Archaic Banking

So today I decided to activate my dormant account at Equity bank and I think this is the most outdated bank operation wise.

1. Okiya queues at a counter number 2 to activate my account. Spends 20 minutes on the queue.

2. Queues at the reception to hand the filled in form. The lady requests to capture my finger prints. Time spent 15 minutes. Form is stamped and am requested to see operations manager.

3. Longest queue. Reminds me of the queue during elections when I voted for baba.Finally I see the manager after 14minutes.

4. Manager sees my form and requests for my identification document. I give him my passport but he says that I opened account with a different passport number. I tell him Okiya travels alot and old passport is full. I show him the passport page where the immigration officials have noted my old passport number. Manager doesn’t buy the argument. Time spent 10minutes.

5. I leave bank to have the back page of my new passport photocopied. Time lost 3 minutes.

6. Queues again at the operations manager office. Nobody is buying my argument that I was there a few minutes ago.Kila mtu anasema amechoka. So am the back of the queue. Time spent 10minutes

7. Gets to manager office writes a letter to introduce my new passport. However, the lady at the reception didn’t capture my biometrics properly. Time spent 4 minutes.

8. Returns to the reception to get my biometrics done again. But again they fail. Okiya greeted lots of old friends during the weekend till my fingerprints got faded. Reception lady refers me back to counter number 2.

9. Counter number 2 kuna line pia. I queue for 10minutes but my bro ule ako University of California, Irvine, CA 92697, USA pursuing a Masters of Law degree and is already in the Dean’s list calls me. Watchman says I go talk outside.

10. 15 minutes later, am done with counter number 2. She sends me back to manager’s office to get the bio approved.

11. After 12minutes of queueing, Manager approves the bio data.

Okiya walks away tired after nearly 1 and half hours

Waaaaa the ujaluo bragging rights in this thread though

:D:D:D ati fingerprints zilienda wapi buda…wked kwani ulikuwa wapi?

bwahahahaha

ungefungua tu account mpya in 10 mins

eka pesa chini ya matress

si mtu anaweza reactivate a dormant account at any equity agent for only 200 shillings.

Ata @Okiya ako equity. Wewe nachomea baba picha yawa! Watu ya baba iko barkleiis(Barclays)!

That is one thing that irks me with this bank; Account reactivation. I have an account there that i only use for certain transactions that come once in a while. So i have found my account inactive like three times. I have gone through that same procedure and i have always asked myself, whats the purpose. Doesnt make any sense at all other than keeping the operations manager busy.

Ati okiya aende kwa agent.

They deduct 200 shillings. That’s the function of deactivation and activation cycle.

Equity junior staff are under paid and overworked hence the lack of molare.
BTW I am waiting for Mr. Mwangi to declare his wealth.

I like how KCB offer their services,

Hii yesu atakuwa amerudi kabla that happens. Equity wamesaidiwa na agents nowadays. Went to open an account way back in 2000 hapo KNUT branch, the que that was there ata ya election kando , never steeped foot in an Equity bank ever since.

US education system doesnt have a Dean’s List for masters only undergrad! Nice hekaya though!

ama Stranded Cheaters…

These academic dwarfs cannot continue wasting our precious time Jaduong as if we are hawkers bwana,Donge!!!

Answer this question honestly. Are you @kush yule mnono’s disciple?

Heh boss. that was a weekend and a half. Mrs Okiya ameinsist kujua what happened but nimemshow ata heri nipigie jubilee 6 piece than nimwambie anything.

And that way they lose more business. Whenever someone asks me which account to pay me i never consider equity lest i find the account inactive once again