All is Vanity, It is All Useless...........

[ATTACH=full]36939[/ATTACH] As I age, I am getting in touch with my own mortality.

Recently, in a heart-rending move, I decided to visit the government house I grew up in at the foothills of the Aberdares.

My childhood memories of it were mixed; while I remembered the house as spacious and modern, I also remembered the cold, and Mum’s relentless shock-and-awe wars. She was a teacher from the old school, a bit too harsh.

I remembered eating raw carrots from the shamba until the shit came out red, and endless meals of potatoes and cabbage. I remembered walking into the nearby forest on Sunday to collect wild straw berries, and coming face to face with a hundred elephants.

I had to see that house again, where I grew up all those years ago.

And so I drove the 120 kilometres from Nairobi, down the Kamae forest, to the place where I shed my baby teeth and became a man. I ad not been here for nearly four decades.

The house still stood, barely.

For a while, I learned from a man I met, it had been used as a sheep pen when it became decrepit, until a PEV family was allowed to move in. The kitchen and the store and the bathroom at the back had collapsed. Its window panes were all broken.

Inside, its once cream board walls were dark with soot.

The places where the pictures of my family hung were unrecognisable.

I felt so much emotion I could die.

I remembered the number of times mum had told us not to play in large sitting room , as if we could defile it. The sheep had slept there. I remembered when she told us not to hit the floor with things hard so that we dont crack it. I remembered when she walloped us because we scrawled something with charcoal on the walls. I remembered my cousin, all of 15 years, scrubbing dishes in the kitchen alone at night, scared of the howling of the wind.

I remembered all we did to protect that house, at the pain of an awful thrashing, and I wondered, what was it all for when it had come to this?

Perhaps that’s the nature of life; to have no meaning.

13 Likes

I don’t know what happened to Kenya; look at that house. Even today, more than 50 years after it was built, the roof is not rusty, the stone base is still intact, and the timber still good (though at the back where its beaten by the rain, things have collapsed).

The workmanship is superb.

The house and the area it stands on are owned by the KFS.

Whats up with andu a nyumba with carrots potatoes cabbage and minji i swear your meals are not complete without them i got friends who imebaki kidogo wagrate carrot waweke kwa chai:eek: anyway when in shags i visit places that take me back to them days including rivers paths and a visit to the primary sch i went to i make sure to have small talk with the teachers and village dwellers

Colonial era houses were built to last… Like those Kenya Railways houses which were demolished in Nairobi west. They were timber houses and they lasted till the mid 2000’s before a shiny eyed developer showed up.

Imei, that place is fertile like shit and in my days the roads were bad. Yet we produced tonnes and tonnes of potatoes, carrots and cabbages.

Unapea Ngombe carrots mpaka maziwa inatoka ya reddish na kama iko na sukari.

Maziwa ya cabbages was yuck! And then as young kids you were then allowed to eat as many carrots as you could, mpaka shit ni small pieces of carrots. Funny thing was, you still felt hungry! Carrots cannot make your stomach full!

ngombe,kikuyu yote haitoki kinangop,mimi ni mukabete na staple food yangu ni nyama

@Some Say, this house was hot! Three bedrooms (the main on the left, two windows in the middle are of the sitting room, and extreme right window the front bedroom), a kitchen, a two-sided chimney, a store and a bathroom.

We were living in utopia when most Kenyans were in mud huts.

And gava used to work (as I said sometime back in Klist). Every Saturday a KFS tractor would bring us firewood for the chimneys.

Shit, am gonna cry!

As in unaziuza ukizikula ?

This makes me want to go back to the house we lived in when i was growing up, like you said @FieldMarshal CouchP the govt worked, we lived in a govt house as well and we had the walls painted afresh every year I reckon! The houses were alwasy spick and span with caretakers who mowed the lawn( with slashers) and we had security at the gate! I wonder if that still happens

I think it was meant to teach you guys how to be responsible and to look after things, whether yours or someone elses, I believe it wasn’t all in vain

Is that at kieni Forest station @FieldMarshal CouchP ?

@aviator, he he he he he he he!

You are cutting too near the bone.

Can we ferk one of these days please?

You forgot avocados.

@aviator, how many forest stations in that area do you know?

Kereita, Kamae, Kinale, Kieni?

Mention a few more, and we can meet.

Kereita caters for that area around your shags. Sitataja.
kamae is around my shags
Kinale is on the other side of my shags (Kiambu side). Am not sure where the station is, lakini najua center, filithi, etc
Kieni is for the protected area within the forest, and where we get seedlings.

In kieni, there’s a lady called Anne. Say hi if you see her.

Tiga wana. Si ulinitusi juzi.

Bwana Mwamba… yule guks wa mother in law…anyway that’s how I picture you to be… some of our memories are at times overrated and tend to disappoint. For instance visits to former schools or living spaces are not as thrilling as one remembered them. I guess there is more to memories than just physical environment

My dad mentions these places all the time… he did his early schooling in Kamae before they moved from the area in the early 80s.

Seriously, @aviator, can we meet one of these days?

You are my home gal, and I like your kind of crazy.

Naenda inbox. Angalia saa huu…but pris pris let us things we say there remain there, sawa?

You my friend was a son of a Forester…nimekosea? And back in the day Foresters had a say on who got land na miti itakatwa kwa misitu…you must’ve had a good childhood if the old
man was a brilliant guy:D:D:D