Attempted carjacking or what?

Its been close to week now and I have almost recovered from an experience which I cannot fully understand.
It was last Sunday night along Ngong road where I was having a few drinks since I was on a few days leave from work.

At around 1.30 or 2am, I decided to call it a night and head home. Around the China center on my way to town, I heard my tyre bust loudly and thought it was a puncture (normally tyre punctures aren’t loud but at that point didn’t think of that). Luckily I wasn’t speeding and drove the “flat tyre” car to a nearby office block directly opposite National Oil petrol station that had some lights on in its parking lot. I came out to check on the tyre and got shocked that it was not a normal puncture but cuts on both of the right side tyres (front and rear). This was on the sidewalls of the tyres and looked like someone had used a knife to stab them. Initially I thought maybe I hit a pavement but that would not have been the case since the tyres were very clean with no scratches and no other part of the car was touched. More so I was not speeding otherwise it would have been a disaster. I therefore concluded it was something that I stepped on having by having the two tyres from one side having a uniform type of damage.

There was a watchman at the door to the building and told him what had happened. He told me to park the car properly as I looked for help. In a minute or so, I saw a Toyota Premio (KCP if I remember correctly) drive in and had three guys. They wanted to help me tow the car to the nearest National Oil petrol station after changing one damaged tyre. In a flash one of the guys asked me for my mobile phone to flash the light and facilitate the job. The way he looked at me I realized these were bad guys. I couldn’t say I don’t have one since it was in my jeans pocket and part of it was visible since it was white in colour. I didn’t know if they were armed and why risk as you may never live to tell the story. The moment I handed over the phone, the guys rushed off to the car and sped off like they had stolen from a bank and at that time the watchman quickly went into the building and I am thinking he sensed danger.

-What I have been wondering the whole week is why would guys in a new Toyota Premio worth more than a million shillings come off the road to steal a mobile phone probably worth less than 10k considering I had the phone for slightly over 2 years?
-Is it a coincidence that in less than just two minutes after I had the tyre busts the guys were there to assist? and how did they know about the tyre busts if they were on the road minding their own business especially at night since I was at a car park?
-Were these guys looking for something else assuming I stopped on the side of the road?

When I went to my mechanic yesterday he told me he has been visited by customers with similar situations who decided to drive off on damaged car rims only.

Nairobi is now becoming scary to drive at night especially past midnight when the roads are deserted.

Ombando was connected to a crime scene through his phone. I am just saying…

Assuming you’re right and it was an attempted carjacking. If they slice the tyres, doesn’t that make the getaway even harder? Ama I’m missing something?

Thank your lucky stars… that’s no coincidence, probably you weren’t as high as they expected ama waliona tu we ni sufferer wa kawaida

Report the incident A.S.A.P otherwise you might end up in some deep shit…

Pole sana, probably some mistaken identity… maybe they were targeting a much bigger prey

Kama hujareport ole wako.
Simu yaeza pandwa kwa crime scene na kujitoa itakuwa ngori.

Pole

Like I said in the beginning its an experience which I cannot fully understand. Maybe it was not a carjacking. But why come in a car just to steal a cheap mobile phone? Then having both tyres of the same side raptured or is it spiked in the same manner is probably by design. The question is what was the motive coz they didn’t even ask for money just the phone. Plus the manner in which they got away was like it was a heist they had gotten away with.

Report it hata kama umechelewa.

Were you intoxicated in any way and were you under any medication. Have you recently been tested for malaria?? If you went to the scene, would the watchman collaborate what you said or does the watchmen not exist. How did a watchman slide into a closed building? More importantly, do you own a car.

Are you sure there is a car parked outside your home right now. How did you get the car home if you had no phone and the watchman ran away. Did you stand guard over the car all night? In the past, have your friends accused you of making false claims of robbery, even though such incidences were clear as day in your mind??

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ml_yaM-hO0E

Mickey Mouse…sasa no gani hizo?

My take is , if you were driving fast there was a high chance of your vehicle loosing control Ujipate kwa bush and then these “good Samaritans would have stopped kando and appear to any passing car as if they were helping you and not robbing you blind.
They did not anticipate you would drive to the next secure place probably and at this juncture they needed to atleast steal something or prevent you from alerting the police.

On the other hand, You should be paranoid if you double crossed someone on a deal or if you are a potential witness somewhere.

OK bro. Pole sana for the ordeal. Ensure you report the whole incident as advised.

Who says that the Premio was not stolen?

