Avocado Value addition. Why can't we do this ourselves?

Instead of going there as a conqueror you go there and start insulting us. Coward!!! kikikiki. Even white people who came to africa 80/100/200 years ago couldn’t admit that they came from a hell hole. they said they came from heaven and god save the king but chose not to return to the place they couldnt handle anyway, settled here and tried to turn this place white.

What barriers would anyone meet if they even copied the recipe and manufactured the same for the Kenyan market?
And how about our neighbors and other African countries?

It’s not that easy, the tarrifs are high because we continue selling them enough raw products to add value and then later sell back to us. If we can retain enough raw products to add value ourselves, then the European products will eventually be expensive enough to warrant further scrutinization of these tarrifs. We just have to find a way to control these European food monopolies.

Forecast for the avocado market show that demand outstrips supply and the same should hold going into the future. Sijui hii yako ya avocado craze bubble bursting umetoa wapi.

I totally support co-opting that product and marketing it to fellow Africans. Had you said that and stopped there then I would have not said anything. But when you added the quote below and then @mkiawakati96 took it as an excuse to attack Africans without having the necessary understanding of what goes on in the International trade made me bothered. This self hate is too strong among Kenyans.

Same forecast for coffee in the 70s eeh. Endelea kungoja forecast. When the Chinese start selling avocado margarine using our own avocado exports ndio utajua.

And we don’t even have to sell to Europe. Pakistan is our largest tea importer, we can start there. It’s baffling because they have India just next door. Most of these big importers do it because they want to blend our high quality tea. We can market our ublended tea and price it more expensively because most of the tea consumers have no idea how good unblended tea or even coffee is. We just lack the political will.

That would be ideal but first we must have a critical mass of nationalists all over this badly divided and fragmented Africa. Because the moment we try to add value to coffee the mzungu will simply switch to Uganda coffee or Brazil coffee. It will be like playing whack-a-mole trying to corner mzungu. Mzungu has made sure he has global connections to make sure the best resources always end up in his corner for free or almost free.

besides, we have actual avocados here, which we spread in our bread, why would anyone think they can make money out of downgrading into that stuff??? Wont work here!

The healthy-living srekwins will be on it in a flash. Blue band will be trashed as evil and ‘soo-2016’. They will prefer “avocado-in-a-can”. You give that Mukami weight loss diet chic to promote it

When you make this product you increase its shelf life by weeks or even months and at the same time create jobs. Don’t be too sure it won’t work. People in Kenya buy bottled water when Kenya is full of rivers and streams

kama ni job creation, then it had better be a good product, lakini over the years there have been other competing brands of margarine to blueband, but they have all gone under or are being supported by other products that the company produces, which means a business based on that idea alone will most likely fail on hitting the road!

Why should I go for processed avocados, while I have a chance to go to the farm and pick some fresh ones ?
Can one sell canned fish in Kisumu ? The Germans have done that out of necessity, which to me dosen’t apply to us as farmers.
@Ice_Cube, amesema hizo avocados are from Chile, so is this same product being sold in chile ?
On tea and coffee that is sold in UK under mzungu brand. We know who owns those large plantations of the same.

That’s not how it works, they already buy coffee from there. The difference is the harvest seasons are different and us not selling to them will disrupt that market significantly enough for them to review. We need an agriculture minister who will say, look from now on, we will sell say 30% of our raw products, we can even start buying from Uganda ourselves and add value ourselves, then market that as unblended coffee. The point is, we need to reduce their raw imports and create a disturbance in their market. Brazil are doing it, why can’t we do it?

But I just shared an article that shows why it is impossible to export processed coffee to Europe. 100 to 120% import tariffs would mean nobody in Europe will afford to buy that coffee and that’s why nobody is doing it.

Hehehe. Hapa apana. Srekwin ataspread mkate na avocado yenyewe.

A better way to market avocado oil would be to sell it as a cooking oil with health benefits.

Munene, uko huko na hujui they protect their farmers by tariffs and subsidies.
Ya subsidies kila MTU anajua, but Kwa tariff kuna kitu inaitwa tariff escalation that is little talked about.
An example on avocado, the tax figures are just used to show you how escalation works, they are not accurate,
Importing raw avocado to the E.U attracts maybe a tariff of 40%
Importing frozen avocado flesh with the cover and seed removed attracts 60% import duty
Importing avocado oil extracted from the flesh attracts 80%

Hivyo hivyoo, the more you process, the more you are hit by tariffs, so hii margarine labda itakuwa above 100%. This protects their agro processors

We process and consume it ourselves

I found this extremely nice soap made with avocado oil from Kenya in a hotel in Europe

[ATTACH=full]206630[/ATTACH]

Nice. That is a billionaire kama alipata tender ya kussupply sabuni kwa hio hotel.