I wish i could see the exact ruling. In my opinion. Safaricom or popote did not invent anything. They did not invent the internet, or the use of the intenet to transfer so the first ruling was really silly. However, safaricome has been able to leverage their large existing userbase and move them to mobile apps from the initial simple sms money transfer service. They look similar but are in fact two different pieces of tecnology they have merged both of which do not need to work together.
At some point in future, I seen safaricome selling off their mobile app financial service, and retaining data as the kenyan data sector grows
So many deluded devs think that Safaricom stole their basic ideas. Like that MPESA app, surely where is the radical idea in that app? It’s just the SIM toolkit with a new interface. Same thing with the Safaricom app, it’s just all the Safaricom USSD menus rolled into one place. Very basic ideas that Safaricom was going to do sooner or later
20 years ago, that was not the case. Mobile money was a phenomenal technology. You @MikeOcksmal come from a the Generation who can’t possibly understand how your parents suffered in the Banking halls just to deposit a cheque, or make a withdrawal. Sure, Mpesa feels like child’s play in the Tech world but if you lived in the job market back in the late 90’s and early 20’s you’d appreciate it
Hakuna kitu kama old money hii. Wengi wao ni tushamba wako natuo. Hutuo tushamba tumekataa kudevelop juu 90% ya watoto ni walevi na wanataka kuuza.
Old momey means like Rothschild’s where their investments grow every generation. In Kenya all it takes is one bad election unajipata side mbaya mnaibiwa kila kitu.
Case in point Ruto is not old money. Gachagua akiingia Ruto atapokonywa kila kitu. Itabidi atumie balance kulipa kamagut wametetee shares kwa serikali
1)Thug Gachietha. will never ever ever be president!u gerriit?
2)Former policeman and D.O Gachagua and Ruto are working together just the way Uhuru and Tanga Tanga were working togethrr but dangling carrots with Handshake Raila!They schemed to keep tugeges in one basket!Front a weak kalonzo and always leak the opposition campaign plans to the them.Moi used this trick with Martin shikuku in 1992 election.
Gachagua cannot be president. He is barred by the constitution. So you have no point. He ias just like jaramogi who was barred from ever running for president after being convicted of treason
There’s a lady who explain how mpesa ilianza. She was there at the beginning. She goes into great detail even the tech side. It was a merry go round system, and there’s nothing that anyone invented, simply used available technology.
They did not event anything. Sending money via messages is an old concept. It goes back to money orders where you just send a message through the post office.
In kenya, kibaki simplified the process when he was finance minister making it easy for people to send money through post offices.
When he took power snd safaricom introduced the concept, he was supportive because he already had experience with using messages to move money.
No one invented mpesa, they just cobbled together existing methods as in any natural reorganizing of existing systems
Huyu jama came up with the idea of till number after watching a guy trying to pay his bill ata a restaurant using Mpesa; none of the staff had a phone or wanted to receive the payment. After that day he was always with Michael Joseph and later Bob Collymore discussing the next idea. He got so comfortable with the camaraderie and gentleman’s agreements that were honoured and never thought of signing contracts
It shouldn’t be about the platform but the idea. Like royalties for authors; they didn’t invent paper or the printing press, but the idea to the corporate which hitherto did not have the service
In this case, this is like someone writing a book, then some guy comes along to propose that you put a shiny hard cover on the book. Such a person doesn’t deserve anything. That idea is worthless and was already going to be done anyway