Asians request for recognition as Kenya's 44th tribe

Kenyan Asians have asked the government to recognise them as the country’s 44th ethnic community.

The group said President Uhuru Kenyatta should do what he did to the Makonde in Kwale after they were recognised as the country’s 43rd community when they complained of decades of marginalisation.

The Makonde marched from Kwale County to Nairobi late last year to air their grievances.

They were supported by several civil society groups.

Mother’s Lap Foundation executive director Farah Mannzoor on Thursday said Asians made the decision “because we have exercised our duty as citizens”.

“Asians, came here in the 1820s as merchants and masons. Later in the 1890s, they played an important role in the construction of the Uganda railway,” she said.

“The railway opened up the interior of Kenya and wherever it passed, trading centres sprang up. From that time, Kenya continues to enjoy trade with neighbouring Uganda and other countries.”

She argued that Asians in Kenya had played significant roles in various sectors of the economy.

http://www.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/3515678/highRes/1534474/-/maxw/600/-/o9cm25/-/asianspic.jpg

“Our diversity and sense of togetherness in good and bad times have clearly reflected our steady socio-economic development, not just in East and Central Africa but in the rest of the continent,” she said.

Kenya National Council of Elders, Nairobi chapter chairman John Mugwe supported the community’s petition.

“We shall help to push for the community’s recognition. We know our President has a good heart and I am sure he will listen to their pleas,” Mr Mugwe said.

Denco Consultant director Joshua Onono Odongo also backed the petition.

So you )want to vote as a block also

mko NASA ama Jubilee ndio tuone hii maneno mtakua mnaitwa aje huku

asians ni sikhs, hindus or ismailis?

sema nagmia mzee

How about NO

Chokiri & chokiro you Kenyans ? Intermarriage first

by Asians you mean Chinese… ama

Asians have isolated themselves from the rest of Kenyans so FUCK them na Wenye wakona expired leases Za buloti warudi India

yaani bingwa has enough handles to constitute a tribe. eish

:D:D:Dhata sijui kwa nini nacheka…on the upside, nataka iyo Indian puthy iwe tu kama ya mkenya kawaida…kwanza uyo siz yako hapo juu, nitapeleka yeye thresh hold

mkundu wa ngamia

They only want to own land without a lease.

expound on this sir

Tribe recognition if granted will lead to a campaign for land ownership rights based on the fact that other govt officially recognized tribes hold land titles without expiration dates. What do you think they stand to gain from being recognized as a “tribe”?

Warudi majuu hahaa.

noted, so they are only looking out for their own interests. But I have noted they have stopped their isolation, there are some areas outside of Nairobi upcoming estates naona they are building houses also,places that you would typically expect mostly shiny eyes and dusty roads with hardwares as the only booming businesses … they are slowly leaving Parklands

Integration is what needs to happen first and it is happening slowly as you say. Time will tell.

true integration occurs between the sheets not on social venues; lets wait and see :smiley:

Hiyo wasahau, they should first point out their ancestral land like any other Kenyan tribe can.