Avic International African Hq Pale Westi

This thread is an update of what @spear put up in May in this thread
https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/avic-international-6-towers-are-progressing-well-in-westlands-nairobi-now-on-4th-floor.46971/#post-978014
End of june, construction is on steroids
Thanks to @thebonz pale skyscrapercity
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=1760885&page=71
[ATTACH=full]109201[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]109202[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]109203[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]109204[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]109205[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]109206[/ATTACH]

ebu ona hizo barabara hapo chini, the same with upperhill where the tallest building in africa is coming up.
mtu hutembea Nairobi anakaa ametoka shamba by the time amefika ofisi,
no wonder guys who can afford would rather get stuck in traffic than walk.

Asante sana for the update. This is the future China inc HQ in Africa. All Chinese corporations will take up their continental HQ here. 45 floors commercial office skyscraper. 38 floors hotel and 4no. 30 floors apartments.

This project will transform the skyline of westlands and Nairobi. Took a while to start from numerous sabotage from the hotel next door and some self seekers but government stepped in and they are truly now moving fast. They are doing 1floor per 2 weeks in all structures.

The amount of steel needed…I just hope it’s not being shipped from Shaina.

For small steel usage then that is procured here. For heavy steel columns, that’s imported from China since its not produced locally. Our only steel mill Devki is too busy trying to keep up with SGR tunnel construction needs at bulbul.
From the picture below you can see how massive the steel columns are.
[ATTACH=full]109237[/ATTACH]

Niliona workers wao juzi wakigoma saa nane wakatoka job. I think it was resolved, whatever issue it was.

if we play our cards right and of course star alignment:D:D we will be a manufacturing hub in a few years

Fingers crossed our Special Economic Zones are a success. The Eldoret SEZ by PPP is due for ground breaking on July 7th.

200bn is a massive investment. Now that we have the SEZ act lets hope things will work smoothly

All steel in kenya is imported, we only have fabricators and guys who recycle it locally

The 200 billion is the full cost for its build in 7-10 years. Right now they are starting with the 700 acres phase 1 construction for unknown cost.

very pathetic city infrastructure we have here. Nimetoka forum ya Nigeria pale SkyscraperCity and the city roads those guys are putting up in Abuja and Lagos is amazing. Clean paved and landscaped streets.

I just wish govt entices firms to set up plants and manufacturing bases in the counties than Nairobi. Right now every new investor coming in is either putting up base in the vicinity of Nairobi or in a very rare case, Mombasa.

how many direct jobs there?

Siwezi jua, lakini kuna site I’m involved in kuna wiki ilikuwa inakaa hivi
[ATTACH=full]109266[/ATTACH]
Thats about 145 guys per day na hii site is maybe a fifth of this in terms of floor area per level.
Na hapa huja hesabu prefessionals; architects, engineers(structural, mechanical, electrical, ICT), Q.S, Interior designers na project managers and most of those roles are on both the contractor and consultants side. Na pia huja hesabu walee wasee wana work with suppliers who supply this project na vitu kama sand, mawe, kokoto e.t.c
But then again we should not do direct scaling up since hii site is very mechanised and automated cranes, concrete batching plant and pumps e.tc.
I think around 600 fundis and mtu wa mkono should be close

When you listen to some critics, the gavament has done nothing in creatin jobs (‘watu hawakuli SGR ama electricity’ brigade). fact is more jobs have been created than at any other time, both directly and indirectly, startin with nearly 100,000 civil servants (cops, nurses, rangers, military, doctors, etc etc).

The problem is, and always has been; WE ARE PUMPING UNSUSTAINABLE NUMBERS INTO THE JOB MARKET. Hata ukiemploy 200,000 out of 1m, the numbers of the unemployed still go up!

The solution is a faster growin economy BUT MORE IMPORTANT, A STOP TO UNSUSTAINABLE POP. GROWTH.

I will preach this until I die.

Guka, I’m glad to note that all your faculties are still working at their prime as usual.

I will take the back-handed compliment, but UOTP!

Where else?