At least kenyan media this time went through its files

after @FieldMarshal CouchP created a thread questioning the habit of Kenyan media not being concerned with major stories once another pop up, i have seen this story about that police who preached justice by giving lead of course . This should be the way forward not just once done its done.

A year ago, Titus Ngamau - a policeman from Githurai, captured the nation’s attention after residents held week-long protests following his arrest and detention on allegations of extra-judicial killing.

Wednesday Life caught up with this “super cop” in Industrial Area’s Remand Prison for an exclusive interview where he narrated the events that led to his incarceration.

“The case that led to my being put behind bars came about after I intervened in a robbery with violence incidence at Githurai 145 bus terminus last year,” the visibly defiant Ngamau, popularly known as Katitu, begins.

“A suspect snatched a phone from a passenger and I ordered him to stop but he defied and continued running even after I fired two warning shots in the air”. He says that as a cop, his training tells him that if a robber defies orders, his options are limited to one. Take aim and open fire - that is what he did.

That proved to be the turning point in Ngamau’s life after the suspect’s relatives filed a complaint with Independent Police Oversight Authority (IPOA), accusing the cop of extrajudicial killing.
Ngamau, however, insists evidence of his innocence was demonstrated by the thousands of protesters who took to the streets of Githurai to demand his release.

Most of the time, he says, citizens demonstrate demanding the transfer of an officer not the other way round. Prominent politicians like Ruiru MP Esther Gathogo and Nairobi Senator Mike Sonko also tried to intervene and have him released to no avail.

“Do you think all those thousands of people who demonstrated for a week were fools? They knew I was a dedicated cop who went beyond the call of duty to eliminate crime in Githurai,” he claims. “I never dragged the suspect from his house. He is the one who brought himself to the scene of robbery where he snatched somebody’s phone”. The signal he sent to Kasarani Police Station about the robbery and the victims’ occurrence book (OB) report, he explains, were availed to the IPOA investigators.

“I learnt about the allegations in media reports which claimed that I was on the run. Truth is, nobody from IPOA or any other body had contacted me at the time and it was I who voluntarily went to CID Headquarters so they could tell me what wrongs I had committed,” he says.
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/lifestyle/article/2000180940/meet-katitu-githurai-super-cop-now-behind-bars?pageNo=1

The law is an ass. We dont like robbers and they could as well be shot.
But you dont shoot a running phone snatcher. It might backfire on you. With this behavior he could have shot anyone including bystanders or people running after the thief.

the media does not follow up on these stories…lakini kawaida maskini au mnyonge rots in prison because he cannot raise the money needed…waliona pesa wanalipa kupata uhuru

The nigger is dumb. he is admitting to committing murder. He didn’t know his work properly and he thought its just shooting.

What further complicated his situation is that Ngamau had, a few months earlier, had a run-in with the deceased’s brother in a robbery with violence incidence a few meters from Githurai stage.

He shot a suspect in armed robbery case ama ulitaka anegotiate na mwizi wa simu?

wacha upussy

The law does not say you shoot suspects when you find them running. he was a phone snatcher running away. Was he armed??? Or I’m I missing something from the story.

@The_Virus and Mr Mwaura Samora, i hate doing this but the correct word to use is incident, not incidence…

gani. Hakuna sheria ya kupiga watu risasi kwa mgongo kama wanakimbia. Unless the person was armed and was a danger to the public or the officer. that is why the prosecution and the court has a reason to keep him inside. Or you think wanamuweka ndani juu wanamchukia?

am I missing something?

but tulimpatia Katitu bunduki ya kufanya weightlifting?

That’s murder neither his nor the public lives were in danger.

Githu is back to its criminal madness. Hata shopping bag is snatched not forgetting car robbery almost every weekend for mamas having their shopping. Katiku’s time was the best

sadness of life, and self righteousness…

Truth be said!Gatitu had done a wonderful Job by bringing armed robberies within Githurai down.Thugs feared him and most of them had either relocated or changed their lifestyle.What else could a law abiding citizen crave for?At the moment, the criminals have crawled back from their woodworks and they are having a field day thanks to the incarceration of Gatitu.

he he I noticed but some comments here irked me; watu wanareason na matako

he would have a backing if the boy had a knife or something. hata mawe hakuna?? The guy doesnt know law at all. kwa hivo akinipata nikitembea estate usiku anisimamishe nikimbie juu nafikiria ni wezi atanipiga risasi?
The police dont know anything. Ata mwizi wakishika wanapeleka kortini anaachiliwa. prosecution is poor. So the solution is to shoot everyone??? Why dont we then parade people at NYS, akina mwiraria and co., watu wa mashamba nad shoot them? Ata nyinyi mnamtetea mnafikiria na jicho ya matako kama mnaijua. maybe he even shot the wrong person because he was too irrational.

Are you aware cops are so corrupt nowadays they pick protection money from common criminals? Gatitu must have been an isolated case or had a personal vendetta with the criminals.

conclusion: kauzi detected…

FAIL! The word missing here is “incapacitate”.

In the case that an offender is unarmed and a law-enforcer issues an order to stop which is then defied by the offender, the law-enforcer is supposed to incapacitate the offender by either using a taser or firing a gunshot at an extremity (leg or arm) or somehow ensuring the shot does not result in a fatality.

If the offender is armed, the law-enforcer has the liberty of examining the situation and deciding whether the offender is a danger to either the public or the law-enforcer himself to enable him to decide whether to fatally shoot or just wound the offender.

TL;DR

1. This policeman made a stupid mistake by shooting a nigga who was running away with a phone. He coulda just shot him in the leg to stop him.
  2. If I just snatched a phone and a trigger-happy policeman fired 2 shots in the air, I woulda kept running too. My brain tells me I should be trynna get as far away from him as possible before he aims for my chest and rains bullets on me.