An AA idiot that lost an education chance from Oprah

And then they same idiotic AAs continue blaming white America for their problems. Read about this idiot that Oprah tried to educate.

***Stolen

Oprah Winfreyhas set the record straight about being “ambushed” by her “secret son,” as a tabloid so claims.

In an interview with[I]Entertainment Tonight[/I], Winfrey explains that her so-called son, Calvin Mitchell, is a boy she met in the early '90s while filming in the Chicago projects forThere Are No Children Here.Winfrey became so taken with Mitchell that she decided to help him and his family by enrolling Mitchell in a private school and helping his mother find a job.

But after the school principal called Winfrey to say that Mitchell hadn’t been attending class, the family explained that they couldn’t wake up on time to get him to school.

“We realized they don’t have any clocks in the house,” she said. “We went out, Stedman and I, went to K-Mart that moment, got a bag full of clocks, came back to the house, taught them how to set the alarm and all that.”

Despite Winfrey’s best efforts, Mitchell was eventually expelled from school and then refused to attend a Mississippi boarding school Winfrey found for him.

“I said, ‘Calvin, this is the moment. This is a seminal moment for you. I know you are 16 and can’t see the road ahead, but if you leave this school and refuse to get an education – I have tried to offer you an education twice – there isn’t another school I can put you in. If you leave this school, I am done. There is nothing else I can do.’ … And that was my last conversation with Calvin in the early '90s,” explained Winfrey.

When Mitchell recently approached Winfrey after she tapedThe Late Show with Stephen Colbert,the TV mogul initially wanted to set up a time to speak with him privately. Though that changed once she found out he had spoken to a tabloid.

“When I realized the whole thing was a setup, I was no longer interested in speaking to him,” she said.

“I learned from that experience, if you really want to change somebody’s life, you gotta be able to spend enough time with them to change the way they think about what their life can be,” said Winfrey. “It isn’t enough to give a person a new life or money or a new car, you have to teach them how to fish themselves.”

mimi hapo kwa semen ndo nimeumwa sana kwa hii story

I really don’t understand the entitlement mentality among many Africans and by extension African Americans. People just expect freebies while they sit their asses pretty, doing nothing, as if manna is going to fall from heaven! The culture is so ingrained in our society to the extent that people from your church, nursery school, college, workplace and so forth expect favors once you start succeeding in life.

Just when you reconsider and give such people a chance, they go ahead and fail you BIG time. Then, they’re the first ones to backbite you and say how unhelpful you are.

One word: STUPID.

Its really difficult to help some people especially those used to handouts… nigga cared more about the latest sneakers than getting quality education… you harvest what you sow… ukipanda mapera sio ovacado ndo itamea; i just hope they wont spend sleepless nights crying a river over an opportunity missed.

[SIZE=5]sasa hii kelele yenu na ma.advice, mumesikia huyo boy ni talker??? …tulizeni makende[/SIZE]

How do you even begin to help such people? Someone isn’t willing to wake up and go to school on time.
Totally undeserving of any assistance.

there are over 1.1 billion Africans or of African descent, which makes it impossible for you to make such an outrageous claim. You are suffering from a superior inferiority complex, where you see other black people as inferior, but you and maybe a handful of your ‘intellectual peers.’ People of both positive and negative attributes are equally distributed throughout the the human race, there are as many lazy, good for nothing people in India, South America or Greenland as there are in Africa. This story was about one particular person. Don’t turn it into a proof of unworthiness about a whole race of people most of whom you have never and will never meet.

12 Likes

I was hoping to see hard facts disapproving my hypothesis but sadly you have none.

In communication and management classes, there’s a whole unit/topic on culture and how it affects one’s way of life. Why do you think Asians (born and bred in Asia) bow their heads as they greet you? And the habit is peculiar to Asians. That is just one example.

Africans and by extension African Americans are socialized to depend on familial and communal support as a means of attaining success. That’s why relatives and non-relatives will flock to your place seeking certain favors. One would like you to pay the school fees for their kids, another would be inviting you to their wedding, another would be asking you to settle their hospital bills and so forth. The worst part is that they think it’s a right! If you decline, the bad-mouthing starts.

