I have been planning to do some travelling on the cheap later this year and see our beautiful continent.My plan is to travel by public transport across Malawi,Zambia,Angola,DRC,Ug and Tz,the last two are there by the virtue of being the last and first leg respectively of my trip.
The entire trip is expected to take two weeks with a focus of soaking up culture,both rural and urban from pocket friendly malawi to eye watering expensive Luanda. am particularly looking forward to taking in the huge sprawl that is kinsasha and riding a boat up the Congo.
well travelled talkers,naomba tips on attractions off the well beaten paths as well as does and don’ts. Akina Meria,Abba,Wu tang ,Nattydread et al. uwanja wenu.
Wueh. that should take two months unless unashinda kwa bus na ndege throughout.
I think you have a point, I might be forced to stick to major routes with good connections in order to reduce commute time
I would advise you cut down the nomber of countries to around 2 if you are travelling by road. Half of your 2 weeks will basically be wasted by sitting inside a coach. I travelled to Tanzania through Nairobi - Mombasa - Tanga - DareSalam - Mafinga - Makambako then all the way back . It was hell. I will avoid it if I can again.
Of all the places don’t miss Uganda, if from drc, use the Kasese route then sleep in the cleanest town in East Africa, Fortportal, many backpacking places, and as many as 50 lakes in a small area. From drc to Kasese you will pass through queen Elizabeth national park. In Fort Portal, you can go for chimp tracking and many more activities. Kyaninga Lodge (you can Google it and Lake kyaninga are to die for. Kinshasa to the Ugandan border though may take some dicy planning
very informative,thanks.
kwani unataka kuraise money for charity purpose… only done in Kenya.
Meanwhile io trip unafaa kuenda kama umewin Jackpot sportpesa
I am coming to Kigali.
Split the leg into two first part fanya Nairobi to Dar you can pop in to Zanzibar then onto Mbeya. You can catch a bus from Kariakoo or the tazara train (choose the express it leaves Dar every Tuesday). From Mbeya kuna bus za Lilongwe onwards head on to Lusaka. Sijafika Angola or Congo cheki lonely planet ama Tripadvisor for tips travelling those regions.
For accommodation natumianga Booking.com ama Airbnb kuna great backpacker spots. Currency wise tumia dollars in small bills though rates saa zingine ni upuss. The Mpesa Visa card pia ni fiti sana when you need to swipe na ni risk free juu you load it only when you intend to use it.
On communication roaming is expensive nunua lines za huko, it would be handy having two smartphones moja ikuwe kama hotspot na ubebe powerbank.
Valid Kenyan Passport should take you across the borders bila wasi wasi (counter check the number of days una stampiwa for each country). Yellow Fever Certificate.
Ukona wale wasee wakona VW’s?
Yes.
Do share some photos and jibambe…
Angola and DRC should be a different trip because moving by road from Eastern DRC to Kinshasa then to Luanda is not a joke . But that’s just my opinion.
check out some backpackers and travel vlogs pale youtube, might get some good tips…
Yeah, I wanted to ask how that was going to happen. DRC is a very yuuuge country, we saw photos of the president’s own vehicle navigating some crater like pothole so it must be hell traveling by road. Alafu I know the security situation is not bad in the entire country, but do those rebels we keep hearing about cause trouble to travelers, ama they’re holed up deep inside the forests? I think truckers who travel regularly there are best placed to provide insight.
No way you are going to backpack around all those places in only two weeks.
[ATTACH=full]164655[/ATTACH]
He can use Lubumbashi to Kinshasa route but even then that is more than 2,000 km by road. And that is minus the journey from Nairobi through TZ, Zambia or UG to that place.
Drc is big, while flying to uk some few years back i remeber the pilot announcing we were still on drc airspace for like 2 hrs, na ile turbulence iko huko wacha tu
Which country did you depart from headed to the UK to fly over the DRC?
Tazara schedule Express inatoka Dar every Friday. Nilikuwa tz in January kulikuwa na Cholera noma get vaccinated on that too itawekwa kwa hiyo booklet ya Yellow Fever.