Austerity 101

Movies? kaa uko na unlimited WIFI just search “thepiratebay” kwa google and you will never buy a movie again. I use WIFI at work to download movies, series, books etc etc …on weekends I buy orange 50 bob daily unlimited (cost 100 if I am indoors all weekend) and it’s sufficient for light use on computer. I normally use it on my laptop via a modem but I can set up my Windows 8 laptop to function as a wireless hotspot so that I can sambaza to phone for whatsapp and facebook. I didn’t account for everything in my earlier post but utashangaa my budget is really low…doesn’t even get to 10k a month excluding rent.

I never buy movies/series as well…that was just an example of a pocket friendly ‘hobby’…check my thread.

I get your point…I am saving for a car with a budget of 600k to 700k in mind. I will review my budget once I achieve this goal and just like you say I will spend my money on things I value/ believe in.

Absolutely. The best thing I ever did was to marry an investment conscious financially stable lady. 10 or so years down the line, we have a decent mansion on an eighth acre plot, a nice car and several buroti. A woman brings discipline into man’s spending coz she pushes you to buy that plot, build the house , buy the car. And when you have kids there is a common purpose to give them the best in life. …If i were a bachelor on the other hand I would obviously lose money through several mwk’s, excessive drinking, mama kufua, and siblings.
Vijana muoe and you will see the difference in your lives.

Mlitoana wapi?

hehe…we met through a former workmate. His wife and her were friends, and one day they visited our office…the rest as they say is history;)

kwani ktalk kila mtu anapokea laki na zaidi kila mwisho wa mwezi? Yaonekana mimi pekee ndio niko chini, maanake napokea 31,562 kila mwezi

Usivunje moyo braza…hio ni gross salary ama net? Kama ni net hata mimi napokea about 35K kila mwezi hata kama kunazo zaenda chama, sacco and loan repayment. Not so long ago, I paid for my education while earning 23,410 ksh every month and living in a 8k house… almost every asset I own right now, I bought it back then. Though life was tough going to class, work and tying to make ends meet. Immediately after getting a new job, I made zero savings, bought minimal assets, and wasted loads of cash (by my standards) for a couple of years before I decided enough is enough…

waceke of centonomy classes once said that (in a seminar I attended) spending 200/= bob for lunch is equivalent to Kshs. 10,000,000 in a period of ten years. I felt like crying imagining that I spend roughly 250/= on lunch daily. am seriously considering kubeba food to work nikioa. wifey will be doing the packing.

I always urge guys to think for themselves.

I also say this, were it not for our stomachs, we would all be millionaires. Hata bado ukibeba, you will spend an equivalent of 8 million over ten years

Bunch of bull. 200*7=1400 per week, 5800 per month, 69600 per year, 696000 for 10 years. count the cost of inflation, you’re better off buying lunch than carrying

Juu tu waceke wa centonomy amesema. thats very silly of some people, and as such you deserve to be poor.

i agree a good woman is all you need. if not, join a monastery. na sijataja mtu. for me i remember after school nilikosana na my then girlfriend juu ya mashida za pesa. entirely my fault. was always stressed cz ya rent etc etc cz i used to do freelancing which you invoice and then it takes forever kulipwa. katika hizo freelancing nikapata a salaried job at least better. while i was signing the contract najiambia vile i will do big things na salo and invest wisely. hehee. sijui what happened. kazi ilikua mojos-tribeka-mojos-tribeka na nax once in a while. maujinga tu. bottomline- mwisho wa mwezi nothing in savings. i did that for 5 months and said enough is enough. nikameza pride and got back na manzi cz for real ni wife material. currently na save minimum 20k a month na bado hatujinyimi saana. so talkers know what they are talking abt

Now that it has come down to figures, you two really miss the point… @The.Black.Templar, 8M is an overstated guesstimate, I know you’ll will ask how did @De Clerk/Centonomy arrive at 10M in the first place but the point is carrying healthy food will basically cut down your lunch cost by more than a half. In addition, the point is to save your money by reducing costs…no one is looking to starve themselves just to save cash…

Here’s an example I had vegetable rice and a banana for lunch today, same meal I had yesterday for supper. Combined cost is approximately 70Ksh considering this food was what i had for supper so you can split the cost in two! (sukuma za 20bob, nyanya, kitunguu,-arnd 10bob, banana- 10 bob, rice (bought in bulk) and oil (bought in bulk) and gas (also in bulk)), The cheapest I can get at our restaurant is 150bob. If I add a fruit, I doubt they have bananas, that rises to 170bob. I also saved on transport etc etc and by the end of the month, its a sizeable amount. It’s not small amount of cash if it allows me to buy next months tokens for electricity etc etc.

@troller … Now that you have factored in inflation, why don’t you also factor in the opportunity cost? how about if he buys buloti for 100k after an year huko Ocha with his savings? how much do you guess it would cost in 10 years? how about he buys such a plot every two years??? I know the figures may not be accurate, and cost of plots will rise etc etc…the point is… if you save on electricity, transport, entertainment, and everything else you spend on especially beer, you may have significant savings in those ten years that can change our life.

@Mkufuu you are on the right track. these small things add up and before you know it you will be driving loan free, having a plot loan free etc etc. financial freedom is underrated in Nairobi especially with those trying to keep up with the joneses

What is the ultimate goal in all this kujinyima? #just asking

Kujinyima??? how about u call it Kujipea? Kujipea Nyumba, Gari, Shamba, Ku-ivest na kuwa debt free. Like I said earlier I am mathematically ten months away from buying a car… (60% savings, 40% loan, - target price 600-700 Ksh). Btw the 40% loan will be from a SACCO with which I am currently building a reserve that will allow to take a loan at a lower interest than banks and still remain with savings! If I followed the heard and lived a mainstream life I wouldn’t be able to buy a car not even close… Up next will be building a house on the buloti I bought… But that’s after servicing the loan I have in about four years. If I don’t save what happens, you may ask?.. that would mean I would be debt ridden, with no sound investment and living hand to mouth, na hiyo ndio inaitwa kujinyima.

Wait, Mlengo, gari zake zinakuwanga kila ruote? ama aliziambia zibebange Kinoo pekee?

oye swebangu hiyo ni net. Ingawaje kizungu kwangu kisunzi nashkuru kwa kile kidogo nimeelewa kwa hayo mawaidha yako.