At Least 26 Anti-Government Protesters Have Been Killed in the Latest Congo Clash

[U]Tim Cocks and Aaron Ross / Reuters[/U]

https://timedotcom.files.wordpress.com/2016/12/ap_16355671013978.jpg?quality=85&w=1680
John Bompengo—AP Policemen drive past burning debris during protests in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo, Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2016.
[SIZE=5]Demonstrators are seeking the ouster of the president, who has remained in power beyond his constitutional mandate[/SIZE]

(KINSHASA) — Security forces shot dead at least 26 protesters who had gathered in the streets of Kinshasa and other cities of Democratic Republic of Congo on Tuesday to demand that President Joseph Kabila step down after his mandate expired overnight.

Scattered protests started on Tuesday, and opposition leader Etienne Tshisekedi called on the Congolese people to peacefully resist Kabila, who has remained in power beyond his constitutional mandate with no election to pick a successor.

Human Rights Watch researcher Ida Sawyer said on Twitter that at least 26 people were killed by security forces.

The government spokesman could not be reached for comment and a police spokesman had no information on deaths.

Gunfire crackled in several districts of the capital, Kinshasa, a city of 12 million, as measures to thwart dissent raised fears of bloody repression.

With a ban on demonstrations in force and a heavy military presence, Kinshasa’s normally busy main boulevards were mostly deserted as pockets of youths gathered in sidestreets only to be dispersed by volleys of teargas.

By sunset, the city was calm, although littered with debris from earlier rioting. Youths played football in the streets.

Scores of people were arrested, especially in the eastern city of Goma, rights groups said. Reuters witnesses saw more than a dozen young men who had been arrested seated in the back of a military truck near the university.

“I’m gravely concerned by the arrests of those who seek to express their political views,” the head of the U.N. mission, Maman Sidikou, said in a statement, adding that U.N. staff had not been able to consistently gain access to jails to gather information on how many people had been arrested.

He called on Congo to end “politically motivated detentions”.

U.N. peacekeepers in armoured personnel carriers patrolled the streets, at one point cheered on by a crowd shouting: “Kabila, know that your mandate is finished!”

In Lubumbashi, in the heart of Africa’s richest copper-mining area, police and Kabila’s elite Republican Guard fired live bullets to prevent demonstrations, said Gregoire Mulamba, a local human rights activist.

Local activist Jean-Pierre Muteba reported at least one death, a 14-year-old boy shot by police. A police spokesman said he did not have enough information to comment.

The mayor of Lubumbashi, Jean Oscar Sanguza, told Reuters that security forces had intervened to stop looters.

In the city of Kananga, in central Congo, fighting between security forces and a local clan militia shut down the airport.

Kabila, who has ruled since his father, Laurent Kabila, was assassinated in 2001, rarely speaks about the issue in public, but his allies say the election was delayed because of logistical and financial problems. The constitutional court has ruled Kabila can stay on until the vote takes place.

Fears of Escalation

In a video posted on YouTube, opposition leader Tshisekedi called on people to “not recognise the … illegal … authority of Joseph Kabila and to peacefully resist (his) coup d’etat.”

Authorities have blocked most social media.

Western powers are nervous about a repeat of the conflicts between 1996 to 2003 that killed millions, drew in half a dozen neighbouring armies and saw rebel fighters rape women en masse. Congo has never experienced a peaceful transition of power.

The United States and European Union have called for Kabila to respect the constitution. Congo‘s former colonial master, Belgium, said on Tuesday it would “re-examine” relations with Kabila, and France urged the European Union re-examine its links with Congo.

Source: http://time.com/4608786/drc-congo-protest-joseph-kabila/

Swali tu: [SIZE=6]WHERE IS THE AU?[/SIZE]

Kabila is holding on to something he cannot control. Another Burundi scenario in the making.

Let’s hope it does not get any worse than it already is.

It might get worse considering Eastern DRC is still unstable.

tshisekedi has the UN support

Africans tulikosea nani aki?Atusamehe.

Katumbi is my bet. Tshisekedi is a little washed out.

Utasikia the US is behind all this

DRC is more democratic than Kenya, and less corrupt. Dim eyes wahamie huko…

The west playing a divisive politics here… France should let Congo be on its own instruments. Furthermore they have exploited the congolese minerals for a very long time.

I hate naivety. Sasa ona huyu. You think AU is omnipresent like God? This s*** went down yesterday but wewe na ujinga yako unataka AU forces wateleport to DRC? UN mission in DRC the largest UN mission anywhere in the world, why don’t you start with them?Nkt!!

Wewe ndio kumbavu wa mwisho. This instability has been in DRC for over a year now. This is just the latest in a battery of incidents. Punguza ujinga akilini. Since last year watu wamekuwa wanakufa Kinshasa jaribu usome gazeti ama uone nyius.

Ujinga ni wewe kutojua kua UN has the biggest mission in the world there. Mind you, as a country and a continent, who contribute to the UN fund, we expect their peacekeepers to do something. Are they waiting for a Rwanda like they did in '94? Vile UN wamefura kichwa and don’t take orders from AU halafu wewe ndio unataka waingie na confusion hivo? If it was somewhere else where there are no peacekeepers, then yes, AU should have been there. Hii yako ni kupayuka bila kujua nini inaendelea less than a thousand miles west of you nitakupea kiti sahii

Afadhali unyamaze tu.

Even The threads here are suggested that UN troops there are taking sides. You should have taken cue. One other thing…you’re just a Keyboard analyst trying to argue with someone who has been on the ground. Speaking of AU, you want them to head to another mission even when the current one in Somalia is cash strapped and depending on EU donations?? Come closer to the border ndugu,vitu zingine wachia experts

The AU is sleeping as usual. They’re waiting to see if it works and whether they can replicate the same back at home.

Enyewe you are irredeemably stupid. AU (the union not it’s joint forces) should be the first one to condemn Kabila and ask him to respect the country’s constitution and let people vote for whoever they want.
It’s an African problem and AU should react first.
Exactly how much money do you contribute to UN?

bottom line Congo is just too big to be ruled that country needs to be divided into three or four countries which brings us to the question that we need to redraw the map of africa

You saw how the Burundi

You saw how the burundian president dismissed AU’s demand like it never even existed. You expect kabila to respect its view now? What is needed in DRC is boots on the ground to get activated sio kulala na kula allowances za bure. You talk as if AU hold such a huge punch