Some thugish looking highschool students came into my shop yesterday,
fundi mambo?
unanua simu?
me: inategemea unauza ngapi?
i take a closer look and notice that its an itel a16(kama ulipoteza yako kuja nikuonyeshe kwenye iko). “Hio hai wezekani”, I inform them.
Na laptop tukona laptop
me: Enda leta nione?
5 hours later they come with a decently ‘speced’ laptop i take a look and power it on and its immediately obvious that it is stolen as the struggle to unlock the windows account Windows fought the password like it was guarding the nuclear codes — even the keyboard was sweating, i put in a usb disk running ventoy and having various linux distros and power on linux mint, machine ikaamka naangalia specs core i5 7thgen 4gb ram 256GB internal m.2 ssd,screen ni touch screen and its a tablet sized and small can be used almost everywhere(perfect for people who can’t decide between being productive and watching YouTube.)
me: unataka ngapi.
young johnte: elfu kumi.
me: niachie namba yako nikipata mtu nitakuambia.
Now i do not buy stolen items if I have any kind of suspicion, but kwa street pia johnte anasumbuka lappy na simu hazisongi.Poor guy looked like he just failed startup school,The whole encounter felt like a tech support call from the streets. I left him with my number and a free life lesson: “If it boots better than you, it’s probably not yours.”
Kuna sheria bro, huezi shikwa just because you touched stolen items, legally i have not taken possession of the item ama ata wewe ungeshikwa whenever you touch stolen items i.e money, friends phone, matatu and 1000 of other things that have been stolen we have no idea of. I am very well versed in this section of the business, nikona cctv, every customer leaves their id no, phone no and full name. I buy old phones and laptops for almost 5 years now am 100% sure i have bought stolen items but whenever any such an issue has ever arisen i provide cctv and details of the person who sold it to me. As long as you have no idea an item was stolen and can provide the details of the person who sold it to you uko sawa kisheria. Never buy when you get the smallest hint an item is stolen, also try to prove ownership i.e ask the user to input password, show receipt,show 6 months worth of messages e.t.c
Am sure many mechanics repair stolen cars tool, without knowing.