Antibiotic-associated Diarrhea

I never knew I had a problem with antibiotics, till I started noticing a trend( you need to be a heavy antibiotics user to notice a trend). I guess this is my sign to go slow on everything.
So I am currently on Azithromycin for prolonged cold with some Respiratory tract infection, a three day course of a single tab daily in combination with some other antihistamine, simple regimen but very effective and it is a broad spectrum antibiotic nonetheless, yaani naskia kifua iko sawa into the second day of treatment, and the way nlikua nmesuspect Ca lungs… Hehe a smoker’s masaibu!
My problem is, as soon as I take any broad spectrum antibiotic, some four or so hours later I will be be having a case of explosive diarrhea, yaani I have to use a seat toilet or else I cover my slacks in case of spillage, ama tu nikae bilaz nkifanya my business. I have the same trouble with honey.
A bit of research on Google and I came up with Antibiotic-associated Diarrhea, a condition resulting from the imbalance in the gut antibiotics cause by killing of too much bacteria both good and bad, leaving the bad, mostly clostridia deficile to take over. C. Deficile produces a toxin which irritates the gut lining and causes colitis and as a result diarrhea is inevitable. What scared me is toxic mega colon as a complication(Google mwenyewe).
So watu wenye huself-medicate, you are slowly clearing the normal flora not only in your gut, but whole body. And may develop resistance to many if not all antibiotics, not so scary, eh? Imagine having Gonorrhea with no treatment options!! MDR(again google) my fren!!

I had a cough and bought that cough syrup, it is green in colour, wah after one hour kuhara tu. I did a google search and found out it is a common side effect. I ended up throwing it away, went back to chemist and bought a syrup with a different active agent

Funny thing is, younger I never experienced this stuff, ama I wasn’t keen enough but they happened.

The last time I took antibiotics or painkillers was about 5 years ago, avoid them as much as you can.

They do more harm than good especially those pain killers. Take them with alcohol and you are damaging your liver and kidney

I will blame it on my upbringing, yaani everything had a fix for it. Flu/allergies =piriton, some diarrhea =flagyl, sore throat /tonsillitis =Septrin. Grew up with the notion that every malady has to be treated. Plus some of these drugs give you a real fast recovery from nasty symptoms.

Also risky behavior, if you know you are going to do something that will result in you needing to use these drugs, avoid it or just find a natural remedy.

Flus cure themselves, I don’t know why people insist on trying to cure it. For diarrhea, zoea kunywa yoghurt. Insomnia also has more natural cures if you are consistent. I’ve never taken any medicine to heal wounds unless they’re the serious types that cause fevers and vomiting.

This today is my wake-up call.

Luwere
Utawacha kunguru wako utaenda
Utaenda x2
Utawacha dry fry utaenda
Utaenda binguni kwa baba

Tuliokoka msee. Sku izi niko familiar na different brands of sheathing.

Had it not been for the honey reaction as well, i would advise you to always avoid antibiotics. Instead, you mmight consider hot water, lemon peelings and juice, squeezed into a cup, add honey, meshed garlic and ginger. This concoction is the ultimate antibiotic.

Been hearing about the benefits of ginger and garlic in combination. They are easily available, just not bought into the idea yet, but I am willing to give it a shot today. Napitia kwa mama mboga jioni.

Wacha ARV @Dune and @Shaka

A cough syrup imekuwa ARV, with a cough you can’t attend any meeting ata church. You need to take something to soothe your throat

This is usual consiquence of antibiotic intake, sometimes you may get something like cough, headache, some annoying feeling in skin. When you bought them I assume you may get something like this in the instruction really. So be carefull with those, they are killers of everything.

Emphasis on may. Nowadays ni Septrin na Flagyl tu utapewa na instructions; Septrin- take with plenty of water, Flagyl-avoid alcohol. Izo zingine usipo uliza unapewa tu na dosage instructions. Sku izi every drug ni OTC, Poisons and Pharmacy Board waliweka restrictions on antibiotics, but just on paper. Mtu wa kawa hajui the risks, so anachukua tu quick fixes hadi siku tutakua na MDR bugs. ‘World war Z’ may actually “happen” in the future

You have a point. Kwanza grumbling stomach ama IBS you can’t attend a meeting, interview or even be around your in-laws, tumbo haikupei starehe and is embarrassing, so if there is a quick fix, utaendea. It’s the diseases’ embarrassing signs more than the actual disease that makes people go for treatment.