Intoxicated maybe if you are talking about a few beers and I said that in my story plus am not a first time drinker so am not crazy. I have been on leave for the last one week and hardly leave the house (maybe its paranoia). Yes my cars (I have two but normal ones- a Toyota and a Peugeot…you made do some cheap floss just to make a point). The fact that I am regular reader on Klist but was not even open to sharing this on an anonymous identity platform is because of the scary yet mysterious experience.So am serious it happened to me last weekend and its not fair to bring some fictitious theories coz it could happen to anyone. All I can say is that your hypothesis is null.

The slicing of tyre is to immobilise you and make you an easy target. Towing (read stealing)your car is what they wanted but since u drove to a “secure” place before u stopped they chickened out…phone was a “we can’t leave empty handed” move.The car they were using could have been stolen or hired using fake id. You need to report the incident to a police station vile umeambiwa hapo juu and replace your simcard.

You are probably right. The guys most probably jacked someone their car and used my phone to get off track from any trail (IMEI and phone serial number ID) once they finished their business. I should report this incident first thing tomorrow. Its starting to get scary now

Yaani hukureport na simu walienda nayo? Hao ni wezi. Premio ni ya kuibiwa na hiyo si plate yake. Ama guns for hire that didnt get you at the right place but took your phone to go give their client and check who you have been talking to. chungusa pipi pwana.

Pole bro,
I have had an incident with attempted carjacking, it was a Friday like today sometime last yr,I left the office at around six,earlier than normal coz I had plans to go upcountry and be back by Saturday evening so it made sense to travel to Nyeri on Friday night.
The journey was uneventful , By 8 pm I was past Karatina,I talked with my folks and told them to expect me within the hour. Now,there is a famous spot/forest called Tagwa where if you are Obado’d your body will probably be dumped there. This spot is also famous for muggings and car jackings as it marks the end of tarmac and start of murram road,naturally you will slow down making you vulnerable. My path home passed right through this spot.

So I proceeded on my merry way music full blast. Just past Sagana statehouse, I passed a metallic grey Toyota Wish packed at Thegu fisheries, didn’t pay any heed to it. A few minutes later it came up and overtook me fast. I cursed to myself mistaking the driver for a speeding drunk driver. A fork in the road was coming up,on my right is my way home on a corrugation road while to my left is tarmac road taking you back to Chaka and onwards to Nyeri/Nanyuki. The Wish ahead slowed down up ahead and turned right on the murram road.
I cut my speed to a more manageable 40km you never do more than 40 on a rough road, life lessons learnt the hardway ,and took the right turn. The Toyota wish is about 100m ahead. I intend to keep it that way because the driver might be drunk and the road was dusty,dry season . About 250m into the murram road,the Wish’s brake lights go on and the driver starts to turn the car , soon he is cutting across the road. I slow down to 30,25,20 km, we are down to less than 70m between us. I’m conflicted, initial perception says drunk driver,base instincts scream otherwise. I crawl to a stop,40 m or thereabout between us.The wish is now across the road blocking my way ahead. Am tense ,both hands gripping the steering wheel,its a staredown.
The following events take place in the next five seconds,that I can swear on a bible. Options run through my mind.
Option one;if there is any attempt to open any door floor it and ram them. Downside; I might just total my car,wouldn’t want that.
Option two;reverse, hit the highway,race them back to state lodge about 2 km away. Downside; coming in hot at a highly secure and those red berets airheads might just open fire on you.
Option 3; reverse, turn left and make a dash for more populated roads at Chaka and beyond, about 10 km away,hopefully they will scare off ,if not, I will take my chance with kiganjo police. Downside; a few sharp corners ahead. Ferk it! option 3 it is.
I engage reverse gear and floor it,back 250 metres to tarmac. The wish driver attempts to complete the turn but the road is narrow and he slips down the edge. That buys me a few precious extra seconds. By the time he is back on the road,am halfway back to the tarmac road,only about 100m away, but he is back on the road and gaining on me.
You really can’t speed in reverse without courting disaster,but I intend to attempt a handbrake half turn,I can’t show my hand early as to which route to take so I step on it. Tarmac comes up fast,I steer slightly to the left,handbrake up, nose faces right,handbrake down,accelerator down,the SoBs didn’t know shit,I was speeding towards Chaka . Who knew you could learn something from NFS.
They tried to catch up but once past Thegu river the road is fairly straight, I must have clocked 200km there. I didn’t see them again. I proceeded to take a longer route home and never told a soul about it till today.