Bachelor of Education degree: Going, going, gone

Days after Education CS George Magoha proposed the closure of some degree courses, plans are underway to scrap the 47-year-old Bachelor of Education degree.
In radical proposals by Education ministry policy experts, the popular B.Ed will be abolished and replaced with a five-year rigorous teacher training programme.
Under the proposal, secondary school graduates who qualify to join university will do basic degrees in either science or arts before proceeding for a one-year postgraduate diploma training

[ATTACH=full]238316[/ATTACH]

I’m a B.Ed, MSc holder and I think this is a good move, the exact is happening in most western countries ex the UK. The gov however, needs to address teacher remuneration and other benefits, otherwise no one will be going into the teacher training program knowing very well that locally the pay is poor, benefits not so good, career growth depends on who you know politically etc…

Hii maisha kama uko na degree usijifungie kwa kitu ulisomea. There are other opportunities in other fields. My highschool maths and physics teachers these days work for akina Nasa and such in other roles. If they had stuck with education saa hizi bado wangekuwa huko kijijini

iyo ni sawa

CBC

very true… my English teacher back in high school is now a very senior well respected and advisor to the government

I’m a B.Ed, MSc holder and I think this is a good move, the exact is happening in most western countries ex the UK. The gov however, needs to address teacher remuneration and other benefits, otherwise no one will be going into the teacher training program knowing very well that locally the pay is poor, benefits not so good, career growth po

This is true! By the way I’m a Math/Physics teacher :slight_smile: I stopped working for TSC long time ago, currently working overseas but even that said, I’m doing other things on the side, diversify your source of income so they say!

Unasema wako pale NASA secretariat?asking for a friend…Nasa hawa. . .on a serious note though wewe Idi Amin unapenda uwongo ndogo ndogo sana.

Teachers are some of the best paid folks in Kenya

uwongo mtupu

[ATTACH=full]238319[/ATTACH]

NASA

NASA ILE YA AIRSPACE I BELEIVE

Whether you’re a shoeshiner, makanga or engineer if you don’t project utabaki pale pale. I have a cousin bro tangu 2006 yeye ni deputy head teacher wa high school tu. No ambition na Jana haraka. In Campo I used to host my secondary school math/geography teacher as he did his M.Sc hapo main. He went on to become a Prof, vied against Mandago in the gubernatorial race and after his defeat, the soft landing alipewa ni ambassador Pakistan. His history equivalent alikua mama moja alikua anaringa sana kujifanya barbie barbie hivi. Maringo ilimsaidia and he’s now a CAS in one of the ministries. Have ambition and project yourself. The minimum utapata ni mdosi wa hio mahali uko

I thought so, add to that the long holidays - I am sure they get 50k plus

50k plus is for heads and deputy heads and maybe HODs,in short teachers that have been in the profession for 10+years…other criteria for negotiating salary,back in the day was “subject” taught where science and math teachers would have a higher starting salary than say language and humanities teachers. Fresh graduates mostly start on a salary of about 35k before tax and that includes commuter allowance,hardship allowance etc.If you live in Nairobi this is meagre salary,for someone with a family.

He must involve every stakeholders, he can’t bring his kichwa ngumu and dictatorship. Kwani alisomea wapi ? Alifuzwa na walimu, ndio changes are necessary but atembee na wangine !

Teachers in the UK are some of the luckiest bastards that I know of. School starts at 9.30 and finishes at 3.30, half term breaks, inset training days, many holidays and breaks, kids have all the facilities known to man inc text/writting books, their work is to open their mouth and talk…(we call them glorified nannies), many school trips to European countries which teachers do not pay…and they are also paid v well. The secondary school teachers earn mega bucks especially if you are a head of ‘something’ such as head of year 8, head of english etcet etcet. As for the Headmaster or headmistress (Head teacher they are called) ata tusiongee…their names are on a mini billboard at the entrance where everyone can see so if you have ever had a scandal/bad reputation utaanikwa by Joe Public and also the shame on the league of tables/ofsted report that the school is number xx available online.
However, the ones in the big cities such as London, Manchester, Birmingham etc have a v difficult job managing the current multi cultural situation that the UK has found herself in.

I have to say that most of them are extremely racist and we do not have many ethnic minority teachers to look after our shudren out there. So as a parent, one needs to stay v hawk eyed so that your child does not get lost in the system that has provided everything …but has not to some if that makes sense.

Most schools look better than 5 star hotels as they try to accommodate everyone i.e a chapel, a place where muslims can worship, music room, design room, IT room, school nurse on site, psychologist on site AND a quiet place to sit when the poor dears are stressed with all the gadgets known to man for free…hii ina niuma kiasi.

The key thing is risk-taking. Most of the people wenye huwa unaona hawana ambition shida yao huwa ni kuogopa kurisk. Mtu anaona nikiacha hii job sitaweza kusurvive. True to them, they continue surviving but remain stuck economically.

You must be talking about primary school teachers coz high school teachers earn over 60k. That’s not bad for someone who teaches about 4 lessons per day for 5 days in a week and 8 months in a year (1 week per term ni ya exams).

isikuume ata kidogo, Education is a major issue in political party commitment in the UK which they must fulfill or it will cost them votes. They invest in Education and make changes to reflect market needs.

International science and maths exams showed UK was lagging behind Asian Countries, at the moment they have invested in special mathematic academies, programming centres for young people who show special talent, all equipped with the most sophisticated technology and free, these is to ensure they don"t get left behind.

Sisi hatufanyi such things, we are not strategic. At the moment we are investing millions into tech college’s without strategy- Tanga Tanga teams opening them every where, failed projects before the first student reports.