Am running deepseek locally

I might not be well-placed to answer your question on regulation. I think right now it’s not so much as govts and agencies not wanting to do anything nefarious or break convention, as it not being possible to develop super agents and things like that that would essentially be running on AGI. Mtu kama LeCun is skeptical we can develop such systems by scaling up current AI models like LLMs. Don’t get me wrong though. I’m sure militaries kama za US and China have already developed and integrated LLMs into their systems and they’re very capable especially with agentic frameworks. However, going beyond the current frontier i.e models that can effectively and autonomously act on volumes of data and info, like a team of, say military generals would, is what’s not currently possible as it would take the evolution of AI to AGI levels.

From your guy Yaani LaeCun

Isn’t that from that Karpathy guy? Nimeona Yann is no longer creating posts on X.

Yaani reposted. I should have indicated that

why?

You Know It GIFs | Tenor

This thread has made me download this book.

I do build custom rigs budget yako ni ngapi?

Hebu give me an estimate for a set up like yours but excluding the GPU and with 64 GB RAM. I have a 27-inch monitor and basic peripherals. Ama with a reasonably-powered B650M and a Ryzen 5?

motherboard Gigabyte B650M DS3H Motherboard - 45k

Processor Support

• Socket: AM5
  • Compatible CPUs: AMD Ryzen™ 7000, 8000, and 9000 Series Processors

Memory

• Type: Dual Channel DDR5
  • Slots: 4 x SMD DIMM
  • Features: Supports AMD EXPO™ and Intel® XMP memory modules

Storage

• M.2 Slots: 2 x PCIe 4.0 x4 M.2 connectors with enlarged thermal guards
  • SATA Ports: 4 x SATA 6Gb/s ports

Expansion Slots

• PCI Express:
    • 1 x PCIe 4.0 x16 slot with EZ-Latch for quick release
    • Additional PCIe slots for expansion cards

Networking

• LAN: 2.5GbE LAN for high-speed wired connections

USB Ports

• Rear Panel:
    • 1 x USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A
    • 1 x USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C®
    • 2 x USB 3.2 Gen 1
    • 4 x USB 2.0
  • Front Panel:
    • Supports USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C®

Video Outputs

• Integrated Graphics Support:
    • 2 x DisplayPort
    • 1 x HDMI

Audio

• Subsystem: 8-channel HD audio
  • Features: Audio Noise Guard and high-end audio capacitors

Cooling and Thermal Management

• Design: Advanced thermal heatsinks and M.2 Thermal Guard to prevent throttling
  • Fan Headers: 4 x PWM/DC fan headers with Smart Fan 6 technology

Additional Features

• BIOS Update: Q-Flash Plus allows BIOS updates without installing CPU, memory, or graphics card
  • RGB Lighting: RGB FUSION with 2 addressable LED headers and 1 RGB LED header
  • Build Quality: 6-layer 2X copper PCB for enhanced durability and performance

AMD Ryzen 5 7600X Desktop Processor - 44k

• Cores / Threads: 6 cores / 12 threads
  • Base Clock Speed: 4.7 GHz
  • Max Boost Clock Speed: Up to 5.3 GHz
  • L3 Cache: 32 MB
  • TDP (Thermal Design Power): 105W
  • Manufacturing Process: 5 nm for core complex die (CCD); 6 nm for I/O die
  • Socket Compatibility: AM5 (LGA 1718)
  • Memory Support: Dual-channel DDR5, officially supporting up to 5200 MT/s
  • Integrated Graphics: Yes, featuring RDNA 2 architecture

64 gb ddr5 ram - 16gb 4800mhz @ 7,500 x 4 = 30k

case kitu 10k
power supply 5k

Total = 144k

Building a high end pc in a third world country aint cheap mimi nilimwaga 185k

Wueh, I was planning on coughing up about half of that. Might have to shelve that idea for later. Naonanga budget PC builds zikicost less than $1000. Noma. Nitakushtua nikijipanga.

FYI, consumer-GPUs aren’t suitable for LLM stuff. Graphics GPUs work best with 4x4 matrix calculations and half-precision float values. An LLM that works with 16bit floats is not going to be that good i.e. a waste of your time.

Buda, si you’ll lose your marbles after listening to this one.

Consider running 7B model
I have previously done that with just 16gb laptop without a GPU it’s a low budget laptop

Leta pesa nikuuzie aorus gigabyte x570 with WiFi.

hardware prices are lower in first world countries huku kenya usually do x1.5-x2 for the price to get the same build

you mean enterprise level GPU, now that’s what deepseek changes you can get gpt level perfomance on consumer hardware, and those enterprise level GPU rsnge from 10,000$-50000$.

bila GPU you can realistically models on cpu if you have enough ram but it will be painfully slow depending on how beefy or weak the cpu is