BBC Expose On Tea Plantations Yields Results....

[SIZE=7]2 Contractors in BBC Exposé Fired as Pressure Mounts on Kenya’s Govt[/SIZE]
[li]By KENYANS.CO.KE WRITER on 21 February 2023 - 8:09 pm[/li]
https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_style_mobile/public/images/media/Tea%20plantation.jpg?itok=101Vh6t9
[/ul]
Pressure has continued to mount on the government of Kenya following an exposé by the BBC on the sexual harassment on tea farms in Kericho.

Two parliamentarians on Tuesday, February 21, demanded more action to be taken against the perpetrators of the crimes meted on female tea pluckers, as captured by the investigative piece.

Speaking in Parliament on February 21, Kericho Women Representative Beatrice Kemei demanded the Committee on Labour to issue statements on a number of issues.

The lawmaker wanted to know steps taken by the government to protect the rights of the female workers and ensure that perpetrators are held accountable.

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/Kericho%20women%20rep.jpg?itok=UUK1EwFs[ATTACH=full]497003[/ATTACH]
Kericho Woman Representative Beatrice Kemei and Dagoretti North MP Beatrice Elachi speaking at a parliamentary session in February 21, 2023

On the other hand, Dagoretti North MP Beatrice Elachi condemned the mistreatment of women, calling for action.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wMdnCx6eUc:88

“Today I have been reminded that slavery still exists in the country today I stand dejected as this slavery has been going on under our noses as leaders,” complained Elachi.

Meanwhile, James Finlay, a British firm, terminated its contract with two individuals featured in the BBC investigation.

“We have terminated our agreement with Sislo Holdings. All 300 contractors who were working with us through Sislo have been offered direct employment to ensure their livelihoods are not affected-98 percent have accepted, highlighted the firm in a statement…Both individuals have been barred from entering James Finlay Kenya," it noted, adding that it had reported the BBC’s allegations against them to the police.

BBC’s Africa Eye documentary featured shocking accounts of sexual exploitation from women working at tea firms after its reporter spent 18 months investigating the matter.

The company revealed that it had launched independent investigations to establish what happened and areas of improvement.

Finlay’s added that it was fully committed to taking decisive action on the investigation findings to prevent similar experiences in the future.

"The investigations will be wholly independent. Management across Finlays will ensure that the Partner Africa teams have full access to everyone who works at James

Finlay Kenya, our records, and all processes and procedures in place," the company’s statement read in part.

Maajabu ya musa. People, who themuselefus are beneficiaries of horizontal interviews, calling for an end to horizontal interviews.

Gen z tukisema watu waamke wateseke kumbe it’s literal hell for people who are actually suffering under these shitty geriatrics.
Hakuna kitu mbaya kama a lust led leader.Hajui kuheshimu kazi.Fucking tekayos.I hope working conditions improve.maliza hao predators!!!

They should give women these roles not these sex predators

Magreb kutoka uonje mboro ya Uganda you have been squirting nonsense nonstop

Wanaume wakuongozwa na mboro ni watu shenzi sana apa siwezi blame wanawake the joblessness in Kenya is at a disgusting level…wafutwe wa blacklistiwe warudi kwao nandi wamee akili…shenzi ao

A man who can control his lust has solved 95% of his problems

[ATTACH=full]497058[/ATTACH]

It is very easy to come up with theories until you experience. Hapa you will just pontificate until ile Sikh you find yourself in the pole position to fuck then then wakandanism in you will come up. Imagine wewe ndio uko kwa position ya kuandika kina Mitchele Ntalami, Oliver Burrows, Linda Ogutu, Yvonne Okwara etc kazi. Unataka kusema hutatembea kwa corridors za ofisi na an erect penis in hand?

Digiri yangu inakataa infact imekataa niongozwe na mboro…wakandan or not:cool:

Negro only acts when condemnation comes from Europe or USA.

#NIABM
#NIAS

Dick driven bonobo hata hatambui condoms. Washenzi wanasambazia ppl’s daughters ukimwi. My advice to women who accept horizontal interviews is to strictly insist on using condoms.
Hio kazi is not worth you getting HIV.

I was and is in one of those position kiongozi surrounded by finest decent queens. It’s all about controlling your mind as a man. Few men have that power. Not that I’m super human but just fact that I think about the consequences and that makes me stop. That’s all.

The irony is that, abuse will still happen. It might not be sexual, but exploitation and favoritism will still be order of the day unless you do something for the supervisor.

[SIZE=7]Activist Who Defended Tea Workers After BBC’s ‘Sex for Work’ Exposé Found Dead[/SIZE]
[li]By ROBINSON NDUNGU on 25 March 2023 - 6:42 pm[/li]
https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_style_mobile/public/images/media/Onyango%20(1).jpg?itok=KGoE9Mvv
A photo collage of activist Godfrey Onyango (left) and a poster of the Sex for Work’ expose that aired on BBC in February 2023.
[/ul]
Residents of Lanet, Nakuru County, were on Friday, March 24, shocked by the death of Godfrey Onyango, an activist who, until his death, took part in the litigation of public interest cases.

Close family members claimed that Onyango collapsed at around 5 pm in the evening under mysterious circumstances as he had not shown any signs of ill health.

Onyango’s younger brother, Tom Mboya Onyango, stated that the last time they had contact was on Friday, March 24, at 11 am, when he checked on the deceased.

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/BBC%20expose%20on%20Kenyan%20tea%20farm.jpg?itok=zneW2nhu
The poster for the investigative documentary by BBC Africa Eye, titled “Sex for Work: The True Cost of Our Tea.”

He left with the assurance that Onyango was doing well only to find his body lying dead in his house.

The activist’s body was taken to a morgue in Nakuru Town, where a postmortem was scheduled to occur as authorities sought to establish the cause of his death.

“I found him, having collapsed and died in the house. He was okay in the morning,” Onyango’s brother told the Nation.

Onyango had reportedly offered to help former employees of two prominent tea-producing firms in their pursuit of justice against the companies accused of subjecting them to sexual harassment as a condition for earning jobs.

His endeavor followed an expose aired by BBC in February 2023 which highlighted the plight of female workers working in tea-producing firms in Kericho County.

The case would have been one of the several cases he helped solve through litigation under his organization, Justice and Environment Foundation.

BBC’s expose entitled “Sex of Work” became the talking point in Kenya and abroad as people from different quarters reacted to the revelations.

On February 20, Kericho Women representative Beatrice Kemei sought a statement from the Departmental Committee on Labour regarding the harassment claims made in the exposé.

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/Haji_0.jpg?itok=eWiem-qd
DPP Noordin Haji

Subsequently, the Speaker directed members of the said Committee to prepare a report on the allegations of sexual harassment meted on female workers in the farms.

The Director of Public Prosecution (DPP), Noordin Haji, also acted on the expose with a directive ordering comprehensive investigations into the allegations made.