Assorted pictures of the new Ethiopian SGR Railway and trains

From the Skyscrapercity forum.
Very intimidating and inspiring! Congratulations, good Neighbors!
Cc. @Tia Dalma

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/images/mobile/buttons/collapse_alt.gifPost Thanks / Like
Likes (Received): 3022
http://i.imgur.com/RoA09F6.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/dG1MHa7.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/I9Cnhoi.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/p709SV5.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/DRj7Qxc.jpg

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/images/mobile/buttons/collapse_alt.gifPost Thanks / Like
Likes (Received): 3813
https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13726571_10153759917596814_2685648564048451761_n.jpg?oh=4f6851cd40e491865e3c24a53e152330&oe=58226EE5
https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13718762_10153759917306814_8490045978969623532_n.jpg?oh=f344125a26d0b433f01cb391de482379&oe=582474C2
https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13781909_10153759917391814_6419433239372630810_n.jpg?oh=d27c1d777a3095584d0ef5193dd1f9fe&oe=57ED6280
https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13707721_10153759917446814_1810226559524232446_n.jpg?oh=3a86240e073d0ba885ec956c9658d63e&oe=58213E47
https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13728998_10153759917516814_2846315285732035737_n.jpg?oh=05b816510601c1715669371aeefbda56&oe=5825AC38

Test Run between Sebeta and Adama
source

http://i.imgur.com/YPCEOPy.jpg
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/images/smilies/previous.gif the test train set consists of 15 passenger carriages

http://i.imgur.com/9CU0Rqn.jpg
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/images/smilies/previous.gif driver’s cabin

http://i.imgur.com/2tDYQpJ.jpg

Sweet

Will Kenya use the same kind of trains?

Well done, 2 class electric train. Halfway it’s dual track then the other half is single truck to Djibouti port. In Jan 2017 we will be testing our own double stalked SGR. I hope by 2017 the plans for Lappset SGR through Private Public Partnership will be complete. I can’t wait to link Nairobi-Isiolo-Moyale-Addis Ababa SGR and set an example for the rest of Africa.

Good stuff…Yao Ni highway Na yetu Ni one-way

Yes, actually similar trains only that ours diesel and there own is electric.

Part double line part single line.

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=845760&page=53

Likes (Received): 3022
http://i.imgur.com/hLyh8ml.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/eviPYGH.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/QUryG9y.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/TykAq0x.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/IL59f1J.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/CZ3l7nJ.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/Kr2pKbS.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/Wrg0Ukt.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/FiOyGTU.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/C0vfLy2.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/FxaxTuv.jpg

diesel and electric are similar :eek:

Ours is 1 class SGR using diesel truck engines but more importantly it’s double stacked so it can carry more cargo. Because of various passing stations several trains can be on the truck heading to and from without any problems. They will just bypass each other at the passing stations which has several trucks for a few kilometers.

Truly awesome! The thrill of experiencing a brand new project! Like a maisonette that you just completed building and came out all excellent. Or when you drove on the fabled Thika Super Highway for the first time!

Yes. Same train design one is configured to use diesel engine and the other electric engine. Think:confused::oops:

Indeed my question.
@spear I read no similarity…

True!

Just accept we got a raw deal… I’d rather have the Electric Ethiopian one anyday . They were not fools to build two lines

There is a man who sees it my way. Fuck SGR Kenya, I am no longer waiting for it.
Fuck fuck fuck…from here to>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>stone age!

1 . it’s electric
2.all electric infrastructure in place
3. Double tracks
4. Much cheaper than ours despite being longer
Sasa ukituambia double stacking hapa, what advantage does it have over theirs? If they need more cargo to be transported they’ll just add more trains! Hii ni kiswahili ya jela

I can’t accept something that isn’t true, besides all the provisions for making our SGR electric are there, the power lines, ducts have been there next to the fibre optics. It will take just months to fit it in when we get enough power for it. Ethiopia has excess cheap power and they are not in a hurry to link their rural areas to power due to their opposition to the government, thats why they have no problem using 250MW for this train.

I REPEAT FUCK SGR KENYA na wizi yote ilifanya tununue train mwitu FUCK!

Seriously I hate kenya right now!