Which banks are giving the best fd rates now
Which channel through which mama mboga used to borrow loans has been closed? What has changed? I can accept a knee jerk reaction from a bank but not from a layman.
What he is saying is that credit has dried up.
Kwani credit offered through mshwari and other similar channels is no longer available? Because thatâs mama mbogaâs channel.
Credit has dried up!!! Mama mboga had access to banks which charged her 23%p.a. Now sheâs left with only mshwari at 96% p.a which has limits on amounts she can borrow.
Those were loans given to people with security and with small businesses and not mama mbogas⌠That rate was even given to employees in contract jobs and people on permanent terms with less known employers. Credit for these has dried up but thatâs temporary Lakini mama mboga who had no security wasnât among them. Ama what do you define as mama mboga? I remember getting a loan at equity at 25% when I was on contract and it was a 100k that was to be paid in a year. Ama mimi pia ni mama mboga?
Mama mboga was just a cliche that I used. There are a lot of small business people operating daily in Kenya. If you have ever run a business, because of incomes being unsteady, many times you may need a bridge to substain you until u got comfy. In the old system, at least you could borrow even at that 23%. It greatly helps I will tell you that. Now?? The beginning of this thread is banks forecasting reduction of personel.
Dont dharau mama mboga. They are an important part of this economy. So make more money than me and U. I used mama mboga as a cliche for small business owners. A little bit of creative thinking helps.
Reduction of personnel is an awesome thing to do. Why wouldnât you want banks to run on a leaner system if it means providing cheaper loans? Banks will need to rely on credit ratings in order to give loans to business people at low rates⌠Unfortunately CRBs arenât reliable atm so theyâll have to figure out how to do it or strengthen CRBs because itâs they who destroyed the system in the first place because they didnât need it.
Donât you think equating SMEs to mama mbogaâs is a bit rich considering these are employers?
Good you have now agreed credit has dried up. As to whether its permanent or temporary, time will tell. Mama mboga are those small scale traders whose loan security was chattels
Okiya this is what I have always stated banks will need to reduce NPLs⌠How do they do that? By refusing to lend those that are likely to default. But atm they donât know who that is because they misused CRBsâŚcurrently they are employing a blanket criteria, which will change in the near future.
Banks have credit committees that assess the borrowerâs likelihood of default. You cannot blame CRB for the current situation where banks are applying a blanket ban on disbursement of loans. Check what @jimmy_m friends are going through with their banks. They seem to have good credit history and their loans are more likely to be performing yet they are denied credit. Donât blame CRB.
Okiya I will ask you a few questions
- How does Bank A know you have a loan at Bank B and Sacco C?
- How does Bank A know you never defaulted on your loan at Bank B and Sacco C.
- How does Bank A know that the default you are listed for at Bank B was not an erroneous one. And you had paid your premiums on time.
Look banks have blacklisted people erroneously at CRBs and a lots of info on CRBs is erroneous. Most saccos have not been using CRBs data or listing defaulting clients. Banks have advanced loans to people only to find out that the reason they have been defaulting is because they have a facility with another lender that was unknown at the time. Banks even donât bother informing people that they have listed them on CRBs but will send you five texts everyday asking you to apply for loans and use their online services and what not.
They use CRB. But CRB is not an end by itself in assessing creditworthiness. Banks are simply refusing to lend.
i believe the statement in bold to be inaccurate, the first thing banks do before even entering your loan application into the system for consideration is to check your standard credit report and personal profile from the CRB, if your PPI is not good the loan application wont even go into the system.
You would be amazed how much information they have on your ranging from dormant, to performing accounts including any delays (actually in number of days) you have ever taken to service a facility
If you doubt this, call metropol and request for yours and you can confirm the same
Then even with a PPI of M1 and metro score thats in the 900 range, they still turn you down. (like the case of my friends )
on the part of them sending you texts to apply, those are just the sales people doing their Job, immediately you fill the application, it must go through above process before its even send to the risk assessment team (and these guys are from the devil himself )
For what reason? My guess is they are playing safe for now. All they can do is reduce expenditure and npls while they watch out for market behavior. CBK reported that there are banks seeking licenses and new products from existing awaiting approval. Thatâs a good thing IMHO
I have gone through this system myself and actually did a thread about it. Fortunately it attracted some banker with whom we squared it out on that thread. In 2014 some saccos like mine werenât listing people on CRB. I am not sure if that has changed. I mean you could have a 1M loan and no one knows about it except the sacco and your guarantors.
I donât know why they are refusing to lend. But why deny someone with good credit worthiness a facility in the name of reducing NPLs? In fact a customer who was credit worthy when rates were 24% now has more ability to repay since rates are 14%.
Whether they are playing it safe, my conclusion is that quite a number of people who were accessing loans at 24% previously may not be able to access credit in the near future.
I was listed for defaulting payment of a 100k loan that I had cleared eons agoâŚthe treatment I received from customer service at two banks was appalling at best. At one point I had to school one agent how to use the CRB. I am actually glad theyâre firing most of them, that should have happened yesterday.