An ode to my dad

We always hear horror stories about dads and its really shocking when you have a good father infact an amazing dad.

I think that I have gushed before about my dad here but let me just say that no matter how hard I try to pay for our lunch dates, the man will not let me buy him lunch. The only thing my dad allows me to do for him is to chauffeur him to the airport and pick him because he doesn’t trust cab people (I always joke with him that even Uhurus driver isnt as learned as his-me) and to send me on some errands and to cook him coastal fish dishes whenever we get together .

When you have such a dad, you really feel for people who don’t have dads or have irresponsible dads. You become so accustomed to a good dad that it’s extremely jarring when you come across stories of men who do not take any responsibility for their own kids. Now that we are in an era of degrees, people who fake them, people who have 20 degrees, lemme talk about my dad’s impact on my higher education.

When I was doing my thesis I went through a difficult period where I wanted to just give up because my professors were giving me hell. I was the only woman in a class of men, to this day none of my classmates have ever graduated because the stress became too much for them and they gave up.

My dad was always asking me how it was going and one time I just told him that I was so exhausted and frustrated that I just wanted to give up. He told me that he had never given up on anything in life that he started and that if I had his blood running in my veins, giving up wasn’t an option.

So I took a break and when I had recharged I got back on the horse. Anyone who has been through the thesis process knows how grueling it gets. It can drive you nuts. It consumes your entire existence. Many women have been known to shave their hair because of the stress.

So finally I got to the second last chapter and I was so happy that I went home to show my dad how far I had come. I was spending the night. So he went out and bought me a pair of shoes. So when I woke up in the morning I found them outside the door to my room. They are old now but I think I will keep them to remind me how proud of me my dad was that night when I showed him my progress.

I don’t think that I have ever seen it in a movie where a dad goes out at night to buy his daughter a pair of shoes because she is almost done with her thesis. So literally my dad is even better than a TV dad.

I found a blog called academia is killing my friends. The stories there are insane. I understood why my male classmates gave up. Writing a thesis in and of itself is no walk in the park but combine it with difficult almost impossible professors and it’s a nightmare. I wanted sympathy from my dad but instead he encouraged me.

Dads just have super powers that can make you believe that you can do anything. You go to them like a rained on cat and you leave as a lion.

Academia is not for the faint of heart. In fact so many people just give up and never look back. I owe my success as the only graduant in my class to many people. Many people helped me but it was my dad who made the difference between me quitting the damn thing and me being the only one who finished in my class. Even my first supervisor/professor was proud of my work. Of course after taking me through a baptism of fire. Long live all the amazing dads.

Wow you are so thorough! Well done and all the best to your dad

May all the dad’s live long

That’s one great dad. In my almost 40years in this world I have made some observations about fathers to those of us over 35years; Most fathers with some form of formal education turned out to be great fathers. In this category we had the regular civil servant who lived with his family, clergy, teachers and the occasional doctor or engineer. These were strict parents but really took a keen interest in our academic activities. Teachers were especially very good parents. We also had those parents who unfortunately didn’t have any formal education but still made very good fathers and were determined to have their own children excel academically…these were also very passionate and would literally kill you if you slacked in your studies.
Your dad is very similar to mine in so many ways. The other day I just learnt that my old man’s PhD thesis was dedicated to me!. It made some sense because this was in the mid 90s and I was then his only child…but still that was very unusual. I was also a very bright kid …I only trailed the best kid nationally by 11 marks… but despite that my old man still encouraged me to take part in other extra curriculum activities especially football where he even enrolled me in some form of a football clinic/camp pale Afraha stadium nakuru…and because of this I actually turned into a very decent football player and played for all institutions that I attended. As kids we would also go to Nakuru players theatre twice a month without fail…i loved the whole thing but my interests were clearly elsewhere. After form 4 my old man learnt that I was drinking and this really tested our relationship…he had secured some casual job for me but this job was the one financing my new drinking habits so it had to go…my old man personally went to the MD and had my contract terminated ndio niwache pombe na wasichana…very understable since we were getting paid 5k every Saturday evening…kwanza pesa inawekwa kwa bahasha. After this episode we came to an agreement that if I was to drink then I would only do it at Merica hotel and I shouldn’t exceed two beers…we did this with him for a few weeks and my body actually became accustomed to 2 beers…but ofcourse this changed when I joined campus a few months later.
During my first thesis, which was 13yrs ago, my old man took a sabbatical and joined me where he also did some post doc, by then he was in his mid 40s( our age difference is only 22!). I remember we lived in the same complex for 3 months! It was a whole new experience for us…we did so many things together…cooked together, took aimless walks to malls during weekends, watched soccer together, jogged and gymed together and walked to campus together. We would spend most evenings together at the postgraduate student centre kupiga story na kuchapa drinks tukiwa with other African students, some of who had no idea that he was my father. This was a very different side to my old man…a man we knew as a strict father back in the 90s and early 2000s… Alikua dictator.
My second thesis was a disaster…I really toiled…my supervisor was mean and my old man was not there. It was a different university. Everything was different including the culture and weather. I felt like giving up after I lost my student visa ( story for another day)…my scholarship was also partially gone meaning I was totally broke…but again my old man came through for me…it was also at around this time that I met my wife…those two pushed me through the most difficult phase of my life.

