Anker Space Q45 Review - Nyamgondho K'Ombare

I ordered these in black - as I am an old geezer and have zero desire to stand out but they were shipped in white. They look crisp tho’… it is what it is. Overall comment - I wouldn’t buy these if I had tested them earlier.

[ATTACH=full]487787[/ATTACH]

Definitely not at their regular price $149… And thank God, I bought them at $99 (black friday manenoz) - which I think is a fair price.

Straight from the box they have minimal bass and the volume is low (at max). At 100% it feels like you need to go to 120 (which is obviously not there) to really enjoy music especially in a noisy place. I get it, most people want a flat sound profile - but this is just not me. Perhaps I wasn’t the intended customer.

Their saving grace is the app. They come with a really nice app, and I was able to make them sound better. I was able to boost the bass and raise the volume to acceptable levels.

My expectation when I was buying these is that I would listen at a volume of 60% . Also, I expected high volumes of 80-100% to be unbearable - but boy was I wrong? Good thing these come with a headphone jack - which I love to use. But this is another point of disappointment - without an equalizer in your computer, you wouldn’t enjoy a damn thing. But get a half-decent equalizer and they will come alive. I use the free fxsound equalizer and it works fine. With the equalizer you may find yourself nodding to your favourite hits.

If I keep these, I feel I might have to purchase a headphone DAC like this one below by audio engine.

[MEDIA=amazon]B006IPH5H2[/MEDIA]

The build quality is really nice, I like the buttons and the ANC is awesome - but I prefer my Jabra’s because they are so discreet and most people even don’t notice you’re wearing earbuds. Part of the reason I think $99 is a fair price for these is because of the ANC - it’s slightly better than the Jabras.

The build quality is nice too. the earcups are big - my ears are floating inside - they don’t touch the edges. The memory form is also plush and very forgiving to my rough skin. And they fold nicely too!
[ATTACH=full]487789[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]487788[/ATTACH]

Bottom line is - If you are a bass-head get the Skull Candy - those will blow you away. If you are good at saving skip these and save for the XM5/4 or Sennheiser’s, Bose or B&O - I mean the premium ones ($250 - $400.) Of course, if money aint a thing why not the $800 Focal Bathys or B&O H95s?

Even after tweaking the equalizer and all… these headphones leave me wanting to play the same music over again with a serious sound system… they leave me thirsty.

Many reviewers such as el Jefe, Newstuff TV and a lot more guys said these blew their minds. They said they were as good as XM5s and better than XM4s… But in their end-of-year rankings none of these reviewers placed the Anker Q45 in the top ten (10) headphones - not even as best budget headphones. bure kabisa! Juzi Newstuff TV posted that his favourite headphones are the XM5s. Kwani amejua juzi? Humbwer yeye!

very nice review bonobo

Umejua reviewers leo ni wanafiki, praise something ikitokea alafu wanarukia zingine weeks later, nataka hizo XM5 ama Sennheiser lakini si kwa bei ya kawaida.

Beats By Dre sio za teenies? The pragmatic audiophiles at Ars gave some Audiotechnica headphones glowing reviews. Less know but top notch.

These are not Beats by Dre (Which is owned by Apple) Audiotechnica is a respected brand

For avoidance of doubt, these headphones are still underwhelming for music but decent for ANC.

If I knew I wouldn’t have purchased them.

Hizi na computer screens na keyboards ndio vitu unajua. Stay out of computer hardware