ANY QUESTION TALKERS ON MOTOR VEHICLE DUTY

Ask any question regarding the various motor vehicle duty,or vat charges for tractors and other motor vehicle exempted from import duties,also the various charges involved during the clearance process

Sasa ungeanza na hio, by giving an example on the process; when the vehicle lands at the port
[li]What charges to expect i.e customs, vat, etcetera[/li][li]Who clears the vehicle or the process[/li][li]How to safeguard the vehicle from theft of things like radio, spare tyres etc[/li][li]And finally market yourself on how better you can do the importation and clearance deals[/li][/ul]

PROCEDURE ONE
BUYING OF MOTOR VEHICLE UNIT FROM ASIAN COUNTRIES OR UK

[B]Asian countries more so (japan,Thailand,china) are some of the biggest industries in the world of used & new units because of their high quality, performance and reliability, also UK market sell some of the new & used vehicles but on UK u have to excise precaution on buying the units due to fraud.While purchasing the japanese unit indicate the cost insurance & freight(CIF) to kenya,also if the units are from japan insist on the pre inspection of the unit cost to be include in the CIF.
Some of Asian Countries biggest & trusted sellers
IBC ,SBT ,JANSTADING,AUTOCRAFT,AUTOREC,DELIGHTS,BE FORWARD

You can also buy units which are in high seas or units which have arrived at the kenya port,
The said unit must meet the required requirements of 8 years minimum from time of manufacture,the unit should be of right hand unit if destined for kenya only,[/B]

@vipi sasa…pliz.gimme.approximate cost of importing an 8 yr.old Toyota Hilux double cabin.All costs included.

What is the current storage/warehouse cost? And how long does the clearance process take?

duty plus other costs include after it has reached mombasa port

total cost =2,515,413 kshs

warehouse cost =rate(0.3)cbm of the carno of days after the 21 working days* current exchange rate

current storage=$20 (depend on size of the vehicle)number of days delayed (depends if the unit is nominated or kpa nomination) (removal charges)$2* cbm* current exchange rate=total * 16percent (vat)+total=current storage

usually the clearance process takes 2 to three days after the unit has been transferred to the cfs ,but the only exception of delayed car clearance is when the number plates have been delayed from being released by the ntsa

boss wacha pressure

Total duties za used hand tractors zinakuja how much?

tractor falls in the category of agricultural equipment therefore being exempted from import and excise duty it’s only charged vat on it’s original invoice value(invoice value means the cost u bought the tractor while importing ) therefore the charges are not fixed

customs value depend on make of vehicle ,cc ,year of manufacture and the month, varies form one unit to another but there is a fixed system of calculating customs value which if i.e. custom duty of Toyota passo is fixed at 336,678 ,the value only changes due to the dollar fluctuation

the clearing agent act as a representative of the importer to the various bodies i,e shipping agents, kra ,kebs ,radiation ,cfs & is the one entitled with the clearing process of the bodies stated above and forwards the goods to the owner

the units can be safeguarded by one requesting pictures from the supplier of the vehicles interiors & exterior i,e radio ,spare sparts(or request the seller to put an identifiable marker on all wheels which u are able to identify when the vehicle reaches u,also i engage specific cfs on the safeguarding clients unit and they have been reliable all through as they counter check the tally sheet of vehicle parts when it’s been discharged from the ship.finally always have trusted drivers delegated during delivery of vehicles from mombasa to nairobi incase the client the unit to be delivered to him

i involve the client during the buying process ,ensures that he visits the localised japanese agents who have offices either in mombasa or nairobi,checks & confirm with them if the said unit is available for sale,after that the client confirms he can pay to the said specific banks which are appointed by the agents for payment or his own bank and the payments are submitted to the sellers accounts,
also i enquire if there is any unit matching the client specifications which is either on high seas or at the port

during duty payments the client can either pay directly to kra from his own bank or he can submit to me bankers cheque addressesd to kra on account of his full names which i then pay to the bank against the entry generated

i always ensures to give the client daily stages of the clearance process which are 2 to 3 days after the vehicle has been tarnsferred to the cfs

other charges involved like idf,delivery order charges ,port charges i always scan them to the client before he pays them.

i always ensure to give accurate breakdown of the various charges

can I import a vw touareg nifungilie jembe ya tractor and declare it as agricultural equipment?

whatever you are high on

any idea on importing a unit from south Africa? Any reliable exporters in the league of the Japanese companies? If one drive the car from south Africa, how would a clearing agent handle the duty and clearance considering there ate no CFSs kwa borders

Yes, that one. Who would handle the PSI if I was to import from RSA?

Has the owner gone underground?

What if I wanted to import a left handed vehicle from the USA?

hiyo hauwezi. There are importation rules stipulated in the kra website. Google.