Barrack Muluka sober take on church fundraising and the role of media.

watch fro the 3 minute mark.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KD-qJXGusBg

Wah! He goes to my mom’s church. ACK. Very active members both him and his wife. I think he cant give an unbiased POV because he is a very very active member and his wife is even an official with akina Kiplagat’s wife, so how can he critique the church that he’s an active member of ? ati commercial entity? Hope Provost wasnt watching…

Kabla aongee sana asikize hii

[MEDIA=twitter]1057180070173917185[/MEDIA]

I beg to differ. I think he has the best view since he has seen the results of religious entities concentrating on the commercial instead of the spiritual… And he has been a participant. Saying that he has no truly non partisan POV ni kama kusema that makanga hawezi ongea maneno ya matatu coz he does not own one.

Muluka is right, 100 yrs ago, the church was heavily involved in initiating development projects, compared to today’s church.
It’s even worse when it comes to these independent churches

Most of today’s churches are business ventures that con ppl into believing they can buy their way into prosperity and heaven.

You and Muluka have forgotten all the nuns ,brothers and fathers who have taken vows of poverty and chastity to serve, theyve given their entire lives to work free of charge and pray free of charge for those in need to perform the seven corporal and spiritual works of mercy. Development projects and all the money in the world is nothing compared to laying down of ones life in service to others. As Jesus said, greater love has no man than (s)he who lays down their life. Love is greater than any amount of money. Even the Bible says, if a man gives his entire household/all that (s)he owns in exchange for love it will be utterly scorned. These people who commit their lives to service of vulnerable others , perform a labour of love that no amount of money can buy.

Even in Jesus day the religious class,the Pharisees,Saducees and Scribes had commodified and commercialised religion remember Jesus whipping those trading in the synagogue saying ,My Father’s House shall be called a House of Prayer but you have turned it into a den of robbers that was 2000 yrs ago so its nothing new, its happened then and its happening now. Infact Jesus absolutely couldnt stand the religious class of His day, He called them a brood of vipers and white washed graves. And dedicated a whole chapter in Mathew critiquing them, Mathew 23 and even in the period before Jesus came, there were always unscrupulous people who became false prophets and who made money from being religious ‘leaders’’ like in [SIZE=4]Jeremiah 7:11 New American Standard Bible (NASB)[/SIZE]
11 Has this house, which is called by My name, become a den of robbers in your sight? Behold, I, even I, have seen it,” declares the Lord.

To me Muluka who is part of the modern Kenyan church should be part of the solution and stop pandering to populist and controversial viewpoints so that media houses call him for interviews. Theres independent Christian like Charles Mully who are doing amazing things for the destitute children, so let’s not be alarmist and defeatist. As long as the Kingdom of Jesus reign on earth hasnt come, we will have counterfeits, we will have charlatans , we will have people who make merchandise of people seeking God, we will even have people perform miracles using powers of darkness and many will be deceived, as the Bible says, even the very elect will be deceived. A shocking story is told in the Old Testament about a Powerful Prophet a real one who was mauled by a lion after he listened to instructions from a false prophet that contradicted what God had instructed him to do I believe its 1 Kings 13. So really anything with very high stakes has great risks. Theres nothing new about that fact. Its been that way and could only get worse so Muluka should not criticise a church that hes part of infront of a secular world. He lacks the moral authority to do so.