What a beautiful story on a beautiful morning. Clearly yours and TrumanCapote dad made all the difference.

You have lived an enviable life. Cherish it.

She nailed it …
I had the benefit of both Grandfather and Father …
One , a sharp Legal Administrator and the other a Medical Professional …
They set high standards and expectations but always led by example …

[ATTACH=full]445675[/ATTACH]

I am happy to see they finally saw the fruit of their labour… :D:D

Focus, that was @mikel I replied to, hehe. His story is so full of colour and detail, I suspect I might know him:D

I doubt they taught you some of the not-so-great-examples you’re setting here daily, with momos and stolen wives:D

:slight_smile: @mikel n these characteristics where did u learn from cz ua old man sounds decent

That is only half the story, kuna kitu hasemi … Nani alikufunza kukuta vitu?

Sina la kusema. Mbuyu alikuwa ninja.

I don’t know what we would do with out these men we call our dads.Even when you want to give up they show you how nothing is impossible and if your dad tells you that you can do it, who can tell you that you can’t and you listen to them?

I remember my cousin who is one of the best hematologist in the country saying during her dad’s funeral how her academic advisor told her that she would not get accepted for a medicine degree at King’s College UK and she went to her dad when she was so low.

The dad did not even look phased. He just smiled and said to her, obviously that advisor doesn’t know that you are my daughter. If you want to go there, that’s where you are going. Case closed. End of discussion. He walked out and went to bask in the sun like it was nothing.

She applied and got admitted. I think most men do not understand the impact that they have on their kids even when they are adults. They think it’s just paying fees and providing but the level of confidence your dad just believing in you makes is mind boggling.

Growing up my dad always told me that I was brilliant even when my grades didn’t agree and it turned out that he was right all along. I always knew he meant it and it was not just empty pep talks and motivational speaking. I mean how can you not believe in yourself and people who saw you in diapers, make it look like its just a walk in the park?

Wewe nani alikufunza? Mbotch?

:D:D I’m not acting holier than thou here giving out sob stories worth 2 cents.
Pata hekaya na mboch hapa. Mimi nikiwa around 14yrs nilifagia mboch wawili, wetu na wa neighbour. Till today I’m very thankful to those ladies. It was the best introduction I could ever have hoped for.

Atleast hamukuenda Majengo na 20 Bob thank them for not giving you HIV

Wow …
If it is Whom I think it is …
You have good pedigree …

That individual has contributed a lot to the Medical Fraternity … :D:D

Hehehehe…

" …For ALL have sinned and fallen short of the Glory …"

“…Those among You who have never sinned may cast the First Stone …”

And on that note , I dedicate the rest of today to doing Good Deeds and alleviating the suffering of my fellow Men … :D:D

[ATTACH=full]445705[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]445706[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]445707[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]445708[/ATTACH]

But do I say yawa.

@Lionheart any comment? :D:D

Oh, on what @rexxsimba is posting as an antidote for my assumed suffering? No, thanks. Too gross for my taste. Only you can do that.