Before you ask for help, make sure you’re already on the journey to your destination. Don’t seek help before you even start the journey.
For example, there are people who ask you for money to start some form of business. It’s not a bad thing but it’s not convincing because there’s no proof that you’ll even start the business. Easier to say “I’ve got a shop that’s doing X in revenue but I need money to increase my daily volumes”. When people see that you already own a shop and you’re only looking to expand, it signals that you have a bias for action and makes it easy to give you money!
Now let’s talk about something very common among Kenyans. They’ll ask you to help them move abroad. Bro, how?? How man?? This type of ask puts the actual work on the person you’re asking, not yourself (the beneficiary). You should have done the actual leg work (research and all) such that your questions are the following:
- Bro, I am preparing my application to X school for a masters program. I’ve already collected my recommendation letters, my transcript is ready to go, all documents are in place. However, could you spare some cash to help me register for the GMAT/GRE/TOEFL?
- Now this is beautiful. Unapewa pesa pap! Why? You’ve done the hard work already. You’ve collected the necessary documents. You even know what schools you’re applying to. You’ve even studied for the tests. All you need is money to take the damn test
(Yaani you researched all the ways of moving abroad YOURSELF and finally settled on the education route. Then you already started the process! Beautiful. So all the hard work is done. Now you just need money to move things along! You have a bias for action!)
- Bro, I need money for my B2 visa application. I’ve already traveled to nearby countries and even went to China to get another visa stamp to show I can travel and come back home. I’ve already planned places to visit so I can tell the consular officer my full itinerary on request. Can you spare 20Gs for the visa application and host me for a month?
- Kazi safi sana hii. You already did your research ukagundua you’re a shaggzmodo without a degree so the best way to get your ass out of that shithole country is via a visitor’s visa manake ata biashara hauna. But you can fake that you don’t have plans to kwamilia America so you already have a story of how your wife is newly pregnant, your passport has some good stamps to show very good history, and your itinerary is fool proof Kama ile gari ya POTUS. Umejipanga vilivyo. Yaani wewe you’re a self-starter. You don’t ask people to do research on your behalf. You personally do it because you know your ass is gonna get all the rewards that come with it. You don’t want to sit down and leave the actual work to your cousin who has his shit to deal with.
- Bro, Nimekuwa nikipiga German language pale Goethe institute na sasa nimefika C-1. Halafu nimepiga nursing kiasi apa so nimekuwa nikiangalia courses za ku transfer pale Germany. I landed on XYZ na nimeshatuma applications. Can I get 50Gs nimalizie malizie vitu hapa before I take off?
- I’m sure by now you already understand my point.
Be a self-starter. Usipatie watu kazi wakufanyie. People are not your slaves. They’ve got things to do. Don’t be lazy. Najua handout culture Kenya permeates even into things that you should be doing yourself to get ahead. Don’t be one of those people.
Do the work. Sisi kazi yetu as diaspora Kenyans ni kusaidia once you’re already moving ahead in the process ndio usikwame Kati Kati. You provide the vision and the steps you’ve already taken alafu we facilitate financially where possible. Our job is not sitting down doing research for you.