I like Gov Waititu and think he’s one of the few unpretentious politicians in Kenya. Down to earth guy and fiercely ambitious.
He just announced he will plant 1,000,000 trees. This will be good so that Kiambu charcoal dealers can harvest from home. It will reduce cost of transportation, create jobs Kiambu and increase tax base in Kiambu.
https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2018/03/09/kiambu-to-plant-one-million-trees-by-mid-april-to-restore-forests_c1726627
Upuss!! KaBuffalo 2022…
The call made to burn Lorries belonging business in Kiambu may have rattle and woken a sleeping giant. Collective effort can transform this beautiful region to be self-sufficient.
Let’s look at one agricultural product - COFFEE
It is possible to convert coffee waste \ by products into biogas i.e from coffee to biogas to run the factories and reduce operation cost.
Waste coffee grounds, can be made into biomass pellets, act as a replacement for charcoal, sold at reduced cost to farmers supplying produce to the factories, hence reduce dependence on charcoal & wood for cooking githeri.
Coffee Flour, clever start-ups are operating wet mills in Nicaragua, Guatemala, and Mexico, and have invented a way to convert coffee cherry pulp into food.
The coffee plant produces a coffee cherry fruit which is apparently edible. When the beans are harvested, there’s a huge heap of pulverized fruits lying around, which is the cherry. Depending on the processing applied , it can result to flour or Spice; per gram, it has more iron than spinach, more protein than kale, more potassium than a banana, more fiber than wheat flour, and more antioxidants than a pomegranate.
Caffeine is mainly in the coffee bean not the cherry. The cherry may offer some monetary benefit to the farmers who raise coffee beans.
It is recommended that Coffee flour can be combined with regular wheat or other flours,
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aAxFT_ZNoq0
Coffee flour banana bread
[ATTACH=full]161702[/ATTACH]
Politically Kabogo is dead and gone. Thank God!
Is it possible in these country where people are obsessed with ‘gared communiries’ uprooting coffee to build house, I cringe when i see arable land being turned into a concrete jungle!
I, as a resident of Kiambu County, am ready to plant 5 seedlings to make the county green. If the governor points me in the right direction, I will happily oblige. Sande.
What do you mean right direction, tree seedlings are sold on all major roads in your county, so for a few hundreds you can have ten seedlings to plant in a church compound or school
Did he also ban alcohol selling in the county?
I want to plant in a government restricted land sio place headmaster ataamua kunukisha kitunguu siku moja bidii yangu ipotee bure.
People uproot because coffee no longer pays well, they have children to feed, educate and pay bills. If it pays well no one would uproot.
Am not talking about small scale farmers here, am talking about the large farms that were owned by jungus, now they have been converted to real estates after mismanagement!
Would you rather have Waititu who declares his intention to do something positive or Joho who’s gallivanting all over the world?
Joho ni bure kabisaa
miti zimeishi kupandwa hii kenya lakini hakuna miti humea in the long run. upus tu.
Kwa hivyo tuache?
kama huezi see it through imee iwe full grown tree, WACHANA NAYO!