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aliyah [/I]

Exodus 19:4 - Ye have seen what I did unto the Egyptians, and how I bare you on eagles’ wings, and brought you unto myself.[33] and
Isaiah 40:31 - But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Magic_Carpet_(Yemen)
[/I][/I]
[/I]

The Maasais would have whooped the Jews asses.

We would now be experiencing all those things going on like bombs/bomb threats in the bus while going to work(even though Alshababu is a threat now-a-days)including the threat of being wiped out of the map by Iran…

WE THE KENYAN JEWS, aka KIKUYUS WOULD HAVE LIKED IT,WE ARE ONE. WE ARE BLACK JEWs

Si ni wewe juzi tu ulikuwa unataka kukata atheists kwa panga juu ya kumdisrespect Bwana Yesu? Uligeuka myahudi lini?