Can i say that you too have been socialized to see the AAs as inferior?

You should keep the superiority/inferiority debate out of this. I have not said African Americans are inferior.

I’ve just pointed out something that is peculiar to a significant number of Africans and African Americans because of their socialization. See, that’s different!

You’re right. Our culture is such that many people don’t want to take their own responsibility and the still alive communal mentality greatly contributes towards making some people to try and hide their failures behind the success of their family members. People who had educational chances but thought themselves too ‘chankuaad’ to sit down in a classroom still blames the government for their pathetic lives. Leave alone the nonsensical creed that we are very ‘hardworking’; many kenyans have never truly understood what focus and hard-work is.
At one time, the US government spent billions of dollars trying to uplift the lives of AA. The results were pathetic because many AA still deplorably believe that going to school is ‘acting white’. They dont realise that only a very tiny tiny tiny percentage of blacks in the US make it big in sports, music and entertainment.

The liberal media, with its usual frivolous blitheness, was trying to defend this man by arguing that when O took him to a prestigious boarding school, the culture shock and unfamiliar social structures in his new environment couldn’t allow him to fit in. This is one hell load of BS. How many Africans go abroad and initially experience even more acute culture shock yet they hang on, clear their studies and then pursue great careers?

and I have pointed out that with over a billion Africans you can’t point out any kind of traits in such a large population. What you are doing is relying on biases to prop up your arguments.

Your looking at shit from your own miopic point of view with a bloated ego. What I have highlighted up there happens to only people from the villages like you. We city dwellers don’t give a shit. Hayo tu fala hii.

I saw this in Nakuru a mzungu all the way from Canada trying to send a chokosh to school,the chokosh kept running away from school.

The key lesson here is that the so called philanthropists should drop their know it all attitude in thinking they have readymade solutions to other people’s problems.

The problem with us Africans is our culture and value system, we simply don’t have a culture that encourages a strong work ethic, innovation, strong families and smart risk taking. Jews have always thrived despite of the injustices, suppression and violence against them throughout history. Take a Jew anywhere in the world and he/she will thrive. This is because they have a value system and a culture that encourages hard work, innovation,strong families and embracing risk. That’s why unaona hatahapa kijijini idiots bragging about their drinking and shagging escapades, but ukiwaambia wacreate time yaku bond and mentor their tois wanaona hiyo ni umama. And you expect your kid to some how become successful. Kids learn from observation.

Correct choice of words,significant number, now that is a buyable argument,just as is the argument that there is also a significant number that done quite well for themselves, true?

yes of course. The generosity of the white man should always be taken with a big non-question smile.

I’ve been an african all my life and I’ve never seen or heard anyone suggest that I don’t work hard, that I don’t try new things or that I kick my family to the cub. In fact, and I think every one here will agree with me, we’re constantly told wira ni wira. Our parents work their fingers to the bone to send us to America and Canada and Australia university so we can come back get good jobs and take care of our brothers and sisters and cousins who are still in school.

Have you ever heard the someone say if you compare yourself to others you will always come up short? Even those Jews sit around and say, “Now Indians, they know how to make money, work ethic, strong families etc, etc, etc.”

I’m still trying to understand how this story about one boy in Chicago --who for all we know could have been depressed, had crippling low self esteem, had learning disabilities --became some kind of poster boy for all that is wrong about a whole race of people.

A very great man once said these words, “Without confidence in self, we are twice defeated in the race of life.”

HII NDIYO COMMENT OF THE MONTH.

As I have pointed out, it is tragic that a message board like this, frequented by supposedly intelligent and educated Africans is 90% about ferking hoes. No discussions about water on Mars, about important issues like cancer etc etc etc. Just ‘jana nilipitia SJ nikatomba malaya fulani’…things that gorillas in the Congo do on a daily basis.

Makes me really, really sad.