Like the title suggests, I wanna venture into the field of flying, I plan to start with a PPL license first (I got about 1.5M saved for that) and then upgrade to a fully-fledged CPL later. Pilots (or former pilots) in this group, how’s the market looking like right now? Is the current obscene rate of unemployment affected you guys as much as other guys out here? Any relevant advice, about the best/most marketable aviation school, tips or any other relevant things?
1.5 million is not enough for a mechanical engineering degree at the university of nairobi, a public university.
Sani, tulia, ofcourse I know the cost of the entire thing is around 4M, thats why I said I’m starting with a PPL
khalif kairo anaeza kupatia advice based on practical experience, amemaliza exams juzi na ako kwa io route unafuata.
You won’t get any relevant or hepful advice here, I doubt there are any pilots lurking around in this dumpster.
But if you have the funds to get trained and licensed, why not? The world is rapidly running out of aviation professionals, last I checked Middle Eastern airlines were frantically looking for pilots for their new fleet. As a person who as flown quite a bit i can tell u for free even if you never make it to the big airlines, it still is a very good skill to have ( just like surgery) at a time when AI is taking over almost all desk jobs. Companies are laying off their staff at a ridiculous rate, esp those in mainstream industries. There is a whole world of opportunities that come with being a licensed pilot, you can be a bush pilot in Okavango delta, Western Uganda or Masai Mara for instance.
Go get licensed and explore the world, and you wont know if u dont try it first.
Aviation is an interesting field. Niliona wakisema you chose your aircraft very early in your training, kama unataka kufanya regional jets, ama wonna venture into those jumbos, you decide and commit, it’s all about forecasting the future. Ethiopia imekua bingwa ya training aviators lately, surprisingly people from Asia, Europe are coming all the way to Eastern Africa for the school.
Meanwhile @Yugni anafanya ukihii tu pale bondo.
I hear u man, but I saw no airline will touch u without atleast 1500hours under your belt. thats quite a lot for a novice aviator fresh out of flying school. And actually this explains why there is a shortage of pilots.
Hizi huwezi pata River Road? Or something like that.
Asking for @cortedivoire and Lanyepreneurs here
Naskianaga Asians who can’t afford western schools Wanaenda SA for cheaper but quality pilot education
Kuna jamaa who was lucky enough to land a gig in a private charter company with just a PPL. Ofcourse he was paid under the table but he was able to log over 1000 hours with a Cessna 208 Caravan. Kitu alilipia tu ni Instrument Rating and now works with Qatar Air, but ofc thats way back in the early 2000s when even form 4 leavers were getting managerial jobs.
how is that possible?
Take a trip to Wilson airport and plan to spend afew hours hoping thru the several schools there, utatoka na knowledge mzuri
Always wanted to become one until the day I read somewhere that Kq only considered pilots trained in south africa…niliboeka sana. Hii ilikuwa in 2013…fanya vile @Mimi_Huwa_Namwaga_Nd amesema
Hapo walikuuzia woga mdosi, and KQ is not the only airline in the world. Qatar, Emirates, Etihad and other obscure airlines in the middle east are always looking for pilots if u are aggressive enough and love to fly.
Nataka kupiga PPL just for fun nikuwe na enjoy cross country trips every once in a while. Retirement plan pale Nyandarua with my Piper Cherokee maisha itakuwa tamu Kama sunguch.
Alafu si unajua flight dates is how I steal your pre-wall soft meat ngaofriends. And you know what I do next.