Am considering quiting my UN job.

A UN job is the dream of most people in Kenya and third world countries coz of the package it comes with.

I am one of the fellows who happen to have landed one of those 6 years ago. All was well untill I hit the cealing of my Career hence no growth and redundance (doing the same thing, same routine day in day out).

I used to work alone in my Unit Giving me a bargainig power of a possible grade review/increase but three months ago a lady was recruited in same post and my role split with some extra roles just to justify the extra post. Thats how my bargaining power went to the dogs.

So now I am frustrted with no possibility of growth and to add a spanner in the workks, the lady went on a vacation to Eurupe for 16days. Sasa my boss is on my neck juu ya roles za yule dem. Coz when she left, she scrippled a hand over note litteraly assigning me her duties. I have worked for 6 years and the longest leave i have gone consecutivly is 10 days.

Now one of my roles is to manage contractors. There is this contractor whom when he came to present a bid, he introduced a concept which I have had keen interest for a long time and from the look of things his approach was different hence we could work pamoja.

Outside office hours, I approached the contractor and he was ammused by my zeal and my different approach. He definatly was keen to work with me. But kama kawaida the guy said he could not afford my salary so I had to be paid on commision. Nikasema iko tu sawa

About the bid, the contractor did not win the contract initially due to pricing but by luck, the contract winner forfited since he had under quoted. And thats how he won the contract. By the way bado hajii ameshinda

Now this is my position. Since the guy has won the contract worth 54M for three years, I am planning to propose to him to employ me on a fulltime basis for 150k (a pay cut) I manage the UN contract for him for four hours a day. And the rest of the day I will be sourcing for markets and servicing the other concept (and earning commision).

Saidia mkisii Mjuaji.

Regards

Wewe… Kumbe hio kazi ime ingiana… Piga simu tuongee…

Njia panda zilimshinda fisi, tafakari hayo.

Don’t do it

You can have the best of both worlds…shikilia job na ukulie kwa izo contracts.
Mimi nitafutie contract ya maintance uko we will share profits 60/40.

UN will be bankrupt soon

As the contractor, I’d offer you the job, hire an assistant I know to work under you to learn the ropes, then after a few weeks terminate your employment whilst paying your assistant to carry on at a lower pay. 75k

Job za UNON, UN-Habitat, UNEP etc ya national officer / general category are nothing to write home about.

Tafuta international position you flex like your colleague. Nikíí wîî?

Uko employed by an organization with solid organizational practices na unataka kuingia mikononi ya nyapara mmoja. Sawa ata hiyo ni poa juu kuna mwingine atapatiwa hiyo kazi uko nayo asaidike wewe muende mukakule 54 million juu ni pesa mingi sana contractor atapatiwa aweke kwa account yako…

Kumbe UN doesn’t mind Osungu.dll

maybe these are some of the reasons your boss does not regard you very highly hence bringing “a woman” to relieve you of some tasks.

cealing
redundance
scrippled
Eurupe
consecutivly
ammused
forfited

halafu don’t you feel there’s conflict of interest in your entanglements with a contractor whose work you are supposed to certify?

Yani nugu iko na wera na inalalamika.

The best way to find out is to try. Give it your best shot and keep in mind that this can go two ways -or more.
I deal with people in such dilemmas, daily. Some make it, some don’t. Play your cards wisely. Very wisely.

sisi tanafanya NASA ya Russia, na hatusumbui…

Leave siwezi enda more than 10 days consecutively since afisas watawacha PAR ibomoe roof but chief accept and move on huwezi pigana na kuma. Mdosi amepewa kuma inanukia gilbeys hatumii akili.

1. Osungu.dll. Improve!
  2. Get rostered for international posts . They pay well. Learn taking competency based interviews.
  3. Keep off underhand deals. One day, someone will notice or blow a whistle on you, you will lose your job, pension and get blacklisted. A blacklisted person can never get a job in any UN agency.
  4. 6 years is a very short time. Keep sharpening your axe, your opportunity will come.
  5. You need to check the terms of your contract. You could be prohibited from supplying your employer or working for his supplier for a period after terminating your employment contact.

I’m telling you that hopping from your current job to the contractor is a bad idea. You took that job because you valued stability.

I also think you are pulling our collective leg about not being granted your leave days. Hiyo ni uongo!

After reading your post, I strongly suggest that you stick with your UN job. You are even lucky to have it in the first place. Thank me later

If you can get it… figsed

Have you tried running a business before? If yes leave it. If not, usibanjuke hapo. Mtu mjanja huwa na kampuni yake kando iko na proxy tu, then unabid iyo job na unasaidia kuifanya. Lakini kama hujawai fanya bizna haya mambo huwezi kuelewa